Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Windows 7 labtop no connections are available

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows 7 labtop no connections are available within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My labtop was working fine yesterday in terms of internet connection, but when I woke up this morning, it had


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2012, 04:29 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
OS: windows 7 SP1



My labtop was working fine yesterday in terms of internet connection, but when I woke up this morning, it had a red "x" on the wireless symbol, and says "Not connected, no connections are available.

I ABSOLUTELY know for a fact that my router works, and it has already connected many times to my labtop before. I tested the wifi with my desktop and confirmed it to be working.

I've also tried system restore, and an error came up, disallowing me to do so.

Now, before you say that I probably hit the toggle wifi key, I tried that as well, and it wasn't the case.

When I checked the hardware through the control panel, I guessed it was a problem with the network adapters. I was correct. All the adapters listed had a yellow triangle with a "!" in front. And the Network information is " The dependency service or group failed to start". I don't remember doing anything major in terms of installing or whatnot the day before. Just surfed the web.

This may sound similar to another problem listed in this forum, but I've searched, and found no solutions. If anybody can help, it'd be appreciated.

__________________
Himuya is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 04:32 PM   #2
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 23,963
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Can you see any wireless connections?

What is the make and model number of your computer?

__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 04:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
OS: windows 7 SP1



No, I can't see any wireless networks/connections.

I have a HP Pavillion dv6 ,AMD A8, windows 7 home premium 64 bit sp1.
__________________
Himuya is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 07:17 PM   #4
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 23,963
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Go to this website here: Software & Driver Downloads HP Pavilion dv6000 CTO Notebook PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

Then download the driver under the Software - Internet Access (‏1) tab and the correct driver under the Driver - Network (‏4) tab.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 08:15 PM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,315
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


There is no drivers (Wifi) for Windows 7 for you laptop via the website provided. Did the laptop come shipped with Windows Vista? Do you have Windows Vista or Windows 7 installed on the machine? Your profile says you are running Windows 7.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 08:17 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
OS: windows 7 SP1



No, it's just simply that I forgot to include the FULL model number, so he assumed it was a dv6000. It's actually a dv6-6117 dx labtop.

This would be the correct one: Software & Driver Downloads HP Pavilion dv6-6117dx Entertainment Notebook PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

So, how would I go about installing the device drivers manually (since the labtop that needs them can't access the internet in any way)? Like, downloading all the ones that have the yellow triangle, copying them over to the problem labtop, and replacing them in some file folder where the pc keeps the drivers? I'm not quite sure since I've never manually installed any drivers.

Edit: It also looks like most of the drivers that have problems aren't downloadable on the website. Such as the WAN ones. See the attachment below for more information.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	networkadaptersproblem.png
Views:	317
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	109006  
__________________
Himuya is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 10:57 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
OS: windows 7 SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by Himuya View Post
No, it's just simply that I forgot to include the FULL model number, so he assumed it was a dv6000. It's actually a dv6-6117 dx labtop.

This would be the correct one: Software & Driver Downloads HP Pavilion dv6-6117dx Entertainment Notebook PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

So, how would I go about installing the device drivers manually (since the labtop that needs them can't access the internet in any way)? Like, downloading all the ones that have the yellow triangle, copying them over to the problem labtop, and replacing them in some file folder where the pc keeps the drivers? I'm not quite sure since I've never manually installed any drivers.

Edit: It also looks like most of the drivers that have problems aren't downloadable on the website. Such as the WAN ones. See the attachment below for more information.
I found out how to update the drivers, but I can't find them on the internet to download. I've heard that you can install the drivers again by the disk provided when you buy the labtop though. I'm still not sure if the the drivers for the network adapters are malfunctioning or something, or if they are outdated.

The device descriptions are (for all the devices with a yellow triangle net to it): " This device is not working properly because Windows cannot load the drivers required for this device (code 31).
__________________
Himuya is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 01:13 PM   #8
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 23,963
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


The wireless driver is at the website you provided: Software & Driver Downloads HP Pavilion dv6-6117dx Entertainment Notebook PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

Go under the Driver - Network tab and download the correct verison for your computer. Most likely this one: Realtek RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Driver for Microsoft Windows
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 01:47 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
OS: windows 7 SP1



After trying all the ones most likely to work, the internet is still "Not connected-no connections are available."

Should I delete the drivers with problems, and install the updated drivers?
__________________
Himuya is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 01:53 PM   #10
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 23,963
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Yes uninstall the Ralink driver and install the Ralink 2011 802.11 b/g/n WiFi Adapter from the website.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 01:59 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
OS: windows 7 SP1



The Ralink wifi adapter is working now, but the problem still persists. The other adapter drivers aren't on the site.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	networkadapterproblem1.png
Views:	52
Size:	18.6 KB
ID:	109036  
__________________
Himuya is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 02:26 PM   #12
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 23,963
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Go to Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Center > Change Adapter Settings > Make sure tha the wireless Lan Card is enabled.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 02:37 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
OS: windows 7 SP1



It's enabled, but it's not connected for some reason. The wireless icon changed after a reboot, and looks closer to the normal state, except it still has the red x, and there's no bars in color.

I believe it has to do with the other network adapters having problems.
They probably are out of date as well, since they're all dated at 2006. Problem is, I can't find device drivers for them anywhere.
__________________
Himuya is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 02:51 PM   #14
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 23,963
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Ok go to the Device Manager > Network Adapters > Right-Click the Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller > Properties >
  • Under the General Tab what does the Device Status say?
  • Go to the Advance Tab and make sure the Value is set to Enabled.
  • Go to the Driver Tab and press the Update Driver button.
    • Use the internet to search for the driver.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:01 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
OS: windows 7 SP1



It's working, and I followed your instructions on the updating and value enabling. Unless I'm supposed to enable everything in the value panel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	networkadapterproblem1.png
Views:	527
Size:	54.4 KB
ID:	109039  
__________________
Himuya is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:06 PM   #16
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 23,963
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Himuya View Post
It's working.
You have a Wireless internet connection now? Can you connect to this website on the computer?

By the way the Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller is for LAN only. If you are only planning to use wireless its best just to leave it alone. (Considering that the Wireless problem is fixed now.)
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:11 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
OS: windows 7 SP1



Oh, by: "It's working", I meant the Realtek adapter. The wireless still doesn't work...
__________________
Himuya is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:16 PM   #18
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 23,963
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Try to install this driver here: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller Driver - HP Customer Care (United States - English)
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:27 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
OS: windows 7 SP1



That instead caused problems, so I reupdated it. Isn't the microsoft 6to4 adapter crucial in establishing a wireless internet connection? And all the other problems with the other network adapters.
__________________
Himuya is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 04:28 PM   #20
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 23,963
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


All the 6to4 adapter does is its used for transmitting IPv6 packets trough IPv4 the network correctly.

Doing this should fix it:

To uninstall the component > Right-Click the item in Device Manager and select Uninstall.

To reinstall the component, in Device Manager > Click on Network Adapters > Action (Top of the Screen) > Add Legacy Hardware > Next > Install the hardware that I manually select from a list > Network adapters > Microsoft > Microsoft 6to4 Adapter > Next > Finish the wizard.

__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
virus removal help
:smile::smile: thanks in advance for any help you can provide. i have been a member on the forum for a number of yrs, and you have helped me in the past. i started to see my pc slow down so i did all the standard (cleaning, delete all tmp files, etc) it did not help. then i notice that i was...
stroh Resolved HJT Threads 50 03-04-2012 07:06 AM
Bad Image Errors
I'm trying to get rid of some bad image errors and rundll errors during start-up on my windows xp computer. I ran the HiJackThis program and here is the log. I don't know which ones to delete. Please help. How do I avoid this in the future? Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4 Scan...
Generalpork12 Resolved HJT Threads 15 02-16-2012 03:52 PM
HELP PLEASE!!!!!!!
Hi, For 2 weeks now, I have a problem with my laptop. Finally I just found you via http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f100/malware-removal-help-438072.html] and now I began hoping (please forgive my English!!). Could you please please help me too?? I have this laptop and more or...
Vladia Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 1 01-08-2012 08:16 AM
bad image error and norton 360
Hi, My initial problem was trying to get rid of the "Bad Image" error message that has been popping up on literally every file and folder on my PC (Windows XP). Situation has gone from bad to worse as i installed norton 360 5.0. Now nothing works, unable to connect to the internet, unable to...
royalmc Resolved HJT Threads 25 04-07-2011 07:36 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts