Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] white square appears on desktop

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] white square appears on desktop within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. a white square appears on the top left corner of my desktop after my computer wakes up from hibernation mode.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2010, 09:06 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



a white square appears on the top left corner of my desktop after my computer wakes up from hibernation mode. any ideas on how to get rid of or fix this thing? it disappears after reboot but comes back after hibernation. check out the screen shot to see what i mean.

thanks,
tungbot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	white block.jpg
Views:	482
Size:	213.0 KB
ID:	63735  

__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 09:14 PM   #2
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,494
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Hi -

Is the white square in the wallpaper itself?

I noticed the battery icon showed low battery level. Was the system in hibernation while on D/C battery power or was the A/C plugged in?

Run a DirectX Graphics Kernel Diagnostics report -
START | type dxdiag | if x64 click on "...64-bit..." bottom-center of screen | save as a text file

Zip it up & attach to your next post.

Are all Windows Updates in? You are not alone in Windows 7 + hibernation problems.

Windows Updates --> www.update.microsoft.com

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.

jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 09:39 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



definitely not apart of the wallpaper. this problem has occurred with a full battery too, so i don't think that's the issue.

the direct x report is really long and i can't zip it up. installing updates now.
__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 10:08 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



i installed the latest windows updates.

i have attached the Direct x report. blah
Attached Files
File Type: txt DxDiag.txt (37.9 KB, 106 views)
__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 10:22 PM   #5
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,494
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Hi -

dxdiag looks fine - chipset, video, audio, etc... drivers nice & new.

Does the white square occur if using sleep?
What about re-start?
Cold boot-up?

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 10:45 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



it happens only when after wake up of hibernation and sleep. on restart it goes back to normal. on cold boot it is also normal.

it only happens after "waking up". balls.
__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 10:47 PM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,874
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, might be the Icon Cache is corrupt follow these instructions:-

Go to Start all programs accessories and right click on command prompt select “run as administrator”

type "taskkill /im explorer.exe /f" without quotes press enter

Now type each line and press enter after each line.
Note the spaces.

CD %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local

attrib -h IconCache.db

del IconCache.db

Now type exit and press enter
Reboot to take effect
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 10:59 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



says" file not found" (the iconcache.db)

it can't find the file. i also cannot find the file. what should i do?
__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:10 PM   #9
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,494
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, might be the Icon Cache is corrupt follow these instructions:-

Go to Start all programs accessories and right click on command prompt select “run as administrator”

type "taskkill /im explorer.exe /f" without quotes press enter

Now type each line and press enter after each line.
Note the spaces.

CD %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local

attrib -h IconCache.db

del IconCache.db

Now type exit and press enter
Reboot to take effect

Hi -

Run the CD command with quotes -
Code:
CD "%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local"
TheIconCache.db file is exactly where jenae said it is.

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:27 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



i tried, the file isn't there. i tried looking in the folder too. i know it's supposed to be there. i am 100% i'm looking in the right place and followed the directions correctly. maybe that's the problem? there's no iconcache.db file?
__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:39 PM   #11
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,874
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, sure you are running this as administrator:-

Quote:
Go to Start all programs accessories and right click on command prompt select “run as administrator”
The IconCache.db file is a hidden file so when you search for it you need to have "show hidden files and folders" checked. This is the reason for the command:-

attrib -h IconCache.db

This removes the hidden file attribute.

There should be no reason for the command:-

"%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local" it does not need the ".
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:45 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



i am set as an administrator. also, i can see other hidden files in the folder, just not that one. i can't tell what's going on. i think i might be missing the file, and it's not recreating on reboot.
__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:49 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



ok! i found it! it disappears after the white box appears. when i reboot i can find it. i'm going to follow the steps again
__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:58 PM   #14
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,874
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi. open a CMD prompt (as administrator as shown above) and at the prompt type:-

Code:
regsvr32 shell32.dll press enter
reboot to take effect
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 12:09 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



ok, i deleted the iconcache.db file using your directions and came up with the same results. (Upon waking from sleep/hibernation there is a white block in the top left corner)

i tried the "regsvr32" with the same results as well. the white block still persists.
__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 12:25 AM   #16
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,874
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, pesky little fellow, go to a blank spot on your desktop and right click select personalize, then theme, change the theme (windows classic for eg) and reboot. If the problem is resolved , then go back to theme and change to your preferred.

If this fails try cmd prompt (as administrator) and type sfc /scannow press enter

Let us know how you get on.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 05:47 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



ok, i tried resetting the theme to another and restarting, no dice.

also got on the command prompt, it said "no integrity problems"
__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 12:38 AM   #18
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,874
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, since this revolves around "hibernation" lets take a look there. Your hibernation settings are contained in a file "hiberfil.sys" and if it is corrupt could be the cause of your problem (none of this will do any harm). Lets clear the file:-

Open a CMD prompt (as administrator, accessories right click command prompt select "run as administrator)

At the prompt type:-

Code:
  powercfg -h off  press enter
reboot to take effect
This will disable hibernation and clear the hiberfil.sys file.

After reboot open another CMD prompt (as administrator, as above) and type:-

Code:
powercfg -h on  press enter
reboot to take effect
Now go to this site and apply the recommended settings for power saving (inc hibernation) read it all.

http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/63...-problems.html

Hopefully this will resolve your problem.(don't worry about the vista applies to 7 as well)
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 05:14 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: boulder, co
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



its fixed! i don't know which part fixed it, but thanks for all of your help!

i also got rid of the password screen i wonder if that had anything to do with it.

thanks again!

tungbt
__________________
tungbot is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 06:55 PM   #20
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,874
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, glad you got it sorted thanks for letting us know.

__________________

jenae is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts