Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] "The path specified does not exist" - Windows 7

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] "The path specified does not exist" - Windows 7 within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Whenever i try to open ANY file(.exe, .jpg, etc) I get the message, "the path specified does not exist." The


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2009, 02:33 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 32
OS: Windows XP SP2, Windows 7 Home Premium



Whenever i try to open ANY file(.exe, .jpg, etc) I get the message, "the path specified does not exist." The only working program that I can open is Firefox (i don't know why...). I had some programs on an external hardrive I tried opening them and I don't get the message, but the program just crashes on startup. The same with every other file type. I have had Windows 7, since the RC came out, and it was fine until today. Help would be appreciated.

System specs(if you need them)
intel celeron d processor 356
nvidia xfx geforce 9600 gso
? motherboard.
Suspecting something wrong with the OS not the computer.
Thekeeperofham

__________________
thekeeperofham is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 04:48 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,927
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System


I would select a system restore point before this happened.

__________________
Lead3 is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 04:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Vista 64-Bit Ultimate Edition



I'll echo the response that System Restore is what you should do. That is the easiest and fastest way to go about it. It sounds like some environment variables got trashed, or that files got pruned out when they shouldn't have. Do a System Restore, and also try getting a command prompt running in admin mode, and then run SFC /scannow. If all else fails, try to do a system repair from the install DVD. If that still all fails, you might also try posting over on official Windows 7 RC Support Forum (located here http://tinyurl.com/9fhdl5 ) to get a response from the Microsoft devs. They will probably want some more in-depth information on your equipment and build-out, so I would prepare that as well.
Kurtis Whittington - Microsoft Windows Client Team
__________________
DataCabbitKSW is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 04:19 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 32
OS: Windows XP SP2, Windows 7 Home Premium



Thank you for your response, I did a system restore, and that didn't work. So I just backed up all data I wanted to an external harddrive, and did a fresh install and now it works ! Thanks for the response though, just wondering so you think you know might of caused it to do that, I was just wondering. Anyway thanks!

TheKeeperofHam
__________________
thekeeperofham is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts