Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Taskbar is white

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Taskbar is white within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The task bar went white, I guess a couple days ago. It makes it hard to see anything and I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2011, 05:00 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 109
OS: Windows 7 x64



The task bar went white, I guess a couple days ago. It makes it hard to see anything and I can't see the clock at all. When I mess with the taskbar colour and it's transparency, I can still see right above and around it what used to be the taskbar colour...so apparently something is overlaying it, if that makes any sense. Here's a screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	taskbar.jpg
Views:	318
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	94147  

__________________
smeep is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 05:05 AM   #2
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,204
OS: .



What version of windows is that? Is it Windows XP with some theme skin or something? (As your profile says Windows XP but it looks like Windows 7).

If it is Windows 7, try this:
==========
> - Click on the start globe/button.
> - Go to Control Panel.
> - Click on System and Security.
> - Click on System.
> - On the left hand side navigation bar, click on Advanced System Settings.
> - In the new Dialog window, go to the Advance tab.
> - In the performance section, click on settings.
> - In the Visual Effects tab, click "Let Windows decide what's best for my computer"
==========

You should see loads of check boxes, hopefully they've all (mostly) been clicked. Click ok on both windows and close the Control Panel.

----

If it is still white, try the following:
==========
> - Right click on your desktop and click Personalize
> - Select one of the Aero Themes
==========
Hope one of these work, say if it doesn't.

__________________
Stephen Bowles is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 05:59 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 109
OS: Windows 7 x64



Well, it seems to have randomly resolved itself. Thanks! (And I'd put "solved" in the title but for some reason it's not showing an edit option.)
__________________
smeep is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 06:54 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,358
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


You can mark this thread Solved in the Thread Tools at the Top
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 08:03 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 109
OS: Windows 7 x64



Thanks! :)
__________________
smeep is offline  
Old 07-06-2012, 12:42 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
OS: windows 7



I still have the same problem for a couple months, and tried a lot of things, but it's always back.

I didn't find what's the reason. Thought about time away from pc would affect, or a certain program, or virus, but didn't really find anything that solves the problem.

Sorry for posting on a solved thread, but that's the only place I found whose talk about these problem.

If anyone know anything to do about this, please answer me.
Thanks.
o/
__________________
rightless is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 02:36 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,358
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Right click a blank space on the Desktop and choose Personalize. At the bottom click on Window Color. If Frost is the color selected, make sure Enable Transparency is checked if you want transparent task bar, or choose your favorite color.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 04:05 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
OS: windows 7



It's not the problem.

I tried to modify a lot of appearance configurations from windows and I'm sure it's not the problem. It really looks like the pic from #smeep.

I know that when i go to the Task Manager and Finish and star Explorer again, it comes back to normal.

Um... I use windows 7 and don't use any software to change the appearance.

Thanks again.
o/
__________________
rightless is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 04:35 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,358
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
I tried to modify a lot of appearance configurations from windows.....I don't use any software to change the appearance.
Ok, so if you didn't use software to change the appearance then what did you do? To modify appearance, you would have to use Software, even if it is built into Windows. Just undo what you did. You can always do a System Restore to a time before this happened.

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All icons unresponsive, taskbar mostly empty, only Safemode works...
Win XP, SP 3. (it's my brother's system, some of this info is based off his report) Problem: none of the desktop icons will activate upon clicking all of the anti- virus/spyware program icons were missing from the taskbar (ZoneAlarm icon was present, as were the audio, a few others)...
KuriousJorj Windows XP Support 1 04-21-2011 07:50 PM
k800i wont start, flashes black and white?
when i start my k800i i get 1 vibration pulce and a white screen, after a few seconds it goes black, then white again, then black then white again.......etc. it does this for ages and wont stop, the only way to turn off the phone is to take out the battery. the infra red light does NOT blink or...
husstler92 Removable Media Drives 1 03-14-2011 06:15 PM
How do I change taskbar to this ?
Id like to change my taskbar into something different, as in modify it. But just the taskbar, nothing else. I know how to change it into green,silver and blue. But I want something diff. Like the taskbars below. Currently my desktop is like this but without the taskbar, :...
Shahzal Windows XP Support 9 02-17-2011 11:32 AM
COMPLETELY Hide Windows Taskbar?
I activated autohide on the taskbar, but I have a dark image as a background with black at the bottom, and there is still a thin white line probably 1px tall and white bumps probably 2 or 3px tall where the minimized windows are... How do I make it completely invisible when hidden? I tried...
evilmog9999 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 01-31-2011 04:23 PM
2011 Toyota 4Runner wiring for alarm/rs
I might be doing an install on one of these for a buddy. Lee/Jagger, do either of you guys have this info? I think it should be the same as 2010 which was the start of the current generation. I can't find it anywhere.
Raylo Car Audio and Alarms 2 01-07-2011 05:26 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts