Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Streaming video crashes my computer

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Streaming video crashes my computer within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So ive been having this problem for a few weeks now. Basically, when i watch anything on youtube or icefilms


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2011, 12:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



So ive been having this problem for a few weeks now.
Basically, when i watch anything on youtube or icefilms on my laptop that's longer than 5 minutes long or so, my computer abruptly stops,the frame freezes, the sound goes on a loop, all of the lights on my laptop turn on and i have to turn it off.
I can't even use the task manager to shut it down.
My computer has 4 gb of RAM, an intel i3 processor, a nvidia graphics card and I'm running windows 7.
It's a bit under a year old.
I already cleaned out the registry did a disk cleanup and defrag, and now im out of ideas.
Anyone have any idea why this is happening and how i can fix it?

__________________
disabilitree is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 01:24 PM   #2
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 644
OS: W7 Pro, W7 Ultimate, Vista Ultimate, Windows XP Pro, Linux (Ubuntu)

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Michael_Larsen

Do you have any trouble watching videos via Windows Media Player or any other media that lasts longer than 5 minutes?

__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 02:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Im testing that now.
The problem is weird though, it didn't crash when i watching something not in full screen.
__________________
disabilitree is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 03:03 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Okay, just tested on VLC media player and things are fine
__________________
disabilitree is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:51 PM   #5
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 644
OS: W7 Pro, W7 Ultimate, Vista Ultimate, Windows XP Pro, Linux (Ubuntu)

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Michael_Larsen

So, is it only crashing on those sites when you view in full screen?

Sorry for the delay....as you know, we are all volunteers and as such our lives often get in the way of spending time here on TSF! :-)

Mike
__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 03:25 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Haha no problem
Honestly, that's what i thought the problem was, but i dont even know now.
Now, even if im not watching a video, if its paused in another tab after a while my computer locks up.
The only three things i can do while it's like this is 1) Turn on and off the mouse with the keyboard function 2) open and close the disk drawer and 3)manually shut it off by pressing the power key.
I think it may have something to do with internet connection, because when i let a movie buffer, disconnect, then watch it i was able to watch the whole thing without any problems.
I have a wireless internet connection, and my router is a d-link DIR-615 router, if that helps.
__________________
disabilitree is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 11:47 PM   #7
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 644
OS: W7 Pro, W7 Ultimate, Vista Ultimate, Windows XP Pro, Linux (Ubuntu)

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Michael_Larsen

Have you updated your video drivers lately?
__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 05:57 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



What does that entail?
And no, I dont think that I have
__________________
disabilitree is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 09:17 AM   #9
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 644
OS: W7 Pro, W7 Ultimate, Vista Ultimate, Windows XP Pro, Linux (Ubuntu)

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Michael_Larsen

START>CONTROL PANEL>SYSTEM and MAINTENANCE>SYSTEM>DEVICE MANAGER. Once you have opened up the Device Manager screen, notice that it lists all of the various device headers. You'll see one that is called DISPLAY ADAPTERS. Click on the little plus sign next to it. It will show you what you're video adapter is. Right-click on the device listed and you'll be given a brief list of things to do. Select "Update Driver Software" and then it will ask you for permission to access the Internet to do so. Give it permission and let it run and see if it can find a more current driver. Depending upon the display adapter, you may have to go to the vendor's website to get a more current driver but let's try this first. Once you do open up the display adapter, let me know what it lists.

Good day!

Mike
__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 04:40 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



My display adaptor is a NVIDIA GeForce 310M, and it says that my device driver is up to date
__________________
disabilitree is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 08:40 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,603
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Download the newest nVidia driver anyway.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 03-10-2011, 09:42 AM   #12
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 644
OS: W7 Pro, W7 Ultimate, Vista Ultimate, Windows XP Pro, Linux (Ubuntu)

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Michael_Larsen

Most definitely. Download the latest as spunk.funk said and re-install it. Drivers can be technically current but still corrupted.

Mike
__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 11:03 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Ahh awesome!
So far everything has been working, thanks for all of your wonderful help!
__________________
disabilitree is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 01:17 PM   #14
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 644
OS: W7 Pro, W7 Ultimate, Vista Ultimate, Windows XP Pro, Linux (Ubuntu)

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Michael_Larsen

Great news!! Glad we could help!! Have an awesome week!!

Mike
__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 12:46 AM   #15
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,603
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Good to see you got it sorted. You can mark this thread solved in the Thread Tools at the top.

spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 BSOD - Memory management
Been getting BSOD. Sometimes twice a night, sometimes none. This hass been for weeks. Sometimes I get stuck in a reboot loop, sometimes it wants to run Repair, sometimes it wants me to choose safe mode/no safe mode. Pulled out two 1GB sticks of old dell memory yesterday when it was stuck in a...
dj-anakin BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 02-21-2011 04:27 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 04:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts