Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Snipping tool hotkey?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Snipping tool hotkey? within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi! I LOVE that new snipping tool in Windows 7. Is there a way to invoke it using a single


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2009, 08:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 RC


Arrow

Hi!

I LOVE that new snipping tool in Windows 7. Is there a way to invoke it using a single hotkey?

So far I have been to assign it to a key combination (CTRL+F11) but this is not convenient enough for me. I prefer assigning it to an unused single key.

Is this possible?

Thanks,
Caleb

__________________
calebgl is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 10:22 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,877
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi I use F7 (windows has little use for it:-



__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 09:12 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 RC


Arrow

Thanks jenae. Now I know that this is possible and that's great. The problem is that I run several applications that use the F1-F12 keys so the solution that works for you doesn't work for me.

I am looking for a way to assign this amazing snipping tool to one of the keys that are never used, like Scroll Lock or Pause.

Any idea how to do that?

Thanks,
Caleb
__________________
calebgl is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 09:43 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i just drag a short cut icon onto the taskbar
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 09:50 AM   #5
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,312
OS: XP, Win 7



. . me too
Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 01:43 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 RC


Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
i just drag a short cut icon onto the taskbar
dai, thanks. I have already done that (created a shortcut icon in the taskbar) - even before posting my question.

But I use the snipping tool a lot and prefer a single key hotkey - if there is such a solution.

Other ideas?

Thanks,
Caleb
__________________
calebgl is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 03:01 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP


Exclamation

Caleb, do you know how to google? I just typed "Snipping Tool Hot Key" and found this:


http://www.softwarecandy.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_free_shipping_info&cPath=2&products_id=73

Does this help?
__________________
jen9287 is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:23 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 RC



Thank you Jen! I just downloaded it and works great.
__________________
calebgl is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:32 AM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



glad you have it sorted

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts