Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Satellite P775 Windows 7

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Satellite P775 Windows 7 within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I need to reinstall Windows 7 on this laptop. I have 4 CDs worth of software all together. Anything special


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2013, 01:49 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 98
OS: xp



I need to reinstall Windows 7 on this laptop. I have 4 CDs worth of software all together. Anything special I need to know before I start. Ive done XP several times and Vista. Never done 7 before. Thanks.

For the record, I did read the sticky at the top of the page.

__________________
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 02:04 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



If you back up your personal files then you can factory reset it by tapping F8 on boot and selecting Repair your Computer.

After confirming the language and/or computer name, you will see the repair options with the Toshiba HDD Recovery usually being the last one - this will take it back to an out of the box condition.

__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 02:26 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 98
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomken15 View Post
If you back up your personal files then you can factory reset it by tapping F8 on boot and selecting Repair your Computer.

After confirming the language and/or computer name, you will see the repair options with the Toshiba HDD Recovery usually being the last one - this will take it back to an out of the box condition.
Did the reset option first. Got an error message and now it cant find the OS.
__________________
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 03:41 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



The following article shows how to do a repair install of Win 7 Repair Install - Windows 7 Help Forums which will get you back in but you may need Toshiba's generic product key to activate as the COA sticker only applies to the OEM install and may be rejected.

I'll PM you the key.

Once you're back in you can back up your personal files and try the factory reset again, from Start type diskmgmt.msc - press Enter to check that your Data D: partition is still showing as using ~10GB.

What do you mean by having 4 CDs of software ?
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 03:56 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 98
OS: xp



Thanks. 4 CDs. This is for a buddy thats in love with Best Buy. When he purchased the laptop, they did not provide the OE CDs. He gave me 4 CDs that supposedly have all the software that the laptop came with. I do have an OE Dell copy of Windows 7. Sould I try the repair from that ??
__________________
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 04:50 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by JackDidley View Post
Thanks. 4 CDs. This is for a buddy thats in love with Best Buy. When he purchased the laptop, they did not provide the OE CDs. He gave me 4 CDs that supposedly have all the software that the laptop came with. I do have an OE Dell copy of Windows 7. Sould I try the repair from that ??
No, you would be putting a Dell OEM install onto a Toshiba.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 04:53 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 98
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomken15 View Post
No, you would be putting a Dell OEM install onto a Toshiba.
Gotchya. Didnt really think so. I will get into this in the morning. Thanks.
__________________
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 01:49 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 98
OS: xp



Got it done, thanks.
__________________
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 02:28 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Well done Jack !

__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot create shortcuts
Hello, I've been having issues with my computer for a while. It started out with a virus that "scanned" my computer for an infection, and of course my wife hits "OK". I had thought i cleaned that up, then I had the "The FBI has locked your computer" for whatever reason, and I had cleaned that up...
Andy_F Resolved HJT Threads 76 02-19-2013 06:46 PM
virus removal help
:smile::smile: thanks in advance for any help you can provide. i have been a member on the forum for a number of yrs, and you have helped me in the past. i started to see my pc slow down so i did all the standard (cleaning, delete all tmp files, etc) it did not help. then i notice that i was...
stroh Resolved HJT Threads 50 03-04-2012 07:06 AM
Virus blocking internet access.
After removing XP Antispyware 2012,I can no longer connect to the internet.It just says "acquiring network address". When I do ipconfig it says "RPC server is unavailable".There's nothing wrong with the internet connection itself.Just something on my computer preventing it from connecting. ....
honeybe Resolved HJT Threads 28 01-10-2012 02:26 AM
Windows XP Fix
I have got this intruder on my computer. I cannot access the internet or anything else. I was going to do a system restore, but I cannot get to it. I do have another computer with Vista, but I need the XP computer for work. Please help!
mishamisha Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 26 07-14-2011 06:36 PM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 03:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts