Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] RunDLL The specified module could not be found

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] RunDLL The specified module could not be found within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I hope I am posting this to the correct forum. Every time I start up Windows 7 a "RunDLL" window


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2013, 03:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1



I hope I am posting this to the correct forum.

Every time I start up Windows 7 a "RunDLL" window pops up and a warning tone sounds. The window says:
"There was a problem starting
C:\users\TODDSR~1\AppData\Local\Temp\bsbcuuidjvoqplabijm.bfg
The specified Module could not be found."

I have run McAfee AV, Windows defender, and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware but the window still pops up every time. I even tried Wondershare's 1-click PC Care and the problem persists.

Any suggestions as to what I can do to fix this? Thanks in advance for your help.

__________________
CardsFan68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 04:58 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


That's a Big Fish Games Application File. So, try to undo all that you've done to cure it by using 'Restore' to a date before the issue.

Then, download Revo Uninstaller free edition. Run it and uninstall Big Fish Games using advanced mode. You can practice by removing any 'Tool Bars' you find in there first.

__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 08:52 PM   #3
Volunteer
 
Babbzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: India
Posts: 5,861
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by CardsFan68 View Post
I even tried Wondershare's 1-click PC Care and the problem persists.
Never use 1-Click Cleaners or any sort of Registry Cleaners for the matter. It causes more problems than it can fix.
__________________

Submit New Articles Here

Linux User #565010

It's never about how good you are, it's about how much you can change lives.
Babbzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 09:30 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1



For some reason I can not see Big Fish Games when I run the Revo Uninstaller. Any ideas on what is up with that? Also, thank you both for your help and suggestions
__________________
CardsFan68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 09:53 PM   #5
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


Assuming you did have a BFG on your computer originally, I would think it that it was partially uninstalled at one time. Or it was damaged by an overly aggressive anti-malware program. The company itself doesn't have a bad reputation.

If you didn't run 'Restore' to an earlier time like I recommended above, then Revo wouldn't find it because it's only partially installed now, or it's been partially uninstalled. Your error message is because the game tries to run and can't find that DLL. If you did do a restore, then it's broken. How, I don't know. But to unbreak it, you'll probably have to reinstall it, and then run Revo. Figuring out which of their games it was would be the hard part. Here's their web site: Big Fish Games - PC

At least that's what I think is going on. If you've never heard of BFGs and are sure one was never installed, let me know and I'll dig deeper.
__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 10:34 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1



Yeah, I did do a restore as you recommended. First I did it to the date right before the problem started and have gone back to earlier and then earlier restore points and it is still not finding it.

I had the same idea as you: I figured I could reinstall the game from them and then uninstall it. However, I went to their website and did even remotely recognize any of their games and I know before today I have never been to that website. So it is very odd.

Where I currently have my computer restored to, everything is running fine and the error is not popping up. However, Revo is still not seeing Big Fish games so I am not sure what the deal is with that. Should I just the leave the computer as is for now since everything seems to be running okay?
__________________
CardsFan68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 01:11 AM   #7
Volunteer
 
Babbzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: India
Posts: 5,861
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


If you haven't installed any of the games, it's probably something else. If everything is fine now. I guess you're good to go.
__________________

Submit New Articles Here

Linux User #565010

It's never about how good you are, it's about how much you can change lives.
Babbzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 08:10 AM   #8
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


If your computer is a brand name, like Dell, HP, Compaq, etc., then a few BFGs may have come with the bloatware that's often provided from these makers on the mobo driver disk or the recovery disks. If it's a homebrew computer, then I don't know where it could have come from. Maybe it was an add-on offer as part of the install of some other software you actually wanted that you missed and just used the 'default' install. They are getting really sneaky these days with those. Making you 'decline' an offer when it appears you should click the 'Continue' button, for instance.

But, since you're back to normal, it's nothing to worry about, IMO.
__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 09:47 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1



Yep, it is a Dell and I bet that is what it was. The other possibility you is also definitely possible because, as you said, they are getting very sneaky these days with that junk. Well, in any case. everything is running well so hopefully that is the end of that. Thanks for all your help!
__________________
CardsFan68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:00 PM   #10
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


You are welcome. If you're satisfied with things, navigate to the top of this page, choose 'Thread Tools' and select 'Solved'. You can always open a new thread if the problem recurs.

__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
possibly spyware, adware or what ever else.
Hi all, when i open a browser, it automatically direct me to some random sites. I tried making my default homepage something else but it still does the same thing. I would believe that it is either spyware or adware. Moreover, I have experienced that sometimes when i idol from my computer, it...
kewin118 Resolved HJT Threads 19 10-30-2012 04:49 AM
IE9 sluggish
Tech Support, My IE9 takes a couple minutes to load the home page and, after it finally does load, it runs very slow. Google Chrome works fine. SuperAntispyware found Trojan.Agent/Gen-Keygen and Adware tracking cookies. Microsoft Security Essentials found nothing. I did a Reset on IE9, but...
rknlsnii Resolved HJT Threads 31 10-02-2012 04:48 PM
Trouble with Directx 10
When trying to install a redist for a game i was going to play, this error comes up: "An internal system error occured. Please refer to DXERROR.log and Directx.log in your Windows folder to determine the problem" This is my DXError.log: -------------------- module: dxupdate(Sep 4 2009),...
xAtlas PC Gaming Support 1 07-29-2011 01:43 PM
Laptop barely works, can't access task manager
No access to a Windows install disc or a boot CD Computer takes way too long to start. Takes way too long to restart and shut down. The internet shuts off after a couple of hours and I have to restart the computer. Pop-up keeps appearing even when a web page isn't open....
BalloonBottle Resolved HJT Threads 21 07-25-2011 02:36 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts