Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Not able to connect to TeamViewer

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Not able to connect to TeamViewer within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I were using TeamViewer (v.6) today and could not establish an partner ID, instead it appears only a "-" in


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2011, 01:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)

My System


I were using TeamViewer (v.6) today and could not establish an partner ID, instead it appears only a "-" in the partner ID field. After a few seconds I get this error msg (translated with Google from Norwegian to English):

"Check your Internet connection.
Probably you use a proxy server and must provide appropriate information in the options dialog."

I'm not able to enter any partner ID that my friend gave me either. I have tried to remove TeamViewer from control panel + registry, then run teamviewer -> same result.
I have also tried to reboot comp -> same result
Checked my proxy settings in IE9 (detect automatically)
Checked proxy settings in teamviewer -> use the same as my web browser (default)
I used TeamViewer to help another friend a few days ago with no problems.
Also when I first attempted to connect with teamviewer today everything seemed correct, until I entered my friends partner ID then hit connect or establish connection or whatever (the button you press to get further and enter password), but I did not get any password prompt, instead it says I could not establish a connection.

Any tips? Tried to go on teamviewer.com but it says it only have support for customers who pay for the program.

In advance, thanks for any tips regarding this.
I'm working with computers daily so please do not feel that any tip is too advanced.

PS:
Added the error msg (Norwegian text).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Skjermbilde.PNG
Views:	1208
Size:	131.4 KB
ID:	87386  

__________________
minbox is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 01:30 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
DT Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 3,805
OS: Windows 7 SP1 (x64), XP Home (x32), Ubuntu 10.10, Fedora 14

My System

Send a message via MSN to DT Roberts Send a message via Skype™ to DT Roberts

Hello and welcome to TSF.

This may be something that you'd want to take directly to TeamViewer forum: TeamViewer Forum - Index

What are you using for firewall software? Did you add an exception for TeamViewer?

DT Roberts is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 01:44 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)

My System


Thanks for the tip. I'm using Windows firewall with MSE. I just checked, firewall exception is on check marked. I were able to enter a partner ID now (just lucky I guess), now I got this message:
"it can not be established any connection. Unknown cause."

I was not able to get so far in the process to enter my friends password.
__________________
minbox is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 02:24 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
DT Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 3,805
OS: Windows 7 SP1 (x64), XP Home (x32), Ubuntu 10.10, Fedora 14

My System

Send a message via MSN to DT Roberts Send a message via Skype™ to DT Roberts

The only other thing I can think of is that your's (or your friend's) router has the port blocked that TeamViewer uses. I'll ask someone from Networking to take a look.
DT Roberts is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 02:31 PM   #5
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 1,921
OS: DOS 3.3



Hi

By default Teamviewer uses the HTTP port (80) so if your internet is working then in theory your Teamviewer should work.
__________________
AlbertMC2 is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 02:37 PM   #6
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,955
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hi minbox,

Is this issue on a wired connection to a Modem or Router?

Team Viewer requires a 5900 and 80 Port Nos. to be port forwarded from your router. Have you done this?

Also, try without using any Proxy settings for now.

Please provide an IPCONFIG ALL of your computer:
Click on Start => in run or search box type cmd choose Run as Admin, press enter. From the black screen, type the word ipconfig /all and press enter. Right click on the black screen or Command prompt then choose Select All and Paste the results here.

The print screen is not too helpful bec. we prefer it in US English.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 03:42 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 54
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)

My System


Some weird stuff is going on here. I tried to do a clean boot and it worked fine. Tried to troubleshoot the list to find out which program causing the problem, and the last time I tried to set all programs as allowed the problem was gone. Everything is working now without me doing any changes.
__________________
minbox is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 03:49 PM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
DT Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 3,805
OS: Windows 7 SP1 (x64), XP Home (x32), Ubuntu 10.10, Fedora 14

My System

Send a message via MSN to DT Roberts Send a message via Skype™ to DT Roberts

That is strange...

Well, glad you got it sorted out. Feel free to come back anytime

DT Roberts is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kindle Won't Connect - Can I Set Up Two Routers??
I live in a rural area and use Hughesnet for my Internet provider. I am currently using a Belkin F5D8233-4 (Version 4) wireless router. This router is connected to the Hughesnet HNS9000 modem. I have a desktop hardwired into the router. Two notebooks, a wireless printer, my wife’s itouch...
James Lee Networking Support 2 01-29-2011 06:47 PM
Why won't my laptop connect to my network/Internet?
My computer won't connect to my network. I goto my list of wireless networks, chose my home network and press connect. Then a prompt comes up and says " Windows is unable to connect to the selected network. The network may no longer be in range. Please refresh the list of available networks, and...
BBradshaw Networking Support 3 01-29-2011 02:43 PM
Why won't my laptop connect to my network/internet
My computer won't connect to my network. I goto my list of wireless networks, chose my home network and press connect. Then a prompt comes up and says " Windows is unable to connect to the selected network. The network may no longer be in range. Please refresh the list of available networks, and...
BBradshaw Laptop Support 1 01-29-2011 02:28 AM
Unable to wireless connect
I am also having the same issue! Trying to connect wirelessly between Windows XP and an iMac with OSX 10.6.5. I am able to connect to my iMac with my iPhone, iPod touch and another friends iPhone, and I have access without any issues. I have deleted out the wireless accounts completely in...
Lovinchase Networking Support 3 01-06-2011 09:46 PM
Wireless Blu Ray Makes Laptop Unable to Connect to Router
I have a Dell Dimension 4400 pc (XP SP3) connected to Linksys WRT54G2 v1.5 router with no issues. Dell Inspirion (XP) connected to router with Linksys WPC54G Wireless notebook adapter with no issues for months. A couple of days ago, purchased a Vizio Blu Ray DVD Player (VBR220) with WiFi. I...
wrinklem Networking Support 3 01-05-2011 03:03 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts