Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] LPK.dll is missing

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] LPK.dll is missing within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I got an error code saying that my LPK.dll is missing. I did a search and there are products that


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2013, 01:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
OS: windows 7 service pack 1



I got an error code saying that my LPK.dll is missing. I did a search and there are products that can fix it, but is there a free fix somewhere that I dont have to pay for a service?

__________________
keithmason22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 02:35 PM   #2
IT Specialist
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,959
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Hi Keithmason22,

Please provide a bit more info. When does this error come up? Does it come up when your surfing the web? Playing a game?

If you have your Windows 7 CD, I recommend performing a repair-install of the Operating System and see if that helps resolve your issue. Hope everything works out well for you.

__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.
DBCooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 04:12 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
OS: windows 7 service pack 1



Quote:
Originally Posted by DBCooper View Post
Hi Keithmason22,

Please provide a bit more info. When does this error come up? Does it come up when your surfing the web? Playing a game?

If you have your Windows 7 CD, I recommend performing a repair-install of the Operating System and see if that helps resolve your issue. Hope everything works out well for you.
I dont have a disc, it happens whenever I try to open google chrome, or try to do a windows update.
__________________
keithmason22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 04:18 PM   #4
IT Specialist
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,959
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Hi Keithmason22,

Try un-installing and re-installing Google Chrome and see if that helps alleviate the issue. For Windows Update, try restoring the Windows Update component: How do I reset Windows Update components?
__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.
DBCooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 04:45 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
OS: windows 7 service pack 1



It wont uninstall any programs either, same error
__________________
keithmason22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 04:46 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
OS: windows 7 service pack 1



sorry, correction, no error, the file wont open.
__________________
keithmason22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 05:05 PM   #7
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Whyalla, South Australia
Posts: 11,260
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2

Hello keithmason,

Please try this workaround...

Go > Start > in the search pane, type cmd > Right click > Run as Administrator > type > sfc /scannow > enter.
Please note the space between sfc and scannow.
This program will check all the core system files, and replace those that are missing or corrupt.
It is not advisable to do any other work on the computer while the System File Checker is running. (This process can take up to 45 minutes.)
Once SFC has finished, reboot the computer.
Post back with the results.

Kind Regards,
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 08:06 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
OS: windows 7 service pack 1



I tried it and it said that I did not have administrative rights to do this. I am going to try it in safe mode.
__________________
keithmason22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:46 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
OS: windows 7 service pack 1



My son finallly told me he did a system restore and when it was done, it said that the LPK.dll is missing, he went back in aqnd used the undo feature, but it was still gone. Can I download that file somewhere?
__________________
keithmason22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 08:10 PM   #10
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Whyalla, South Australia
Posts: 11,260
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithmason22 View Post
My son finallly told me he did a system restore and when it was done, it said that the LPK.dll is missing, he went back in aqnd used the undo feature, but it was still gone. Can I download that file somewhere?
Hello Keith,

When you did the System Restore, did you only undo it, or did you go further back to an earlier date?
Perhaps if you go back a day or two before that System Restore Point it might cure this issue.
Also, have you run your AntiVirus and Malware programs; If so, did they find anything?
How did you go with the sfc /scannow in safe mode?
Did you Right Click "Run as Administrator", before typing in the sfc /scannow command?

Please post back with the results.
Edit: You can also run System Restore from Safe Mode with Command Prompt:
Press F8 while booting to get to the boot menu.
Choose Safe Mode with Command Prompt.
Once it's up, type in

%systemroot%\system32\rstrui.exe > press Enter.

The SR GUI will come up, allowing you to pick a date and time to restore.
Run it as you normally would from there.


Kind Regards,
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:55 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 43
OS: windows 7 service pack 1



IT WORKED!!! I can't believe it worked. I didn't go into to safe mode with command prompt the first time, I just used safe mode and the ran the command prompt. I may have forgot to f=do the administrative thing first, I can't thank you all enough.
__________________
keithmason22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:05 AM   #12
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Whyalla, South Australia
Posts: 11,260
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2

Hi Keith,

I'm very pleased that its all sorted and working...That's Great News!!

Feel free to post back with a new thread if you ever need any more assistance.
How I Luv a Happy Ending!

I will mark this thread as Solved

Kind Regards,
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 09:17 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1


Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by chauffeur2 View Post
Hello keithmason,

Please try this workaround...

Go > Start > in the search pane, type cmd > Right click > Run as Administrator > type > sfc /scannow > enter.
Please note the space between sfc and scannow.
This program will check all the core system files, and replace those that are missing or corrupt.
It is not advisable to do any other work on the computer while the System File Checker is running. (This process can take up to 45 minutes.)
Once SFC has finished, reboot the computer.
Post back with the results.

Kind Regards,

worked, 7 I made sure to do it in safe mode.
I plan on reinstalling windows anyways, but this will allow me to actually use my programs to set everything up beforehand.
__________________
Elm Owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 07:58 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by chauffeur2 View Post
Hello Keith,

When you did the System Restore, did you only undo it, or did you go further back to an earlier date?
Perhaps if you go back a day or two before that System Restore Point it might cure this issue.
Also, have you run your AntiVirus and Malware programs; If so, did they find anything?
How did you go with the sfc /scannow in safe mode?
Did you Right Click "Run as Administrator", before typing in the sfc /scannow command?

Please post back with the results.
Edit: You can also run System Restore from Safe Mode with Command Prompt:
Press F8 while booting to get to the boot menu.
Choose Safe Mode with Command Prompt.
Once it's up, type in

%systemroot%\system32\rstrui.exe > press Enter.

The SR GUI will come up, allowing you to pick a date and time to restore.
Run it as you normally would from there.


Kind Regards,
This solution worked like a charm. Thank you!
__________________
dherold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 04:11 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
OS: xp



Thank you Dave T! Solved my issue by following your instructions.
You ARE the man!!!
__________________
starovermiami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 04:54 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
OS: Win7



Chauffeur2, just want to also say a big THANK YOU, for this solution. I'm the puter fixer in the house and over the last year I've had a horrible time with my daughter's computer after Windows 7 updates. Start up files get corrupted. The last time I had a problem was a few months ago and I think it took me a week with oodles of time spent fixing it. After that nightmare I turned off automatic updates so that when I get the chance I can do them just one at a time. Anyway, over the last couple of days I worked on updating her system. Got all finished and the start up file was messed up again. (FWIW, I pare down the start up file to bare bones) Some sort of corruption happens with the driver files and I've never figured it out. Just to let you know, the machine is clean of any virus or malware. Anyway, it happened again and I came across this great forum and did the scannow command. It worked smooth as silk, fixed the corrupted dll files and now it runs like it should. Thank you, so very much. This handy fix is going in my little tool box for future use.
__________________
alicesmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 11:18 PM   #17
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,819
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, it amazes me that the most common of MS fixes the sfc cmd, still comes as a revelation to many people, whenever we sell a machine all clients are practiced in sfc, chkdsk, malwarebytes and ccleaner this is the most basic of a post sale users tutorial.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 06:33 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
OS: Win7



"...practiced in sfc, chkdsk, malwarebytes and ccleaner this is the most basic of a post sale users tutorial. "

I think it should be repeated often. Most folks aren't buying from some place where they get any tutorial, prior to purchase, so to assume that everyone knows, is not exactly a reasonable expectation. IMHO, it's extremely unrealistic. Bottom line, it's a false assumption for probably around 90 percent of the owners of computers. LOL, I can't even imagine the average Walmart clerk giving a tutorial prior to sale, nor, can I see that happening with Amazon, Tiger, etc.

I'm pretty sure that there's a bunch of folks out there that are very appreciative of Chauffeur2's helpful advice even if they aren't posting to this forum. I know, I certainly am.

FWIW, I do a check disk, have a running paid for malwarebytes, along with Glary's and CCcleaner, however, it's been over a decade since I last did anything in DOS and have forgotten most of the commands. (if you don't continue to use it, you can easily loose it.) Frankly, I never even thought of it when I was working on the problem the last time it happened. I ended up fixing it manually by going through the file system. (it took me about a week of working on it) Could have wiped the entire hard drive clean and did a reinstall a lot faster, but didn't relish the thought of reinstalling all the programs back on that machine.

In any event, I'm thankful I found this forum and for Chauffeur2's help.

__________________
alicesmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows update will not run. Last back up failed.
Hello, Please help. I can not run a windows update and the update history is blank. There is constantly an error in the bottom right of the screen that the last back up failed. When I try to run the windows update it says "windows update cannot check for updates, because te service is not...
Tlaptony Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 24 11-18-2012 10:48 PM
down for months
This computer got a virus several months ago. It redirects the browser and doesn't allow me to do a lot of things, so I got frustrated back then and stuck it in the closet. I fired it up this morning, deleted a bunch of programs, and decided to give it another try. Here's the DDS Log: . DDS...
mrcdem Resolved HJT Threads 51 07-05-2012 09:27 AM
Virus has hidden most my programs and files and still wont go
NEED HELP URGENTLY!! Ive had a virus for the last few days that has crashed my computer several times, hidden many of my programs and files, and will not let me run some exe files. For the last few days I've been working nonstop reregistering dlls and other things just to get my computer in good...
ghost305 Resolved HJT Threads 1 01-02-2012 04:28 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD problems.
· Vista · x64 · What was original installed OS on system? None. Custom built. · OEM: Full Retail Version · Age of system (hardware): 3 years · Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? 3 years. Yes. · CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale · Video Card: EVGA GEforce 8800 GT...
ajcc323 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 25 02-24-2011 04:31 AM
error from upgradation to oel 6 from oel5_6
--> Missing Dependency: libiso9660.so.5()(64bit) is needed by package xine-lib-1.1.19-2.el5.rf.x86_64 (installed) java-1.4.2-gcj-compat-devel-1.4.2.0-40jpp.115.i386 from installed has depsolving problems --> Missing Dependency: python(abi) = 2.4 is needed by package...
csayantan Linux Support 1 02-20-2011 09:04 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts