Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Installing Win 7 to an external SSD

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Installing Win 7 to an external SSD within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, hoping you can help me, I keep browsing for an answer to my question but the answers I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2012, 04:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7



Hi all, hoping you can help me, I keep browsing for an answer to my question but the answers I find are only ever close, not spot on.

I recently ordered DELL's new Alienware X51 and it should arrive soon. Basically all I'm really going to use it for is WoW.

I want to have my OS and WoW installed on an SSD to improve their load times and/or performance, I'm not tech minded enough to attempt removing the installed HDD and replacing with an SSD so a better solution is to purchase a usb SSD.

What I'm hoping to find an answer for is, will it be possible for me to move or copy my OS and WoW to this external SSD some months after I've received and been using the system? DELL are unlikely to provide me with the Windows CD's and I'd like to avoid paying for a new copy of Win 7.

If I can somehow copy or move just my OS and WoW to an external SSD will I be able to boot from it and can I leave my personal files and everything else on my HDD?

I just want the system to run only the OS and WoW from the SSD, nothing else.

__________________
Mike. is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 04:38 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,308
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


It is not recommend to have Windows on an external HDD it may not function properly External drives are slowing than internal ones via file write/read speeds.

Best bet would to get a SATA SSD internal drive which would be faster and Windows and any Games would run really well on it.

__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 04:42 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7



Hi,

Thanks for the quick response. There isn't any space in the chassis for 2 drives and even if there was I am not able or prepared to open up and remove / install anything myself.

I've heard good reports from other players that moving the OS and game to an external SSD would improve performance.

I'm looking at the Kingston HyperX Max USB 3.0 SSD. Despite personal opinion can anyone tell me if it's possible to copy/clone/move an OS from the installed HDD to the external USB SSD without needing a hardcopy of the OS?

*EDIT* Keep misstyping HDD instead of SSD. Just to clear it up I want to have my OS and WoW on an external USB SSD.
__________________
Mike. is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 04:49 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,308
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Can I install Windows7 onto an external USB hard drive?
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 05:03 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7



Hmmm... I'd like to know how these people are doing it then. I had really hoped a USB SDD would be my solution, I don't particularly want to make any chages to my PC's hardware...

Thanks anyway.
__________________
Mike. is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 05:19 PM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,308
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


You can clone your HDD then copy the clone to a SATA SSD internal drive using an SATA to USB adapter like this one then install the SATA SSD drive in your computer. Or do the same by taking out the SSD drive out of the enclosure (External Drive) do the same as I mentioned above.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:32 PM   #7
Moderator - Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,348
OS: XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1



While installing Windows to an external drive is sometimes possible it is very much not recommended. There are a number of technical issues with this. It is more a stunt than a practical solution.

You can install applications to an external drive but you can not transfer an existing installed application.
__________________
LMiller7 is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 11:26 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7



Good morning,

Thanks for the advice people. I don't know if I mentioned but I'm not tech savvy enough to want to install anything within my system. Installing an internal drive is simply out of the question.

So if the definitive answer to the question I asked is that I cannot move or install an operating system to an external SSD then I guess this is case closed :(

__________________
Mike. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When I try to play videos in WMP I get Error code: 0x8876086A?
I don't know what the issue is but hopefully one of you can help me solve this, hopefully it's something simple? I record a lot of video of my son using my camera on my phone and also on my camera using it's recording feature. Every time I try to play the videos in Windows Media Player...
bal1985 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 11 03-28-2012 03:19 AM
Need to make SATA HDD as 'slave'
Now I know I'm going to get a deluge of "SATA doesn't have Master/Slave configuration" so let me explain what I'm trying to do here. My PC (running Win XP) had a Seagate sata hard drive which failed, but not a total failure. The Seagate diagnostics informed that there were 4 bad sectors on...
ziden Hard Drive Support 9 03-27-2012 02:04 PM
Installing onto a SSD; do I need to format it in a special way?
I've read somewhere that previous versions of windows format the disk in a way so that i/o is more efficient with mechanical hard drives. I'm wondering, if I'm going to be installing 7 onto a SSD, if I need to use any third party tools to format the partition properly, or the windows PE does...
wkw427 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 03-24-2012 04:15 PM
isa server fails to load network cards
i use a win server 2003 ent edition with isa server 2006 but last day we had elecric probl and the server was off for a while but now when we start the server it takes too much to login and the applying ... takes too much and when it loads the user profile it takes 5 nins to load network cards (2)...
dalwnt Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server 1 03-24-2012 03:49 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts