Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] IE, Firefox and Chrome not opening and no error messages!

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] IE, Firefox and Chrome not opening and no error messages! within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, This happened an hour ago. I was just browsing on Chrome then suddenly the window just crashed. When i


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2013, 04:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7 starter pack



Hello,

This happened an hour ago. I was just browsing on Chrome then suddenly the window just crashed. When i tried opening it again, it just wont. :( Also tried FF but it also wont open. I restarted my laptop but it still wont work! I use wifi btw and my firewall is disabled.

Help!

Also my laptop is a bit old and IE doesn't work. It never did and it didnt bother much since i have FF and Chrome. Im using my phone now to post this.

Thanks and hope someone can help me.

__________________
donnamrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 08:51 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi and welcome to TSF you could try resetting back to default but save any bookmarks etc you wish to keep Reset your browser - Restore your browser to default settings
Reset Firefox
why is your firewall disabled it should be turned on as should any anti virus or malware programs.

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 09:13 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Have you tried Windows Diagnostic to see what that says by right clicking on the WiFi icon in the system tray and selecting Troubleshoot problems ?

While you say that IE doesn't work - which version is it as you say the laptop is a bit old and do you keep Windows Updates up to date ?

Check to see if IE will open without add-ons - Start - All Programs - Accessories - System Tools - Internet Explorer (No Add-ons)

If it opens in that mode after you've run the Troubleshooter, then click on the Home Page icon to see if you can then browse or if it will open normally.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 09:49 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7 starter pack



thanks joeten and Tomken15 for the reply.

@joe - i can't open firefox so i cant reset.. i also tried the command firefox.exe -safe-mode and nothing happens. :( with the firewall, im not sure why it;s not on. my cousin told me not to bother with it so i didn't.

@Tomken15 - Diagnostics says i can access some websites. with IE, it just stopped working long before and i preferred to use ff or chrome more. every time i open IE it just crashes and a pop up message says windows has stopped working and it closes.


i was finally able to open chrome but not through shortcut. i had to open it from the file loc and opened old_chrome.exe
i tried uninstalling firefox and installed again.. but still nothing happens..

im not a really techie person so please bare with me..

thanks!
__________________
donnamrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 09:58 AM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi please check some of your other applications\programs and see if they are working ok
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 10:03 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Problems with other browsers can sometimes be linked a buggy IE as they use IE's platform and if we can get that working then perhaps that may fix others.

Were you able to open IE without add-ons to browse as described ?
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 10:05 AM   #7
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



I would also run this TFC - Temp File Cleaner by OldTimer - Geeks to Go Forums
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 10:35 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7 starter pack



@joeten - i dont have that much applications but a few games for the kids that dont require internet connectivity and my browsers. I've done the TFC just now, still nothing happened.

@Tomken15 - IE still not opening and now, no pop up message like firefox. no matter how many time i try opening them nothing happens..

thanks!
__________________
donnamrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 10:40 AM   #9
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi ok for ie try this Repair or reinstall Internet Explorer in Windows
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 10:55 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



With your firewall disabled you could really do with downloading AdwCleaner to check/remove any unwanted programs or an anti-malware scan with the free version of MBAM - which you could copy across from another computer if you can get access to one - friends, relatives or library ?

Also resetting IE to defaults can sometimes resolve IE problems.

You can do this via Control Panel - All Control Panel Items and click on Internet options and under the Advanced tab click on Reset and check all boxes.

If you use a specific Home Page then you would need to reinstate it under the General tab.

As IE is part of Windows and should something else be amiss then open a Command Prompt as an administrator by Start - type cmd.exe then right click on cmd to select Run as an administrator - Yes - then type and Enter sfc /scannow

This is a system file check and will attempt to repair any corrupt files - takes ~15mins or so and will give its report on completion.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 11:06 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7 starter pack



since there was no error messages displayed, i checked Event viewer and when i tried :
opening ff i got this:

Faulting application name: firefox.exe, version: 24.0.0.5001, time stamp: 0x522fd29f
Faulting module name: MSHTML.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4ee81830
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00a60541
Faulting process id: 0xf24
Faulting application start time: 0x01ced3ffb4210ada
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\MSHTML.dll
Report Id: f1e3c5c6-3ff2-11e3-9164-001eec76667e

hope this helps
__________________
donnamrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 12:20 PM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi having had a look through google for your info on the faulting module I think you might be safer having this checked out by security follow the instructions here NEW INSTRUCTIONS - Read This Before Posting For Malware Removal Help - Tech Support Forum
do whatever you can and take note of the things you can't do then post all your info here in a a new thread Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help - Tech Support Forum better to be certain you have not picked up any nasties
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 01:27 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7 starter pack



FF and chrome now working! bunch of PUP was found when scanned... i used AdwCleaner, MBAM and HitmanPro. Also firewall is turned on. :)

but i'm still not having any success with IE.. now im getting the same pop-up saying IE stopped working like before. i've tried everything that you've said but nothing worked.. but im still glad i got ff and chrome back!

thanks for all your help! im loving TSF more!

xoxo
__________________
donnamrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 01:32 PM   #14
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi you still have not come back to us with which version of ie you have and have you tried to update it at all.
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 01:51 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7 starter pack



i have IE 9 and cant update to IE 10 since it's incompatible to my OS.
__________________
donnamrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 01:57 PM   #16
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Ok have you tried uninstalling the update and let it roll back to ie 8 then try reinstalling ie 9
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 08:40 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7 starter pack



I'm doing windows update at the moment.. and it's taking too loooong!

I'll let you know what happened after it's done. Btw, the shortcut icon for IE disappeared and I can't seem to put it back on my desktop? I tried search but it cant seem to find it either.
__________________
donnamrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 09:41 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7 starter pack



Hello again!

After updates and restarted my computer, IE didn't open yet. I've done as you said to uninstall IE 9 to 8 then reinstalling ver. 9 again and it worked! Thank you all so much for your help! A lot of things I learned (again and totally ignored it before)

*Enable firewall
*Update Windows always
*Installed AntiMalware
*Not be a lazy a** and ignore everything :)

I really really appreciate all your help and thank you again!

xoxo
__________________
donnamrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:35 AM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Glad to hear that you have it all working again and perhaps you should consider installing one of the free AV programs.

There are other surveys that a Google will come with, but here is one you can browse though to see if any take your fancy Best Free Antivirus Software
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 06:10 AM   #20
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Glad to hear it do install an anti virus

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts