Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] HP pavillion error code BIOHD-4 ,won't boot

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] HP pavillion error code BIOHD-4 ,won't boot within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi I own an HP pavillion running windows 7 and processor is an AMD Phenom 2. The PC crashed today


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2011, 10:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta-GA
Posts: 81
OS: 7


Evil

Hi

I own an HP pavillion running windows 7 and processor is an AMD Phenom 2.
The PC crashed today as I was browsing the web, it won't boot past the boot screen to access safe mode or whatever else.
I get a black screen with a cursor flashing rapidly in the top left corner.
I believe the HD might have crashed, I ran the diagnostic tool and it told me:

Testing: Boot path failed
Error code: BIOHD-4
Error:Unitialized/Corrupt boot structure detected.

I googled error BIOHD-4 and found that the drive might not be dead after all, some people seem to have recovered from this error.
I did try all options from the boot screen to no avail, F8,F9,F10,F11 so on.
What shall I do next?
I have to admit I was browsing unsafe websites when the problem occured, could a virus be doing it? There was no warning, it just happened.

Thanks a lot

Patrick

__________________
vaindioux is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 11:51 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hyperborea, USA
Posts: 175
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, Currently awaiting Ubuntu 12.04

My System


Well, if you have the repair disk (If you have another PC handy, you can make one off of that) then you can recreate your MBR and whole boot deal.

Just pop the Repair CD in and boot from it. Then open the command prompt and type in:

Bootrec /fixboor
Bootrec /fixmbr

See if you still can't boot. Report back and tell us what happens. Good luck.

__________________
ENCOM OS-12 is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 06:00 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta-GA
Posts: 81
OS: 7



I appreciate the help. I managed to get a recovery CD done with my second computer from the HP site, how do I do a repair CD as you mentionned?
I tried my recovery CD and it works but I didn't allow it to proceed as it will erase all my programs,I will use it if all fails.

Thanks

Patrick
__________________
vaindioux is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 07:01 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hyperborea, USA
Posts: 175
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, Currently awaiting Ubuntu 12.04

My System


Not a recovery CD a REPAIR CD. It's cool, pretty much everyone confuses them.

Just open the start menu and do a search for System repair disk. Once you get one made, boot from it and enter the commands I typed up above.
__________________
ENCOM OS-12 is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 05:46 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta-GA
Posts: 81
OS: 7



Encom

You fixed it, WOW I am so thrilled. I am backing everything that I had not saved in the last 2 weeks in a hurry.
What shall I do next? What kind of test shall I run to see if the HD is in the process of dying?

You made me real happy here.

Thanks so much

Patrick
__________________
vaindioux is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 08:04 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



d/load and run the h/drive makers diagnostic utility on the h/drive

Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools and Utilities (Storage) - TACKtech Corp.
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 01:09 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hyperborea, USA
Posts: 175
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, Currently awaiting Ubuntu 12.04

My System


I'm glad I could help! If it's an HP there are options on the BIOS to run tests on your harddrive and things like that. Most HPs have the option in their BIOS or as an option in the boot menu. You usually have to hit a function key to access the boot menu.

Good luck!

Sorry, dai, but what you said might be confusing to some people. I recommend only using tech savvy words with people a bit more experienced with tech.
__________________
ENCOM OS-12 is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 02:47 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta-GA
Posts: 81
OS: 7



Thanks again for getting me out of this mess

Patrick

__________________
vaindioux is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Pavillion DV9000 won't boot up
Hi, I have an HP pavillion DV9000(dv9008nr) Entertainment Notebook PC. Recently I was having problems with it not wanting to boot up, but after shutting it down completely and giving it time to rest, it would finally boot up. But now as of yesterday I had had it shut down (since I wasn't home)...
eberger1981 Laptop Support 11 06-11-2011 02:50 PM
Windows XP Boot Problem
Ok so this happened today in the morning. I got up and went downstairs to check on the torrent I was downloading for GTA SA to play multiplayer on, then when I clicked on my computer to see how much GB I had left, the whole computer just went super slow, the my computer window popped up and the...
DioWolf Windows XP Support 3 06-05-2011 05:00 PM
Failed attempt to set up dual boot - BIOS issue?
Hi. As I say in the title, I was attempting to install dual boot on my laptop (Meego & XP) but unfortunately, I seem to have done something wrong. If you could help me solve this issue, it would be greatly appreciated :) Allow me to explain, as best I understand it, what I have done and what the...
Lucas Tiridath Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 05-26-2011 09:58 PM
Win7 iso gets code 5 error (will not boot)
I want to install win7 from DVD, but my motherboard (MSI) gives "cannot boot from CD, code 5" error (I gathered from some other posts that certain MBs (MSI included) have problems reading the boot record from CD or DVD. So here is a work-around that I tried: Boot to C: drive with existing XP (on...
Jimro Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 03-21-2011 06:19 AM
Very odd issue concerning dual boot, mbr and swapped drives.
This is kind of convoluted and I'm at a loss for what to do. Short summary: I have 3 drives, let's call them A:, B: and C: My laptop has 2 hard drive bays, I used to have A: installed plus another drive for random storage. Windows 7 was installed on A:. I swapped out the random storage...
sqbsbear Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 01-05-2011 12:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts