Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] How to delete files that are open in another program?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] How to delete files that are open in another program? within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. There is an .iso file that is on my desktop that I have been trying to delete for weeks now.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2009, 12:05 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Vista



There is an .iso file that is on my desktop that I have been trying to delete for weeks now. Every time that I try, it says that I am unable to because it is already open in another program.

I have tried everything that I can think of.
Tried to delete in Safe Mode. Using the Command Prompt. Ending explorer.exe and then using the Command Prompt. The above in Safe Mode. Nothing works.

I don't know what program is using this file either, and nothing show up in either the applications or the processes tabs of task manager.

Any help on this would be appreciated. Thanks

__________________
akafish77 is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 12:26 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Banja Luka, Serb Republic
Posts: 4,608
OS: xp pro sp3, 7 Ultimate 64-bit, Server 2003, Server 2008, VMware vCenter Server

My System

Send a message via MSN to vladimirb Send a message via Yahoo to vladimirb Send a message via Skype™ to vladimirb

Hello and welcome to TSF...
I do not think you can erase file that are already in use in Windows operating systems...
That .iso file, is it mounted in virtual drive or in PowerIso, Alcohol, Deamon etc...

__________________
vladimirb is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 12:34 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Vista



Hahaha, Wow. Now I feel like an idiot. I forgot that I had it mounted. Problem solved.

On another note, what do you think of Windows 7?
__________________
akafish77 is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 01:17 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Banja Luka, Serb Republic
Posts: 4,608
OS: xp pro sp3, 7 Ultimate 64-bit, Server 2003, Server 2008, VMware vCenter Server

My System

Send a message via MSN to vladimirb Send a message via Yahoo to vladimirb Send a message via Skype™ to vladimirb

It happens mate... =)
I am glad you have solved your problem...
Seven is very nice I must admit... I am still using XP SP3, but at work I am playing with Seven and must say it is way to much better than Vista...
No problems at all so far...

Edit:
By the way, you can find a few threads about Widows 7 on this forum...
__________________
vladimirb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts