Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] how can I totally get rid of cold turkey

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] how can I totally get rid of cold turkey within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I installed the program cold turkey (link to website: Cold Turkey: The Free Productivity Program ) It helped my block


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2012, 02:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7 starter



I installed the program cold turkey (link to website: Cold Turkey: The Free Productivity Program )
It helped my block certain websites while I studied but I set for the entire weekend and that sucks because I still want to go on those websites. Cold Turkey is not as simple as just uninstalling it, if you read the FAQ's, it states that when you try to uninstall it, it adds like 5 days to your block time. Unfortunately it did add time so I followed the instructions on this website: Block Distracting Websites with Cold TurkeyThe Blog of Pixel Insert : Android, CentOS, cPanel, Mac, WordPress, Code Snippet
but it didn't work I really just want this over with and off my computer, I posted another question like this but it got shut down because of some thing about passwords. I did get facebook to become unbanned but all the other websites are, the only trace of this program is in the system 32 file, which, sucks. I really need help guys, any suggestions? I know like nothing about computers so I have no clue what anything really is.
__________________
confusedblonde is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2012, 02:39 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


Try Revo's uninstaller. It is a brute force program uninstaller.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 07:00 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7 starter



it's not an icon or anything, the only place I see any trace of it is when I go into system 32
__________________
confusedblonde is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 07:06 PM   #4
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 52,798
OS: XP, Win 7



Did you try Revo?
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 07:11 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 33,200
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Try going down to Post #30 here
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 07:22 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7 starter



old rich, yes I did try revo but it's not showing up :( not quite sure what to do right about now
__________________
confusedblonde is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 07:26 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 33,200
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Try going down to Post #30 here
did you try going to the link in the quote and going down to Post #30 on that page and try that?
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 07:58 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7 starter



yes I did, the system 32 thing is where I run into a hitch, they say I need to ask for admin permisson in order to save in system 32, I'm the ONLY user on MY laptop...everything says I'M the admin, so I don't understand the problem
__________________
confusedblonde is offline  
Old 01-16-2012, 08:42 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 33,200
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Quote:
The removal
Kill cold turkey and its associated processes
+ Go to start -> run -> type 'msconfig' without the quotation marks and hit enter, or just start -> type 'msconfig' -> press enter if you have Vista/7
+ In the startup tab, uncheck the cold turkey checkbox
+ In the services tab, check the 'hide all microsoft services' checkbox
+ Still in the services tab, uncheck 'KCTRP'
+ Click apply and restart your machine
This will now allow you access to your hosts file that's doing the blocking.
Remove blocking
+ Navigate to your hosts file. It'll be in c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\ hosts
+ Right click the hosts file and select properties. Make sure 'read only' is not checked. If it is checked, uncheck it and click apply.
+ Double click and open with text document, wordpad or whatever (if it says you're not allowed, you forgot something in the removal steps above)
+ Scroll down past all the lines that have hashes in them. You'll see something like this depending on which sites you blocked.

#### Cold Turkey Entries ####
0.0.0.0 addictinggames.com
0.0.0.0 www.addictinggames.com
0.0.0.0 collegehumor.com
0.0.0.0 www.collegehumor.com
+ Delete from the title downwards inclusive so you have no more 0.0.0.0's or URL's listed. Your file will probably be blank now aside from anything starting with hashes.
+ Save and close the hosts file, being sure you overwrote/replaced/saved the changes to your old one and didn't save it as something like 'hosts.txt'.
Done.
Finally, just remove cold turkey using add/remove programs as you'd normally uninstall something. It removes itself now its services are dead.
What part of this are you not understanding? Let us know so we can walk you through it.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-16-2012, 10:27 PM   #10
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6,535
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, the host file is hidden by default you need to open folder options and put a check in "show hidden files and folders" now when you attempt to modify the file ( making sure the read only attribute is unchecked) windows WRP will kick in with UAC SO you need to go to start , all programs, accessories and right click on Notepad select "properties" then under properties select "advanced" and put a check in "run as administrator". Try your modifications now.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 02:54 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7 starter



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, the host file is hidden by default you need to open folder options and put a check in "show hidden files and folders" now when you attempt to modify the file ( making sure the read only attribute is unchecked) windows WRP will kick in with UAC SO you need to go to start , all programs, accessories and right click on Notepad select "properties" then under properties select "advanced" and put a check in "run as administrator". Try your modifications now.
thank you! it all worked!
__________________
confusedblonde is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 03:17 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
OS: 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, the host file is hidden by default you need to open folder options and put a check in "show hidden files and folders" now when you attempt to modify the file ( making sure the read only attribute is unchecked) windows WRP will kick in with UAC SO you need to go to start , all programs, accessories and right click on Notepad select "properties" then under properties select "advanced" and put a check in "run as administrator". Try your modifications now.
I'm running into the same problem and I followed this but it is still not allowing me to save. I've done everything but it really just won't allow me to save... Can you help me please?
__________________
cherryrouge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cold Turkey 0.9 not loading
Hi I got two computers with Cold Turkey 0.9. My laptop which is windows 8.1 has cold turkey running fine, no problems at all. My work computer, also win 8.1, is another story. I installed cold turkey and it seems to run fine however, all sites remain unblocked. I thought the antivirus could...
internetcoldtur BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 16 02-12-2016 02:11 AM
How do i uninstall cold turkey from windows 8?
I decided to install something called cold turkey but for some reason it wont go away when im done with it. ive tried alot of things (like uninstalling it) but it just wont go away. ive had it for a month now and im stuck. plz help :sad:
Joeyun Web Serving and Management 2 10-09-2014 06:22 AM
Need to uninstall Cold Turkey fully
Hi all. I installed Cold Turkey, then uninstalled it a few months later. Now, I want to install it again but when I go to do that the program says "Sorry, you can not install Cold Turkey while you are being blocked by an older version. If no older version is installed, Cold Turkey might be...
ngtoronto General Computer Security 3 12-29-2013 09:22 AM
stuck with cold turkey with the line close all instances to remove
I wanna delete cold turkey and have download revo but it keeps telling me to close ALL INSTANCES help meeee pleasseee :sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad:
mandalyyyy Sound Cards 2 04-02-2013 09:32 AM
[SOLVED] How to get rid of an extra tier of folders?
My OS is Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit. My external hard drives were getting full, so I added a new one. The previous 2 were 1 TB and 2 TB, and the new one is 3 TB. Because of how I organize my files, it was expedient to move the files on the 1 TB to the 2 TB, and then move the files on...
cashcqshel Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 11-30-2011 01:30 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com