Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Help, the internet on my acer laptop is slow after system restore

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Help, the internet on my acer laptop is slow after system restore within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The internet on my Acer laptop is so slow after a system restore, it takes 25 minutes to download a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2012, 02:45 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
OS: windows seven



The internet on my Acer laptop is so slow after a system restore, it takes 25 minutes to download a 17 MB file on a 5 mbps internet connection.

The reason why I had to restore my laptop, is due to me deleting some registry keys.
Why I delete the keys in the first place (made everything open in notepad), is due to me trying to delete zone alarm toolbar (nightmare)
I also download some other programs which include lastpass,truecrypt,file shredder, novastor backup, threatfire, zone alarm firewall, bufferzone.

other important notes.

if you need me to run any tests on computer just ask me and I will run the test.
My laptop is a aspire 5750G
I have already used cclener, smart pc care, slimcleaner.
it's not a virus
I get error messages such as sever hang up and can not display webpage
I am using Google chrome as my browser




So How can I fix the speed of my internet?

__________________
Sleparter is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 11:12 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 51,037
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi and welcome to TSF please try running sfc /scannow http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...e-checker.html

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 03:30 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
OS: windows seven



I just ran the command sfc /scannow, this resulted in the following text
"Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations"

Is there anything else I could try on my computer?
__________________
Sleparter is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 10:14 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 51,037
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Ok that is good but please do not run anymore reg cleaners or optimisers next try chkdsk How to use CHKDSK (Check Disk) - Windows 7
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 11:08 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7



How much"junk" do you have on your laptop?

Meaning, how closeis you hard drive to being full? Do somehouse cleaning by deleting unwanted documents and archive those you want tokeep but no longer reference. I would avoidhaving too many utilities on my computer. Also, are you running any sharing programs like BitTorrent?

If your laptop is intended for productivity -remove these types of programs along with games. These will certainly slow your browsingexperience.
__________________
LeoJBI is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 11:10 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 51,037
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Good advice
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 12:47 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
OS: windows seven



Thanks for the advice so fair.
anyway
I Just did a fresh install of windows seven, but the acer is still slow any ideas?
__________________
Sleparter is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 01:44 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,131
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


If it is just the Internet we are talking about, go to speedtest.net and test your internet speed. If it is too slow, talk to your ISP and have them test your lines.
If your Whole computer is slow (opening programs or files etc) Download the ISO image for Drive Fitness in my signature and burn the image to CD using IMGBurn also in my signature. Boot off of the newly created CD and run the short and extended tests on the HDD.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 01-10-2012, 02:35 AM   #9
Tech Hardware Team
Game Team Tech
 
tyza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,306
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium X32 X64 Windows 8 X32 X64

My System


is this your current specs ?
Quote:
Notebook specifications

Acer Aspire 5750G-2634G64

:: Processor
Intel Core i7 2630QM 2 GHz
:: Mainboard
Intel ID0104
:: Memory
4096 MB, DDR3
:: Graphics adapter
NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M - 2048 MB, Core: 672 MHz, Memory: 800 MHz, DDR3, 266.58
:: Display
15.6 inch 16:9, 1366x768 pixel, LGD0250, WXGA glare type LED TFT, glossy: yes
:: Harddisk
Toshiba MK6465GSX, 640GB 5400rpm 5400rpm 640GB
:: Soundcard
HD Audio
:: Connections
2 USB 2.0, 1 USB 3.0, 1 VGA, 1 HDMI, 1 Kensington Lock, Audio Connections: Headphone, microphone, Card Reader: 5in1 (Secure Digital, MultiMediaCard, Memory Stick, Memory Stick PRO, xD-Picture Card) ,
:: Networking
Broadcom NetLink Gigabit Ethernet (10/100/1000MBit), Atheros AR5B97 Wireless Network Adapter (bgn), 3.0 HS Bluetooth
:: Optical drive
Slimtype DVD A DS8A5SH
:: Size
height x width x depth (in mm): 34 x 381 x 253
:: Weight
2.54 kg Power Supply: 0.56 kg
:: Battery
45.36 Wh Lithium-Ion, 10.8V 4.2Ah
:: Price
799 Euro
:: Operating System
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64 Bit
:: Additional features
Webcam: Acer Crystal Eye HD Webcam, 24 Months Warranty,
__________________
tyza is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 06:41 AM   #10
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 51,037
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Drive fitness would have been my next step
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 09:58 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7



According to yourspecs. - you have a Gigabit LAN and a wireless B/G/N card. Hence, if you are certain that these cards are working properly? You can run a simple test by checking how fast they access your network.

Have you attempted to logon to another network to determine your speed?

If you still experience the same issue after using a friend or neighbor's connection - than it is hardware. However, if you have quick access at your buddies...then check into your Internet connection.
__________________
LeoJBI is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 04:13 AM   #12
Tech Hardware Team
Game Team Tech
 
tyza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,306
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium X32 X64 Windows 8 X32 X64

My System


You need to list out everything that you felt is slower than before formatting your laptop.
__________________
tyza is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 08:32 AM   #13
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 51,037
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



I think we might need to let the op come back to us before we post anymore folks
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 04:07 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
OS: windows seven



I am sorry for my late response (My University offers came out this week).

Anyway thanks you for your help, but in the end my friend has fixed my computer/laptop issues it turned out to be a Ip address conflict problem.
__________________
Sleparter is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 06:19 AM   #15
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 51,037
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi ok glad you have it sorted thanks for letting us know
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 12:35 AM   #16
Tech Hardware Team
Game Team Tech
 
tyza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,306
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium X32 X64 Windows 8 X32 X64

My System


please mark the thread as solved if the problem does not come back.

__________________

tyza is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another BSOD problem
· OS - Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 · x64 · What was original installed OS on system? None - new build · Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? OEM (bought and installed by me) · Age of system (hardware) ~6 months · Age...
tsdadam BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 08-22-2011 11:12 PM
Sound distortions and bad sound quality, but only ingame
Hello, In five out of ten games I play I get crackling sound distortions and overall bad quality. The weird thing is that this does not happen in all games, and never in video's or MP3 playback. I have installed all the drivers from your website, installed the latest DirectX and DirectX 9.0c,...
Mastermind- PC Gaming Support 29 08-04-2011 02:12 PM
Blue Screen - EpicSight
I've been having blue screens for a long time now. Ever since I did a lot of hardware upgrades, they have been constant. Also, ontop of the blue screens, my internet will randomly go out. A message pops up while troubleshooting that goes something like "Problems with (something) gateway closed". I...
EpicSight BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 39 07-13-2011 05:08 PM
BSOD like clockwork
Hi there, since Jan 3rd this year I'm experiencing BSOD like clockwork. Roughly 24 hours after the last startup. Now I had installed spotnet, a utility for monitoring usenet posts, and that program installed .NET Frameworks 4. Obviously i deleted both installs, but the problem persists. I tried...
Mario Aandewiel Windows XP Support 34 02-05-2011 10:28 AM
Blue Screen [moved from Vista/7]
I don't know much about the pain in the bum Blue Screen but i have it. I was told to get the info from the Blue screen when it came up. Here it is - 0x00000077 (0xc000009d, 0xc000009d, 0x00000000, 0x289f4000) I just don't know where i got go from here lol. Can anyone help? Please :P
Death Keeper 34 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 02-02-2011 07:44 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts