Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Free File Sync/Windows Error Code 5, access denied

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Free File Sync/Windows Error Code 5, access denied within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, i have two computers, my main desktop and a laptop. For my work i sync my files between the


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2012, 10:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7 64Bit SP1



Hi,
i have two computers, my main desktop and a laptop. For my work i sync my files between the two over my home network using Free File Sync (ffs).

For some reason ffs will sync across from my laptop to my desktop but not from my desktop to laptop. All the sync settings are set to copy both ways, ffs is running as admin and i am the only user of both computers so they are both running as admin.
I have set up homegroup between the two and i can easily copy any file type between both computers both ways. Permissions as far as i can tell are set to allow home groups, admins and all users.
But ffs still will only sync one way from my desktop to my laptop... any ideas? (i am given the: windows error code 5: access denied message whenever i click 'sync')

many thanks

__________________
muffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:18 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
djaburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,735
OS: XP SP3/Vista/7 Server 2K/2K3/2K8 Linux



Are both computers running the same OS?

__________________


From time to time, we have been tempted to believe that society has become too complex to be managed by self-rule, that government by an elite group is superior to government for, by, and of the people. But if no one among us is capable of governing himself, then who among us has the capacity to govern someone else?
-Ronald Reagan, 1981 Inaugural Address-
djaburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:39 PM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,984
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi,this may be caused because the “NT Service\MpsSvc” account does not have adequate permissions on the following registry key:-

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess

To resolve this follow these instructions

1. In Registry Editor, browse to the key HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess

2. Right click SharedAccess, and click Permissions.

3. Click Add.

4. In the “Enter the object names to select” field, type “NT SERVICE\mpssvc”. Then click CheckNames. The name should change to MpsSvc

5. Click OK.

6. Select Full Control in the Allow column.

7. Click OK.

Should take immediately, if not restart. This applies to both Vista and Seven.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:39 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7 64Bit SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by djaburg View Post
Are both computers running the same OS?
yes they are, both updated to Sp1 as well
my laptop spec:
64 bit windows 7 Sp1
Intel i5 M480 2.67Ghz
8Gb ram, DDR3 1333
Intel HD graphics
__________________
muffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:52 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7 64Bit SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi,this may be caused because the “NT Service\MpsSvc” account does not have adequate permissions on the following registry key:-

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess

To resolve this follow these instructions

1. In Registry Editor, browse to the key HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess

2. Right click SharedAccess, and click Permissions.

3. Click Add.

4. In the “Enter the object names to select” field, type “NT SERVICE\mpssvc”. Then click CheckNames. The name should change to MpsSvc

5. Click OK.

6. Select Full Control in the Allow column.

7. Click OK.

Should take immediately, if not restart. This applies to both Vista and Seven.
ran through those instructions, applied to both my desktop and my laptop but to no avail even after a restart.
still comes up with:

Cannot copy file 'E:\Data\Architecture\DESN22073 Interdisciplinary Design Studies (Broadmarsh)\CAD\Artlantis\Electronic information Board.jpg' to '\\<USER>\d\Architecture\DESN22073 Interdisciplinary Design Studies (Broadmarsh)\CAD\Artlantis\Electronic information Board.jpg'.

Windows Error Code 5: Access is denied.

I looked through the ffs support but either there forums diddn't address the same problem as mine or i couldn't understand what they were going on about. I did try a few of their ideas but also to no avail.

ps. i am away for the weekend now but will reply asap on Monday :)

thanks guys
__________________
muffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 10:05 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7 64Bit SP1



Hope you all had a good christmas,
anyone got any ideas on the solution?
__________________
muffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 10:33 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7 64Bit SP1



Found a solution!

after playing around a bit, i looked into the sharing options again and changed this:

right clicked on the drive
clicked on 'share with' and then 'advanced sharing'
clicked on 'advanced sharing' under the Advanced sharing sub heading
'permissions' then selected the 'full control' check box under Permissions for everyone sub heading -setting it to 'allow'.

clicked 'OK'

closed properties dialog and it now works and FreeFile Sync copies everything from my desktop to laptop and vise versa :D

thanks for your suggestions :)
__________________
muffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 04:09 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
OS: Win7 64-bit SP1



I found the cause for my Error Code 5 problems. Somehow, the permissions on sync.ffs_db had changed so that my username had no control without upgrading to administrator status. The way I found it was that the files I had copied from the remote system had the same permissions and I had to use administrator status just to edit them. I got suspicious and started running through all my folders making sure that they were all inheriting permissions properly. Several files and folders were not, including sync.ffs_db. once I reset the permissions to what they should be, I could use FFS without administrator mode.

__________________
WaryGary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD with new vegas
Hi, I usually played this game fine, it BSOD a couple of time during gameplay but they were always isoleted accidents. Now I've re installed it and Every time I go out of the first building it BSOD after the loading screen. I've done a memory check and it came out without errors. Can someone...
Eingya PC Gaming Support 2 11-21-2012 03:31 PM
BSoD in 10 minutes after startup
Have recently bought a new computer and built it from scratch. I've been having problems with blue screen in the first ten minutes after I cold start it but after that the computer usually works without problem until the next day. I have been running memtest a few times and it havn't found any...
Serpentario BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 28 11-14-2012 11:09 AM
Please help me diagnose why my laptop keeps powering off
Hi all! First post here! For a few months now my laptop (Dell Inspiron 6400) keeps doing this on occasion: Screen goes black, Sound goes off, Hard drive light goes off, CD drive light goes ON(?) ....I guess power to the CD drive means the computer isn't fully off, just severely disabled? ...
Sam_ Laptop Support 45 10-16-2012 10:18 AM
Win32/Rootkit.Whistler.A
So i got an old computer with xp as OS. My AntiVirus, Eset NOD32 detected this Virus but couldnt remove it. I cant say i have runningproblems with the virus, ok it freezes some times but no problem. But i read they can steal password an so on, so no god at all. :sad: Ive checked out the NEW...
Vallentino Resolved HJT Threads 31 04-04-2012 01:26 PM
Virus has hidden most my programs and files and still wont go
NEED HELP URGENTLY!! Ive had a virus for the last few days that has crashed my computer several times, hidden many of my programs and files, and will not let me run some exe files. For the last few days I've been working nonstop reregistering dlls and other things just to get my computer in good...
ghost305 Resolved HJT Threads 1 01-02-2012 04:28 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts