Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] error 80072F78

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] error 80072F78 within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Windows Update fails with various new updates to Vista. Seeing this code Error 80072F78 a lot this past week, yet


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2012, 09:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Home premium 2007 SP2



Windows Update fails with various new updates to Vista. Seeing this code Error 80072F78 a lot this past week, yet other updates downloaded at the same time were successful.

__________________
Boz101 is offline  
Old 03-28-2012, 12:38 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,088
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi please see the info here Windows Update error 80072f78, 80090305, or 8009033f
please also confirm which operating system your using your info reads xp pro this is the vista win 7 forum

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-28-2012, 01:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Home premium 2007 SP2



registered info regards other notebook and a different problem with XP and Microsoft poducts. This problem exists with a notebook running Vista Home Premium 2007 SP2. I think I will buy a Macbook next time. I am getting fed up with the problems with Microsoft. It is almost daily and never a quick fix always my time and effort to find solutions. If I bought a Car and had as many many problems as I do with Microsoft, I would Sue.
__________________
Boz101 is offline  
Old 03-28-2012, 01:23 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Home premium 2007 SP2



Also your suggested link takes me to Microsoft Fixit. Done that already and have the MrFixit Centre installed. It does NOT solve many problems at all.
__________________
Boz101 is offline  
Old 03-28-2012, 01:25 PM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,088
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Did you check the other links there in blue also is you internet connection intermittent
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-28-2012, 01:36 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Home premium 2007 SP2



My Internet connection is fine and serves me well for everything BUT Windows Update. I have only begun to have problems this past month or so and it is becoming tedious. I am unfortunately been tied to Microsoft by virtue of the programs I run to do my job.
Honestly, I have a diminishing faith Microsoft products and their Customer Support and Assistance. It irks me off that I have to spend so much time sorting out problems their crap software causes. Its Too easy to blame other sources for their issues. More to the pint - WHY should I have to
__________________
Boz101 is offline  
Old 03-29-2012, 08:34 AM   #7
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,088
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Afraid I don't have much to help here kind of run out of options
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-29-2012, 08:50 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Home premium 2007 SP2



Many thanks for your help joeten. My apologies for allowing my frustration to show itself in the forum. I was just so fed up with the Windows Update problem. I retraced my steps and followed your advice again. It must have been 3rd time lucky as the error issue seems, at least for the moment, to be resolved. I didn`t do anything different either.
Thanks again.
__________________
Boz101 is offline  
Old 03-29-2012, 11:05 AM   #9
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,088
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



LOL you know that happens more often than you would think still I'am glad your sorted you can mark this solved using the thread tools near the top of the page thanks.

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
viewing error?
i run a small blog for my sailing club. i post all of our racing results on the blog and a few bits of what is happening. i use a special program to create the results and then post them. Everything works great. until i view the blog with internet explorer. Every other line in the table is blanked...
geekysailor Internet Explorer Forum 18 04-30-2012 08:33 AM
[SOLVED] Canon IP4300 error
HI Can anyone help. I have a canon IP4300 printer which has been great and had no problems, but it has suddenly stopped working and the orange light is flashing. I downloaded the manual and it says if it is flashing 10 times and then stops and then continues again then it is a paper error. I have...
Sue T Printer Support 17 04-18-2012 02:54 PM
[SOLVED] Code 19 Driver error
I just got an Epson flat bed scanner.I installed the cd like normal but my computer will not recognize it.In the device manager I get a Code 19 error in the driver property's.Anyone know what to do with this? I have reinstalled the driver three times now. I think I may have a problem with the...
John karlsson Windows XP Support 13 03-30-2012 01:28 AM
error on page after accessing yahoo mail
Hi, I had to recover my PC because "system restore" would not work. I have XP and am protected by Norton Symantec, which pops up windows with messages about the level of security risk of everything I try to install and I have to accept or reject the low, medium, or high risk. I reinstalled...
dleesac Internet Explorer Forum 3 03-28-2012 09:41 AM
When I try to play videos in WMP I get Error code: 0x8876086A?
I don't know what the issue is but hopefully one of you can help me solve this, hopefully it's something simple? I record a lot of video of my son using my camera on my phone and also on my camera using it's recording feature. Every time I try to play the videos in Windows Media Player...
bal1985 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 11 03-28-2012 03:19 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts