Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Device Display Object Function Discovery Provider

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Device Display Object Function Discovery Provider within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello...I am running Windows 7 64-Bit. Recently, I was accessing the Devices and Printers menu (from the Start Menu) and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2011, 02:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit



Hello...I am running Windows 7 64-Bit. Recently, I was accessing the Devices and Printers menu (from the Start Menu) and received the following error, which of course, stops me from seeing my printers:

Device Display Object Function Discovery Provider has stopped working.

Does anyone know how to correct this? I tried the "find an online solution option" the error gave me, but that did not do anything.

__________________
ng2dude is offline  
Old 10-30-2011, 06:11 AM   #2
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,204
OS: .



Strange...

Welcome ng2dude.

If this problem has only just started occurring, I suggest you run System Restore and restore to a point before this problem occurred.

__________________
Stephen Bowles is offline  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:47 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit



Thank you. I just tried a system restore to the earliest point available, but the condition still exists. Please let me know if you have any other ideas.
__________________
ng2dude is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 01:49 AM   #4
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,204
OS: .



A few things to try:
> - Update all of your drivers (graphics card, audio, printer, everything).

> - Run System File Checker:
- Click on the Start button/globe.
- Type cmd.exe and run as administrator
- Then enter sfc /scannnow

After restarting your system, check to see if the error still occurs.

If it does, I suggest you restart your system into Safe Mode, then see if it occurs.
__________________
Stephen Bowles is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 07:28 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit



Thank You. The issue is fixed. I am just not sure what step fixed it between the driver updates or running the System File Checker. Thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
ng2dude is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 09:17 AM   #6
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,204
OS: .



I am very glad that your problem is solved!

Please could you set the forum as solved using the thread tools at the top of the page.

Thank you.
__________________
Stephen Bowles is offline  
Old 10-10-2012, 06:10 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Win 7



This problem only occurs with a specific user, when I logon I don't have the problem.

__________________
mstrbill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with DirectDraw Acceleration and 3D
Hey guys, I was digging through my old games yesterday and decided id start playing Age of Empires 2 again however I couldn't get the graphics to display properly. I spent a few hours following solutions online and finally got it to work after installing an older version of Directx (9c) I also...
bobby3127 PC Gaming Support 3 10-13-2011 12:33 PM
PC crashes; Have to manually power off
Hi, I am seeking help from you guys. I'm just about to give up and stop playing... So, whenever I play a somehow high ressource demanding game for 1-2 hours, my PC inevitably crashes. What happens is everything freezes and the sound seems to be looping (sometimes can be very loud). Then, I have...
Nyanja BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 09-07-2011 07:54 AM
Game Framerate Usually Low, Sometimes is High.
So, I've had this problem on my laptop for a while now, and have no idea why, and just the other day realized, the laptop itself might not be the problem. Basically, my laptop has pretty decent specs, and should run most games just fine. I'm not sure if it's just Steam games, but TF2 for example...
ShadyElvis PC Gaming Support 6 09-02-2011 03:11 AM
[SOLVED] Fallout 3 CTD
I'm having this issue where I have never been able to make it past the initial loading screen when starting Fallout 3. I am trying to play this from Steam. This screen. Whenever I try to, this screen pops up. Here are the problem details according to Windows: Source Fallout3
mitcjase PC Gaming Support 6 07-07-2011 03:59 AM
possible graphics card problems
basically I'm new here and all but recently my computer has been acting rather stupid and i believe its one of my gpu's. I have no idea how to make heads or tails of dxdiag so i was hoping one of you guys can check it out for me and see if there's any problem. Cheers. ------------------ System...
Scoota Video Card Support 5 01-20-2011 03:38 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts