Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Copy & Paste / Clipboard not working

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Copy & Paste / Clipboard not working within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2012, 10:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Dear all,

I have been trying (unsuccessfully) to troubleshoot this problem for nearly 3 weeks now. Let me begin by first giving the most detailed description of the problem, then highlight the things that I have tried and have learnt about the problem.

Basically, my copy & paste/clipboard function is not working as it once did, to be specific I am unable to paste in anything other than Unitcode Text. Whether this problem is materializing at the copy or paste side is something I am unsure about, regardless, I lose all formats, HTML, rich text, formulas, you name it I cannot paste it in anything other than plain text.

Initially I thought this was a Microsoft Office issue, but I am unsure about this as the copy and paste feature seems to suffer this same issue when copy and pasting from an internet page to Wordpad, neither IE or Wordpad are MS Office products.

I have had some minor success in troubleshooting this problem, or at least discovering some interesting characteristics of it. If, for example, I create a new user account/profile on my PC and open Excel in that new account, the copy and paste feature works as normal and will copy and paste whatever I choose. I thought that was interesting, although Im no expert I guess that means it is a software issue of some sort and not hardware (when I spoke to Microsoft they tried to blame Dell). Furthermore, my IT department managed to troubleshoot successfully to a very small degree by tinkering with the 3 settings in the advanced options section of Excel under Copy and Paste section, although the problem would just suddenly return again within hours.

I have not made any changes to the way I work, this problem just seems to have come out of nowhere. This exact same problem forced me to abandon my previous laptop (an HP laptop that Id been using without issue for over 2 years) last week, but this problem seems to have followed me to my new laptop (a spare and newer laptop that we had lying around the office).

Here is some info about my setup:
  • Dell Latitude E4310 Laptop
  • Intel Core i5 2.53GHz CPU
  • 4GB RAM
  • Windows 7 (32-Bit) Service Pack 1
  • MS Office 2010 Home & Business
  • AVG FREE Anti-Virus
  • Logitech Solar Power K750 wireless keyboard
  • Logitech Wireless Mouse

I am pretty much at the end of my tether and close to doing a full reinstall of Windows 7 .

Thanks,

Phil

__________________
Phil2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 12:12 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Significant Update:

I have finally located the precise cause of this issue. It is the Skype Click to Call plug in. There is something in that application that causes a conflict with the clipboard. I closed all internet browsers and the copy & paste feature worked fine, I then uninstalled Sky Click to Call on Chrome (my primary browser), opened Chrome only and copy & paste fully function. I then opened Firefox (my secondary browser) which still had Skype Click to Call installed and the copy & paste feature failed. I uninstalled it from Firefox, opened Firefox again and copy & paste feature worked, I did exactly the same for Internet Explorer and the same pattern followed. I have no totally removed the plug-in from my PC for all internet browsers and my copy & paste functions is back to normal.

I do not know if there are any other reports of this, I certainly do not have this problem on my home PC but just thought I would make everyone aware.

Skype Click to Call internet plug-in causes a conflict with the clipboard.

__________________
Phil2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 07:42 PM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Hello and welcome to TSF!! I am glad you have narrowed it done and solved the issue. This will indeed help others with the same issue if any. Please mark the thread as solved by using the thread tools above.

__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:35 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



When I saw this thread I was excited as I thought I was maybe minutes away from this annoying issue which has just cropped up on my machine also. Sadly, the fix you mention will not work for me as I do not have the Skype plug-in you refer to installed anywhere on my laptop. I am running:

HP Pavilion DM4
Windows 7 (64 bit)

Has anyone any other ideas for me please? The main problem is that I cannot copy and paste from my regular non-internet software to any software that runs from the internet or to any internet form fields. I have tried tech support with various different manufacturers but keep coming up short. Like you, the issue appeared out of nowhere and appears to have no fix.

HELP!
__________________
flamgat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 10:11 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



Hi flamgat,

I, too, had this problem, and I may have the answer you are looking for. I upgraded my browser to Internet Explorer 9, but did not update my Adobe Flashplayer to the newest version. Once I did this & rebooted, all was fine. Whether or not you have upgraded or switched your internet browser, I suggest you ensure your Adobe Flashplayer version is the most current available for your operating system.

Good Luck!

__________________
time will tell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Microphone input not working
I have a Windows 7 laptop and a 3.5mm jack headset. The laptop comes with a built in mic, like many laptops, but its terrible. awful background noise, horrible quality. so i use my Cyberr acoustics headset. But as of late, its decided to just stop working. It's almost as if There is no headset in...
Rockafeller Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 9 04-18-2012 01:23 AM
Outlook 2007 Not Responding
I use Windows 7 Pro. I am experiencing problems with Outlook 2007 freeezing (not responding). It seems to happen frequently and for no apparent reason. I have recently uninstalled Kaspersky PURE and installed Kaspersky Internet Security 2012. Outlook was working fine until this. I've uninstalled...
tomohawk Microsoft Office support 4 04-06-2012 10:45 AM
cannot connect via ethernet on one device (but not others)
My laptop runs off my ethernet (running to a modem) just fine, however when I plug it into my desktop, it recognizes that there's an ethernet plugged in but it says there is no internet connection available. I am running Windows 7 and I pulled up the command prompt and gathered this info: ...
twillyams Networking Support 3 04-06-2012 10:08 AM
Problem with Iomega 34610 external harddrive - device not recognized
Hello all, I'm new to all this so please bear with me (I'm also not the most tech-savvy person in the world....) Basically, I have an Iomega 34610 external harddrive which, until recently, has been working perfectly well. Recently, when I attach it to my laptop, I get a pop up message saying...
Iwalkalonelyrd Hard Drive Support 1 04-06-2012 05:54 AM
D-Link DWA-131 Wireless adapter not working with XP
Recently I bought a D-link wireless adapter (DWA-131 Wireless N Nano USB) to put into an old Compaq computer I have. The D-link adaptor software loads fine but it doesn't seem to interface with this version of XP. Its clear that the adaptor itself is working because: 1. I have tested it with...
bothwell Windows XP Support 2 04-06-2012 05:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts