Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

[SOLVED] Background Issue.

3K views 37 replies 6 participants last post by  spunk.funk 
#1 ·
Hello.
I'm not sure if this is the right section. If not, I'm sorry.
ANYWAYS, My background isn't looking right. My desktop icons aren't showing, nor is my start menu or task bar showing. The only way I can get around is by using the Task Manager. How would I get my background to function properly?
Hope this is clear..:sigh:

#3 · (Edited by Moderator)
While in the process of following those steps, I noticed that the other user accounts didn't have an desktop icons. Nor did they even have a start button.
By the way, while I can't access the start menu, I also can't turn my computer's volume higher or lower. So, I never actually finished following those steps..

So I noticed that the other user profiles are also "corrupted".
The symptoms include:
-Nothing but a background color as a desktop.
-No task bar or start menu.
-Unable to toggle volume. (COMPUTER's volume)
-Unable to access Task bar and Start menu customization.

Any way to fix this?

#4 ·
Re: Background Issue.

Have you tried starting up in Safe Mode? Reboot the computer and tap F8 whilst it's starting. When the Safe Mode options come up (black screen) select 'Safe Mode', not the 'Safe Mode with Networking'. See if the icons are on the desktop when you do it this way.
Trying to see if a third party application/ program is causing the issue.
Did you notice this had started after downloading something?

#6 ·

Safe mode (without) networking was the one I wanted you to try.
Third party program meaning something that didn't come with your OS, like Norton, McAffee, ImgBurn, Truecrypt etc (programs you download)
You could try going into MSCONFIG and disabling items from the start abd then rebooting to see if that helps?