Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] 7 won't boot after partition resize, drive letters changed (moved from hardw

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] 7 won't boot after partition resize, drive letters changed (moved from hardw within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My specs are: Gateway nv laptop Windows 7 home prem 64 Amd 2.0 ghrtz dual core 3gb ddr2 ram 264mb


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2010, 10:42 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7-64 bit



My specs are:
Gateway nv laptop
Windows 7 home prem 64
Amd 2.0 ghrtz dual core
3gb ddr2 ram
264mb ati graphics
320gb satan HD**

So earlier I made a 30gb fat32 partition from my main hard drive. I wasn't using it much so I decided to erase the 30gb partition and resize my main partition(c) to a bigger size. So with partition wizard I saw that before my c drive and after the re ivory partiions there was about a gig of "unallocated space" so I thought I would use that to make my partition bigger. So with the c drive now taking up the 30 gig partition and the 1 gig of unallocated space, I applied the changes. The computer restarted And partition wizard did it's thing, which took about an hour. All went well until I tried to start the computer: it goes through all the steps untill right before the login screen, where I get a black screen with the mouse, and a popup box saying

*"winvnc error: no password has been set & his machine has been preconfigured to prevent users from setting their own. You must contact a system administrator to configure Winvnc properly"

If I click ok or x the box just stays there. Yes I use a vnc server, but I hadn't changed the settings for it recently. *And I did have a password on it. I have googled the error message and other people have had this problem but not causing the computer not to start. I have a single password pretected user on the computer, and it might be a problem with the computer thinking that user is a limited user.*

Things i have tried:

Booting into safe mode

- gets me jut a black screen with mouse and "thinking mouse" alternating but no popup.*

Running diskchck

-it found some registry errors but it said it fixed them.*

Booting into recovery partition:

-I noticed that the drive letter om my main drive had changed from c to d

-tried to use "check for startup errors" utility: no errors were found

-Used command prompt from recovery console to list disks and I noticed that my recovery partition had changed it's drive letter to c and my main partition was d, so I changed the main back to c and the recovory as b. I rebooted, and still no luck, but now I can't get to recovery console.

Any help will be appreciated, if I forgot to say something, tell me.*
Thanks!*

__________________
Joshpriebe1234 is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 12:35 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
i MaRk i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


Quote:
I noticed that the drive letter om my main drive had changed from c to d
that is most likely the problem

What (i think) happened is that the partitions were setup like the following

*fat32 drive-0 partiton-1 (to windows- D:)
*system partition drive-0 partition-2 (to windows- C:)

Then when FAT32 was deleted system drive became "drive-0 partition-1" so windows thought it was D:


~~~~~~~~~~
So, you are going to need an installation disk or a recovery disk (as long as it has cmd) to solve the problem

__________________
Is your PC running slow?.............MSE_(Microsoft Security Essentials).............Repairing Windows Vista/7 Boot.............BSOD Posting Instructions
This message is composed of 100% recycled sub-atomic particles. No trees were harmed in the posting of this message. However, billions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.
i MaRk i is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 01:29 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7-64 bit



Forgive my inexpierience, but how would I go about fixing that with cmd?
I made a "repair disk" that I think I could use.
So with I would use that diskpart command? I have little to no expierience with using command prompt, and like I said, I already attempted to change it.
__________________
Joshpriebe1234 is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 03:40 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
i MaRk i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


yes, with the diskpart command.

Code:
diskpart
select disk=0
select partition=1
assign letter=c
Note if the last line gives you an error then add a colon ":" after the "C"
__________________
Is your PC running slow?.............MSE_(Microsoft Security Essentials).............Repairing Windows Vista/7 Boot.............BSOD Posting Instructions
This message is composed of 100% recycled sub-atomic particles. No trees were harmed in the posting of this message. However, billions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.
i MaRk i is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 05:10 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7-64 bit



I used the code, and you were right about the volumes being changed, by my system still can't boot up.
It says my volumes are set up like so:

volume 0 f repair disk
volume 1 d system reserved
volume 2 c gateway(main disk)
volume 3 e pqservice

what I think might of happened, is that when I used the diskchck utility the drives were messed up and it tried to fix it. Il try running diskchck again.

Edit: no such luck normally or safe mode
__________________
Joshpriebe1234 is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 05:17 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
i MaRk i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


So, wait, your main disk (to be precise, partition) is labeled as c: and it does not boot?


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Edit: go to diskpart again and type "list volume" please post results as best as posssible
__________________
Is your PC running slow?.............MSE_(Microsoft Security Essentials).............Repairing Windows Vista/7 Boot.............BSOD Posting Instructions
This message is composed of 100% recycled sub-atomic particles. No trees were harmed in the posting of this message. However, billions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.
i MaRk i is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 05:52 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7-64 bit



Yes main partition is c and I used list volume and got this:

volume 0 f repair disk udf DVD-rom 255mb healthy
volume 1 d system reserved ntfs partition 100 mb healthy
*volume 2 c gateway(main disk) ntfs partition 286gb healthy
volume 3 e pqservice ntfs partition 11gb healthy hidden

Hold on I might have just fixed it by marking my main drive as active(e was active before)......nope no luck
__________________
Joshpriebe1234 is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 05:58 PM   #8
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 30,803
OS: Windows 10, 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Boot into recovery with your Windows 7 DVD or using the recovery partition and see if Windows System Restore can help. If no-go, try System Repair.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 06:16 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7-64 bit



Tried repair: no luck
tried system restore: it says it can't find my c drive!?!
__________________
Joshpriebe1234 is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 06:22 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
i MaRk i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


go back to cmd

Code:
cd C:\
DIR
1) Can you access C:\ ?
2) Check if the file "bootmgr" and the folder "Boot" are at the ROOT of C:\

also try "chkdsk"
__________________
Is your PC running slow?.............MSE_(Microsoft Security Essentials).............Repairing Windows Vista/7 Boot.............BSOD Posting Instructions
This message is composed of 100% recycled sub-atomic particles. No trees were harmed in the posting of this message. However, billions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.
i MaRk i is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 06:30 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7-64 bit



1) yes from cmD I can
2) no I didn't find bootmgr but the boot folder is there. I'm guessing this is somewhat of a big problem.
3) tried chkdsk found no errors
__________________
Joshpriebe1234 is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 06:38 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
i MaRk i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


using the "cd" and "dir" command see if you can find it in another drive

then use "xcopy" to move it type "xcopy /?" for help

EDIT: try this command:
Code:
bootrec /fixboot
__________________
Is your PC running slow?.............MSE_(Microsoft Security Essentials).............Repairing Windows Vista/7 Boot.............BSOD Posting Instructions
This message is composed of 100% recycled sub-atomic particles. No trees were harmed in the posting of this message. However, billions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.
i MaRk i is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 07:30 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7-64 bit



I tried the command you gave, but I am really inexpierienced in cmd so if you could get on some sort of chat server and help me out that would be great
my yahoo is joshpriebe1234@yahoo.com
__________________
Joshpriebe1234 is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 07:58 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
i MaRk i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


what happened when you typed in that (bootrec /fixboot) command?

and, forget the xcopy thing
__________________
Is your PC running slow?.............MSE_(Microsoft Security Essentials).............Repairing Windows Vista/7 Boot.............BSOD Posting Instructions
This message is composed of 100% recycled sub-atomic particles. No trees were harmed in the posting of this message. However, billions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.
i MaRk i is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 08:04 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7-64 bit



Gave up.....system restore to factory default......should of made a backup
__________________
Joshpriebe1234 is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 08:09 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
i MaRk i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


wait a minute windows does start, but with an error correct?
__________________
Is your PC running slow?.............MSE_(Microsoft Security Essentials).............Repairing Windows Vista/7 Boot.............BSOD Posting Instructions
This message is composed of 100% recycled sub-atomic particles. No trees were harmed in the posting of this message. However, billions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.
i MaRk i is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 08:20 PM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
i MaRk i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


thanks for posting back, glad you got it sorted.

please go to "thread tools" and mark the thread as solved

..Thanks

__________________
Is your PC running slow?.............MSE_(Microsoft Security Essentials).............Repairing Windows Vista/7 Boot.............BSOD Posting Instructions
This message is composed of 100% recycled sub-atomic particles. No trees were harmed in the posting of this message. However, billions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.
i MaRk i is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts