[SOLVED] 2nd HDD

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] 2nd HDD within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have had some trouble with my computer a year after building it. I received a BSOD indicating PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2012, 04:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



I have had some trouble with my computer a year after building it. I received a BSOD indicating PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA and relates to NTFS.sys. I cannot get passed it. After trying repairs and safe boots, it always sends me back to the blue screen. Its a SATA HDD, 1 TB. I removed and stuck in an old IDE, formatted it to Windows 7, just to see if I could take a look at the original drive as a slave. As soon as I plug the SATA drive in, I can scan for hardware changes and boom, back to the BSOD from above.

After looking up the errors, particularly in regard to my mobo, I think its a junky main board. Even if I have to replace the motherboard is their a way to save the HDD?

Specs:
ASUS M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
AMD Phenom II 965 Black
2x8 Corsair XMS3 DDR3
Radeon 5770
Thermaltake TR2 RX 650W
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

I have run Memtest over and over, switching sticks and slots. And then eventually buying the RAM I have now and doing the whole process over. No memory problems that I can see. The BIOS was updated to the most recent stable version according to ASUS, and every piece of hardware I could find a driver for was also updated. I'm simply out of answers.

I'm writing this through the old 120GB, newly reformatted HDD with no windows or software updates just to so I can use the internet to contact you guys.

Thanks in advance for your help.

__________________
Hezzikiah is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 01:19 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



run


chkdsk /f

Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) Posting Instructions - Windows 7 & Vista - Tech Support Forum

__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 01:28 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,235
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
Your SATA drive probably has some bad sectors in the Paging File area. As dai suggested, go to Start/Search and type CMD Right click the CMD Icon in the Search results and Run As Administrator. In the Command Prompt type chkdsk C: /F or better yet, chkdsk C: /R and press enter. This will probably mark the bad sectors.
You can also download the ISO image for either Seatools, or Drive Fitness in my signature. And burn the image to CD using IMGBurn also in my signature. And boot off of the newly created CD and run the Quick and the Advanced tests on the SATA drive.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 06:41 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Hadn't even considered the HDD seatools. Great idea.

I cannot get past the BSOD to load windows at all on the 1TB drive. Is there a way to run chkdsk without loading the OS in Windows 7?

I will see if I can't burn the iso with my wife's laptop and run that.

Will report back.
__________________
Hezzikiah is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 07:46 AM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,315
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


With your Windows 7 DVD boot with it (DVD-rom with in the boot sequence)

Load from DVD press any Key
press any key to load from dvd

Files will be loaded when that is done

Select your language then select "Repair your Computer"

Windows will attempt to find an installation of Windows when done select other options or next go to command prompt and type in

CHKDSK X: /R
X represents the drive in question normally it is C:

This will take some time be patient let the check disk complete.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 06:10 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,235
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
download the ISO image for either Seatools, or Drive Fitness in my signature. And burn the image to CD using IMGBurn also in my signature. And boot off of the newly created CD and run the Quick and the Advanced tests on the SATA drive.
Try Jacks Suggestion or make a boot disc from the Seatools ISO and boot from that to test the drive.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-11-2012, 05:04 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Ok after selecting Repair Your Computer, there is no installation found. I'm guessing I'm in deeper, uh shall we say stinky stuff, than I thought.
__________________
Hezzikiah is offline  
Old 03-11-2012, 07:39 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check sata is set to be seen as ide in the bios
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 05:28 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
check sata is set to be seen as ide in the bios
Ok I downloaded, burned, and ran both SeaTools and Drive Fitness. I have run the quick and advanced (long) tests with both over the last 2 days. No errors come back. I tried using the Win7 disk, and now after it says "Windows is loading files," I get the same error as up above. Tried several times, same result.

Using Drive Fitness, if I delete the boot sector, will that reset the page file as well?

I cannot get to an elevated prompt to run chkdsk or even fdisk. I now cannot get the Windows 7 disk to repair as it will either not recognize the HDD at all or I get is the BSOD. I have double checked the boot order as well as ensuring the SATA drive is in IDE mode.

Is there no way to check the page file in particular without loading the OS? Delete it or restore it?
__________________
Hezzikiah is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 07:26 PM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



after windows loads the files into ram it reboots and hands over to the hard drive

when it stops there it is usually because it is not seeing the drive

try another data cable on it
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 06:55 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Just wanted to update everyone. After trying all the suggestions here, I ended up replacing the motherboard with a new Asus M5A99X EVO. The harddrive was unreadable but I was able to use an old Windows XP disk to format it. Reloaded Win 7 and have been coasting along since.

I wanted to thank everyone for their help and suggestions. Thanks!
__________________
Hezzikiah is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 08:00 AM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



glad you have it sorted
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 02:01 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,235
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


You're welcome! Please mark this thread solved in the thread tools at the top.

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After New Hdd Install, Computer Does Nothing Without Freezing
Hey all, i need some help! I purchased a 3TB hard drive yesterday and installed it without a hitch. I backed up all my files to it and proceeded to fill it up. I left my computer on overnight downloading a large (64GB) file. This morning i found it was frozen on the windows logon screen, (which...
DTWin7user33 Hard Drive Support 10 03-11-2012 12:32 AM
[SOLVED] Xbox 360 HDD Transfer Error
Hi, I have a Xbox 360 orginal and want to transfer my content from my 20 GB HDD to my empty 60 GB HDD. I bought a transfer cable and pluged in the 60 GB into the back USB port. No screen showed up saying to transfer content. I tried to move my data from the 20 to the 60 but it says I need...
Masterchiefxx17 Console Gaming Support 0 03-08-2012 04:23 PM
Need to migrate OS from HDD to a new SDD
So I just bought myself a shiny new Intel 120GB SSD, but have never transferred an OS to a new disk. In looking for information on the transfer, I see alot of talk about imaging the entire disk. I have a bunch of music, home videos, pictures, etc. on my 2TB HDD that I don't want moved over,...
phoenix11 Hard Drive Support 7 03-08-2012 11:56 AM
Laptop fail to Boot - Possible HDD problem
I own an ASUS A52JR laptop and from yesterday it doesn't boot at all. No ASUS logo on startup, no access to BIOS. Just a black screen. The light indicator for power supply is on. I removed the HDD and then the computer boots correctly (of course it doesn't load windows as the HDD is out). I can see...
asta_thes Laptop Support 2 03-07-2012 11:38 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts