Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Slow maximum frequency on processor

This is a discussion on Slow maximum frequency on processor within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm a complete newbie at tech stuff so please be patient with me and tell me any additional information you

Closed Thread

Old 10-28-2009, 02:40 PM   #1
Registered Member

I'm a complete newbie at tech stuff so please be patient with me and tell me any additional information you need to help me.

I'm using Vista SP1 and I've recently noticed that the maximum frequency in the resource monitor flatlines at 54%. As I'm a bit of a gamer and have spent countless hours tweaking Vista in other respects, this is completely unacceptable to me. To make sure that it wasn't just resource monitor freaking out I installed several other applications including Everest and they tell me that my processor is clocked to about 998 MHZ for both cores. It should be 1828 MHZ, according to Everest. Any time I've tried using Notebook Hardware Control to switch my max processor state to more than 5% it simply says 'Error changing the processor state'.

*I'm using Vista SP1 with a Mobile Dualcore Intel Core2 Duo T5550, 1.83 GHZ.
*My chipset according to Everest is an Intel Crestline-GM GM965
*On booting, the BIOS menu gives me two options: A. Low Frequency, and B. dynamic processing. Choosing Low Frequency makes no difference. I have not found any other options in my BIOS relating to the processor.
*Again, according to Everest, my CPU power is 997.6 MHZ at an FSB of 166.3 MHZ and a multiplier of 6.
*When I go into vista power options, the option that says something like, 'when CPU starts to heat up, A. Turn down the CPU B. Turn up the fan' is no longer there. Also in vista power options, changing the max and min processor frequencies makes no difference, as my maximum frequency stays at 54%.