Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Service Unavailable - DNS failure

This is a discussion on Service Unavailable - DNS failure within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I got this message on my Mozila Firefox 3.5.2: Service Unavailable - DNS failure The server is temporarily unable


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2009, 11:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Xp SP3/ Windows Vista Home Premium SP2



Hi,
I got this message on my Mozila Firefox 3.5.2:
Service Unavailable - DNS failure
The server is temporarily unable to service your request. Please try again later.

Reference #11.4fcd387d.1250058325.XXXXXX

I have had problems with this website: Sydney Morning Herald

Also I have notice that my IE 8


PLS help me I really need to read the news on that website!

Thanks
Knightslay2

__________________
knightslay2 is offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 05:06 AM   #2
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,558
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Hi -

Please run the following -

START | type cmd | RIGHT-click on cmd | select 'run as admin' | paste the following 1 line at a time into the cmd/DOS screen -
Code:

ipconfig /all > "%userprofile%\documents\1.txt" 

copy c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts "%userprofile%\documents\2.txt" 
Code:

start notepad "%userprofile%\documents\1.txt" & start notepad "%userprofile%\documents\2.txt" 
2 notepads will open with the results. Paste them into your reply or attach the text files to your next post.

Do you always get the error message when going to that site? Both FFox & IE 8 - always?

Boot into safemode w/ networking and try FFox and IE 8 there.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.

jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 12:10 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Xp SP3/ Windows Vista Home Premium SP2



I also have the same issue on my Mozilla Firefox then I used my IE8 which was on the the Hotmail and I got the problem assessing that website immediately then I got that message and then I use google and l searched in hotmail and i got to that website

I will try the method you gave me on the weekends when i'm free.

knightslay2
__________________
knightslay2 is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 03:52 AM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,906
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, we had a little trouble with the Herald web servers could you be certain to clear your cookies cache and from 6 pm 13th AEST it should be ok ... sorry for the problem.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts