Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Screen flashes , All hardware resets

This is a discussion on Screen flashes , All hardware resets within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have had this problem for a while now and i have tryed possibly everything i can think of to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2012, 06:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7



I have had this problem for a while now and i have tryed possibly everything i can think of to fix it.

basically what happens is my screen flashes and then comes back randomly when im doing anything , idle playing a game , browsing the web anything . everything resets internet adapter shuts off , graphics card shuts off and the taskbar resets to windows basic and then i wait a couple of minutes and everything comes back on at once . during the time where everything isnt working i can still move my mouse and keyboard as that seems to come back on right away but everything runs incredibly slow. Also random applications keep crashing for no reason , games , mozilla , there is no definitive reason for the crashing.

ALL drivers are update , tried a fresh wipe , done every test imaginable

If there is anyone that can possibly help please do , i will post my specs and be more specific in areas if asked.

__________________
ryangilday is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:13 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Hello welcome to TSF! Can you post the make and model of your machine?

__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:17 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7



right ok heres the rig :

Windows 7 utlimate 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 955 processor quad core 3.2GHz
4 GB ram
geforce 560 GTx graphics card
generic monitor 21 "
generic mouse and keyboard
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO motherboard
use a logitech headset for my sound
custom built machine
__________________
ryangilday is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:20 AM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


We need also the brand and model number of your motherboard please.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:30 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7



just added it :)
__________________
ryangilday is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:33 AM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Ok thank you. Can you tell use where you got the updated drivers from? Did you get them from the Asus website?
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:38 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7



yeah http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_..._PRO/#download , here is the link to where i got the updates for the motherboard
__________________
ryangilday is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:43 AM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Ok boot in safe mode (tapping F8 during your system post splash screen) select safe mode and see if the problems persist.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:47 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7



i will boot up in safe mode and get back to you if this problem persists
__________________
ryangilday is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 08:22 AM   #10
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Ryan, go into Windows Event Viewer - right click on computer, select Manage, then scroll down to Event Viewer. Expand the sub headings and look under System & Application logs for the date and time you had the problem. You will have entries listed for the program that's crashing. I would look towards your video drivers as a first guess.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 08:28 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,106
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


This is not a Windows OS issue here! Your running a 560ti and they like power. What is the make. model and wattage of your power supply?
__________________
http://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 07:37 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7



ok i have free time again , sorry had to work i had to do for college yesterday

To answer your question i have a 750 W power supply however i have to use a moler cable for one of the power leads to the graphics card, i have the make and model in my amazon purchase history so i could get that for you if that would help.

ran it in safe mode there were no problems so i can assume its a faulty driver somewhere

in the event viewer what seems to happen is a system file crashes and everything resets , the system file is usually sysmain.dll
__________________
ryangilday is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 08:11 AM   #13
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Amd might be on the right track here. Safe mode uses less power. Go into bios and look at your voltage readings and temp reading please. If possible your GPU temps.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 08:37 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7



ok

CPU offset voltage 1.416
CPU/NB offset voltage 1.156
CPU VDDA voltage 2.446
DRAM volt 1.680
HT voltage 1.200
NB voltage 1.284
NB 1.8 voltage 1.800
SB voltage 1.100
side memory port voltage 1.600

I was reading up on people who have had simliar problems as mine and they said it could be a memory issue saying my memory could be to fast or the voltage is not right.

currenty CPU temp is 47-49C can go upto 80 C when running games
voltage on my graphics card is 0.88V right now and the temp is 36 C
motherboard is 31 C
__________________
ryangilday is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 08:42 AM   #15
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,106
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


80c is far too hot for the Phenom II's. Using a Molex to Pci-e power adapter further points to a power problem. If your PSU doesn't have a Pci-e connector then it was not designed to run high end, high power comsumption graphics cards.
__________________
http://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 08:52 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7



it has one , but needed the molex for the second one , it only goes to 80 C when it is stressed which is still reasonably tolerable . i had thought that the fact that it only came with one connector that may cause a problem just didnt want to spend £50 on a new PSU if it wasnt entierly neccessary , any recomendations for a PSU that would work?
__________________
ryangilday is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 09:00 AM   #17
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,106
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


That is not a tolerable temperature for the 955. The max rated is 62c and I also have a 955 and my temp under full load for many hours straight never goes past 54c.
Here is a good quality power supply: Newegg.com - XFX Core Edition PRO750W (P1-750S-NLB9) 750W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Compare AMD Processors for Desktops: AMD Phenom
__________________
http://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 09:03 AM   #18
ROG Enthusiast
 
A1tecice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,497
OS: Windows 8 Pro, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, Windows XP SP3, Windows Server 2008

My System


If your not wanting to spend £50 on a new PSU, how much did you pay for the original one you are using now?. could we get a make and model of it.

Please Read our Thread about power supply's you can find it HERE!.
__________________
A1tecice is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 09:05 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7



when i get spare cash i will buy something similar to that PSU then , cannot buy as i live in the UK and can' t buy from newegg

i will monitor my psu temp when running games to see if it goes over 62 , is the cpu going over temperature a cause of my problems as when everything resets and crashes i can just be simply browsing and it happens

i bought my PSU when it was on sale , was £20 and now it is £30 - http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...00_i02_details
__________________
ryangilday is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 09:08 AM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,106
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


Inadequate power will cause the issues you are having! Your power supply with only one Pci-e connector tells me that it's not up to the job of powering everything. The 560 loves power, good clean power!

__________________
http://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Screen
I was watching a video on YouTube and I had to turn off my computer by holding the power button until it shut down and now when I turn on my computer the screen is larger and I cannot see the X or the time and date at the bottom right.
LastKings Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 9 02-29-2012 08:46 PM
Windows 7 Screen Flicker?!
Hi, I Have a HP Pavilion DV4-1430US. I have this annoying screen flicker problem and I'm probably going to have to take it to a Laptop Repair center here. But I'd like some feedback on what my problem might be first. This has been happening for over a year already and it's got progressively worse...
MMhawk607 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 7 02-26-2012 06:53 AM
Need help; blue vertical lines on PC; screen goes blank; had to disable NVidia 6600
Since a week I have a problem with my video driver/monitor. It started while playing the game Pro Evolution Soccer 6. The screen froze (no blue screen of death) and there were blue vertical lines all over the screen. Now, when I start up the PC, it comes up with the regular black screen...
TheseusArmada Video Card Support 5 02-26-2012 02:27 AM
(Different) Computer turned on but no screen
I have repairing the Pentium 4 PC because it can't turned on (due it no longer used in 2 year), when I repair this PC, it was unsuccessfully turned on normally because monitor still blank. Here the specification: - ASRock G Pro (SiS 650) - Intel Pentium 4 2.4 GHz Northwood - 256 MB DDR RAM -...
frenzyvanrafi Motherboards, Bios & CPU 8 02-25-2012 07:37 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts