Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Restore Default Network Settings

This is a discussion on Restore Default Network Settings within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Is there a way to restore Vista back to it's factory network settings without restoring the entire laptop to it's


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2008, 09:04 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
snowman0384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 24
OS: XP



Is there a way to restore Vista back to it's factory network settings without restoring the entire laptop to it's factory settings? Thanks.

__________________
snowman0384 is offline  
Old 08-12-2008, 09:12 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
OS: WinXP



Did you ever get an answer to this?

__________________
mdbrowning is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 07:32 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



Is anyone able to respond to this enquiry please?
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 07:45 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
OS: XP PRO SP3, VISTA ULT SP1



What kind of network settings? Wireless or ethernet? And why do you want to do this Exactly?
__________________
AMIGA500 is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 05:31 PM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6,041
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, I suspect here you are referring to TCP/IP stack the protocol that controls the internet connection.
Click on Start button, all programs accessories and right click on "command prompt" select "run as administrator" At the prompt type:-


Code:
netsh int ip reset  and then press the Enter key.
Restart the computer.
The command will remove all user configured settings on TCP/IP stack. Returning it to original default state. Pertinent registry keys are rewritten those used by the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) stack. This achieves the same result as the removal and the reinstallation of the protocol. The registry keys affected are:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\
and
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\DHCP\Parameters\
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 07:10 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



Amiga500, Jenae,

Thanks for coming back so quickly.

I basically tried setting my vista laptop on to a wireless network at home.

I was setting up, or certainly attempting to, the small home network on an XP computer as I wanted to use the printer that is connected to it, this was from my dell, vista laptop.
I bascially went through the motions of doing so via a usb stick. Inserted once to the XP laptop, once to the Wireless Modem, once in to my vista laptop and back to the XP computer. I didn't get it to work and have decided I don't really need it but just thought it would be good to have.

I feel that because of this certain things are not working as they did and want to re-set all changes to the vista laptop.
The XP computer is fine, I don't need to concern myself with changing that.

Please let me know if you have any dea what I am talking about as I don't, if this is possible and whether or not you feel it even needs re-setting if at all possible.

Thanks,
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 07:13 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, I suspect here you are referring to TCP/IP stack the protocol that controls the internet connection.
Click on Start button, all programs accessories and right click on "command prompt" select "run as administrator" At the prompt type:-
Jenae, Apologies. Re my response above. Is this what you are referring to, were your assumptions correct, should I follow as you instruct above?

Thanks again,
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 03:24 PM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6,041
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, yes this command will reset your TCP/IP stack this is the protocol that controls your Winsock internet& network connection It will revert to default settings just like after a fresh install. Can do no harm.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 08:47 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, yes this command will reset your TCP/IP stack this is the protocol that controls your Winsock internet& network connection It will revert to default settings just like after a fresh install. Can do no harm.
Brilliant. Thanks very much.

__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts