Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Replacing invalid security id with default security id for file #####

This is a discussion on Replacing invalid security id with default security id for file ##### within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm using an Acer Aspire 4820TG, Window 7 Professional. I have absolutely no idea what to do! My laptop was


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-18-2011, 06:01 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
OS: WIndows 7



I'm using an Acer Aspire 4820TG, Window 7 Professional.

I have absolutely no idea what to do!

My laptop was working hours ago then it crashes. So it restarted. Then it asked me to check my disk. Suddenly this "Replacing invalid security id with default security id for file ######" appeared. It's been going on for hours and it's now on 270,00+. Should I continue this? I have no idea on what to do. Are my files will going to be corrupted? or my laptop will be long gone? I hope not. My final exams are still there and I have no backup. I want to reformat but still it can't.

I need help guys, please and thank you

__________________
edward0501 is offline  
Old 11-18-2011, 09:00 AM   #2
Windows Tech Team
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,208
OS: Windows 7 SP1



I have not experienced this myself, but I have heard that it will tear up a Windows XP installation but for Windows 7 you should experience minor-to-no problems.

You still want to backup afterwards as a just-in-case. I'd be more worried about the laptop spontaneously crashing than chkdsk fixing the security ids.

__________________
VirGnarus is offline  
Old 11-18-2011, 06:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
OS: WIndows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by VirGnarus View Post
I have not experienced this myself, but I have heard that it will tear up a Windows XP installation but for Windows 7 you should experience minor-to-no problems.

You still want to backup afterwards as a just-in-case. I'd be more worried about the laptop spontaneously crashing than chkdsk fixing the security ids.
Thanks for the reply

Actually, the chkdsk finished fixing the ids. I think it was over 900,000. I thought it would fix everything up. But no.Because after it restarts, only a black screen appears and the cursor. That's the reason I can't back up my files

I wanted to reformat my pc instead but because of the black screen, I can't do so
__________________
edward0501 is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 01:31 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,249
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
I wanted to reformat my pc instead but because of the black screen, I can't do so
Why can't you Reformat your PC? To do that you would boot off of the Windows 7 DVD and choose Custom install. If you want to Repair your computer, boot off of the W/7DVD and choose Repair Your Computer. It sounds like your HDD had some problems and might be failing. The files are probably all corrupt now. But try repairing first.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 03:31 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
OS: WIndows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Why can't you Reformat your PC? To do that you would boot off of the Windows 7 DVD and choose Custom install. If you want to Repair your computer, boot off of the W/7DVD and choose Repair Your Computer. It sounds like your HDD had some problems and might be failing. The files are probably all corrupt now. But try repairing first.
Thanks for the answer, spunk.

I can't reformat because of the black screen. How to boot the DVD. I'm a bit slow with tech stuff, I'm sorry. Is it that the f12?
__________________
edward0501 is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 08:23 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
OS: WIndows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Why can't you Reformat your PC? To do that you would boot off of the Windows 7 DVD and choose Custom install. If you want to Repair your computer, boot off of the W/7DVD and choose Repair Your Computer. It sounds like your HDD had some problems and might be failing. The files are probably all corrupt now. But try repairing first.
Never mind. I know now how to boot thanks to my friend. My only problem now is my Windows 7 installer. I just want to repair my OS. I don't want to lose my files
__________________
edward0501 is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 12:45 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
OS: Win Xp2



Quote:
Originally Posted by edward0501 View Post
Thanks for the reply

Actually, the chkdsk finished fixing the ids. I think it was over 900,000. I thought it would fix everything up. But no.Because after it restarts, only a black screen appears and the cursor. That's the reason I can't back up my files

I wanted to reformat my pc instead but because of the black screen, I can't do so
For now while in the black screen hit ctrl+alt+del, select view all users, then if explorer.exe is not present, enter it in new task (run).

This happened to an HP desktop I was working on after I did a chkdsk. The PC I was working on was purchased from Best Buy and its their default files that were used to replace the ones deleted. How do I know? When I hit the crtl+alt+del the login username comes up as Best Buy.

The owner did not have a password. Also, the computer is filled with malware and viruses. At this point it will have to be restored to its factory state.

The pc I was working on is a HP Pavillion a1730n

Hope this helps!
__________________
1776blues is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 12:46 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
OS: Win Xp2



Quote:
Originally Posted by edward0501 View Post
Never mind. I know now how to boot thanks to my friend. My only problem now is my Windows 7 installer. I just want to repair my OS. I don't want to lose my files
Sorry, did not see this post.
__________________
1776blues is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 08:00 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
OS: WIndows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by 1776blues View Post
For now while in the black screen hit ctrl+alt+del, select view all users, then if explorer.exe is not present, enter it in new task (run).

This happened to an HP desktop I was working on after I did a chkdsk. The PC I was working on was purchased from Best Buy and its their default files that were used to replace the ones deleted. How do I know? When I hit the crtl+alt+del the login username comes up as Best Buy.

The owner did not have a password. Also, the computer is filled with malware and viruses. At this point it will have to be restored to its factory state.

The pc I was working on is a HP Pavillion a1730n

Hope this helps!
Thanks, blues!

I'll try to do so. Hope it works

__________________
edward0501 is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP Fix
I have got this intruder on my computer. I cannot access the internet or anything else. I was going to do a system restore, but I cannot get to it. I do have another computer with Vista, but I need the XP computer for work. Please help!
mishamisha Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 26 07-14-2011 06:36 PM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 06:01 AM
pc blocked
i installed a program ,winmate,and after that my problems started,if i try to open any application ,i get an error, and if i try to run my browser it crashes,so I can only use it in safe mode.I did a scan with antivir and i found an hidden object and 36 warning,now i get a clean report scan ,but my...
ladymushroom Resolved HJT Threads 25 05-10-2011 10:14 PM
Hijacked netbook? freezing up Acer AspireOne
To whom it may concern: Thanks for taking the time to help me. My Acer netbook worked great for over a year before it recently was overcome with locking up / freezing issues. I've performed many hard reboots lately, which leads me to believe I have a nasty trojan or rootkit issue, but I have...
badbassrandy Windows XP Support 3 04-26-2011 04:44 PM
Random popups and site redirecting virus
Hello, I'm new to the forum and my problem is that I'm being redirected to unwanted sites like Tazinga or Binkx. I'm running Windows XP and my laptop is about 7 years old. Any help would be great! Here are the Hijack specc UNLESS SPECIFICALLY INSTRUCTED, DO NOT POST THIS LOG. IF REQUESTED,...
Hexamus Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 01-11-2011 07:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts