Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

RegCreateKeyEx failed code 5. Access is denied.

This is a discussion on RegCreateKeyEx failed code 5. Access is denied. within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi. I was trying to install Capture One - a photo editor. As I install, I get a message HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Classes\.arw


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2013, 08:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1



Hi. I was trying to install Capture One - a photo editor. As I install, I get a message
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Classes\.arw
RegCreateKeyEx failed code 5
Access is denied.

If I ignore this message I get the same message for .cr2 .crw .dng .erf
I aborted at this point.

If I use regedit, and navigate to this point, using Run as administrator for regedit, if I right-click .arw I get a message
.arw cannot be opened. An error is preventing this key from being opened.
Details: Access is denied.

I can successfully right-click .aps .art .asa etc
but I again get the problem on .cr2 .crw and so on

Just in case this information is useful - I have never been able to get Windows Media Player working successfully, except by regsvr32 jscript.dll
regsvr32 vbscript.dll but WMP fails to work again after rebooting (no error message).

Thanks for any help that you can give me.

Norman

__________________
storming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:35 AM   #2
Microsoft - Windows Tech
 
NoelDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: N Wales
Posts: 1,031
OS: Windows 7 SP1

My System


This sounds like corruption of the hive - you *may* be able to correct some of it, but there's almost inevitably going to be some that you either won't find, or can't fix.
As a result, I think your best option is going to be a repair install.

__________________
Noel Paton
NoelDP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 03:18 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1



Thanks for your reply Noel. I've never done a repair install before. How should I go about it, please and will I lose all of my data on that hard drive?

I do have some Dell DataSafe backup CDs that I created about a month after I bought the PC. Is that a better option? Of course I can't guarantee that the hive wasn't corrupt at that time, bearing in mind the fact that I couldn't get WMP working from the outset.
__________________
storming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 03:52 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1



Noel, from information found after having done a bit of Googling, would upgrading Windows be a good solution? I think I would have to remove SP1 first. I was looking at this article. How to Repair a Corrupt Windows 7 Installation | PCWorld

Thanks for your help.
__________________
storming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:19 AM   #5
Microsoft - Windows Tech
 
NoelDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: N Wales
Posts: 1,031
OS: Windows 7 SP1

My System


IGNORE the PCWorld article - one of the best I know is here....


Follow the instructions in this tutorial - http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/3413-repair-install.html
- and they should help you get through it (it's not as difficult as it looks!)

Always ask questions first if you're unsure - either here, or in sevenforums.

Good luck with it!
__________________
Noel Paton
NoelDP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:25 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1



That was a great recommendation. The repair install worked perfectly, and solved my registry problems. Even WMP works now.

Thanks for all your help Noel.
__________________
storming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:26 AM   #7
Microsoft - Windows Tech
 
NoelDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: N Wales
Posts: 1,031
OS: Windows 7 SP1

My System


You're welcome - glad it worked for you.

Good luck.

__________________
Noel Paton
NoelDP is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Challenge?
Any help with this would be really appreciated! So, -I kept getting directed to the wrong (avast tells me malicious) websites when I clicked a link with Bing or Google, has been happening for a couple weeks, with increased frequency -10 days or so ago, found out it might be this "misdirect...
needhelp1234222 Resolved HJT Threads 22 06-26-2012 09:55 PM
Multiple Blue Screen Errors (VISTA)
I wont post the whole story because it was quite long but here is a link to another help forum I posted on. Vista Multiple Blue Screen Errors - PC Help Forum - Windows Vista Service Pack 2 (x86) - OS came pre-installed on computer - Hardware and OS is about 3-4 years old I believe -AMD...
Npons BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 05-01-2012 12:42 PM
Random/rare STOP0x1E
Been fighting against this one for a while now and couldn't figure out the cause, especially since the crashes come and go and are very rare... anyway, here is the data: · OS - Windows 7 x64 SP1 OEM (MSDNAA version) · Age of system: one and a half years · Age of OS installation: a month ·...
Soukyuu BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 09-26-2011 11:16 AM
Rootkit? Avast thinks so, but doesn't remove it
Windows XP Media Center on HP desktop. Avast! detected a rootkit, so I told it to delete, then schedule a full scan on reboot. The full scan detected it again and wanted me to schedule the full scan again. After doing this three times, I declined the fourth request. I found this web site and...
allank Resolved HJT Threads 21 06-15-2011 07:48 PM
win7, vista refuse to boot
All was fine. So i shut the system down so i could replace the cpu heatsink. Go to start back up, and windows (7) is BSODing on me. Like a bad technician, i have restart enabled *sigh* so I go to boot menu, and select my vista drive. And it just sits at a black screen. So i'm logged in on...
magnethead Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 20 01-11-2011 12:58 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts