Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Reassign Comm Port

This is a discussion on Reassign Comm Port within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have install new USB to Serial device but it is set to comm port 16. I am using


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2009, 05:03 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
OS: vista



Hi,

I have install new USB to Serial device but it is set to comm port 16.
I am using a old program that need access to comm port but it only allow access to comm port 1 to 10.

Currently Vista have used up comm port 1 to 15.
In Device Manager> Ports (Com & LPT), I can only see Com1 and LPT1.

How to find the program or device that is using other comm ports (1 to10) so that I can uninstall/delete it and reassign the comm port to the USB to Serial device?

All help will be much appreciated.

__________________
tiktik is offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 10:13 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,917
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System


Hi,
Welcome to TSF!

Right click the Command Prompt icon and select "Run as Administrator"

Type
"set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1" - without the quotes

then enter

then type

"start devmgmt.msc" without the quotes

In the box that opens, select "Show hidden devices" in the 'view' menu.

Now if you expand the section on COM ports, all the COM ports that have ever
been created will be displayed, the non present ones being in grey. You can
uninstall away anything that you don't want (right click, select uninstall).

To hide again the nonpresent devices

type

"set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=0" - without the quotes

__________________
Lead3 is online now  
Old 08-05-2009, 07:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
OS: vista



Hi Lead3,

Your instruction works fine. :)
Thanks for the advice.
__________________
tiktik is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 08:04 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,917
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System


You are welcome. I'm glad it worked out.
__________________
Lead3 is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts