Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

RE: Microphone won't work with Windows 7 and Sound Blaster (SB) Audigy 2 (FIX)

This is a discussion on RE: Microphone won't work with Windows 7 and Sound Blaster (SB) Audigy 2 (FIX) within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. - Windows 7 SP1, - Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 24-bit, - Creative drivers found at: http://support.creative.com/Products...D=149&prodName = Audigy 2&subCatName=Audigy&CatName=Sound+Blaster&VARSET=prodfaq:PRODFAQ_149,VARSET=CategoryID:1# (Although


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2012, 06:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
xyxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southeastern USA
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, SP1



- Windows 7 SP1,
- Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 24-bit,
- Creative drivers found at:
http://support.creative.com/Products...D=149&prodName=
Audigy 2&subCatName=Audigy&CatName=Sound+Blaster&VARSET=prodfaq:PRODFAQ_149,VARSET=CategoryID:1#

(Although the web address above is wrapped here, it should all be on one line, starting at http://www.support.creative... and ending with ...=CategoryID:1# )

Just select it all and paste into your browser's address box and hit Enter))

Download the driver at the top, namely "Creative Sound Blaster Audigy series driver 2.18.0017" and save it to your Desktop or some other place that you'll be able to find it once it finishes downloading.

Double-click it to start the driver installation and follow all the prompts.

# Start below for instructions to follow when microphone doesn't seem to want to work #

1) Plug mic into black hole on back of sound card.

2) Right-click speaker icon in System Tray.

3) Select "Recording Devices"

4) "Microphone, SB Audigy, Default Device" should be default and on top and should have "level meter" graphic on the right.

5) Click the device named above to select it, then click the "Properties" button.

6) From left to right, the tabs should be:
a) General,
b) Listen,
c) Custom,
d) Levels,
e) Sound Blaster and,
f) Advanced

7) The "Listen" tab is the important one we want for now, but here are the settings for the others, just in case you want to check:

a) General tab - Should have on icon of a microphone at the top left, say "Microphone" in the box to it's right, "Change icon" button under that area, "Controller Information" area,and say "SB Audigy Creative Technology Ltd." .

Below that is the "Jack information" area.

They should all say "Rear Panel 3.5 mm jack" and starting from the top should be blue, green, black, then orange. "Device usage" area should say "Use this device (Enable)"

b) Listen tab - This is the important one and you don't have to read other steps below unless you want to see if yours matches, if you still have problems.

It says at the top "You can listen to..." and should have the "Listen to this device" box checked.

"Playback through this device" should say "Default Playback Device" on the button.

Under Power Management area, select whatever you want (this is for laptop users).

c) Custom tab - Use what you want. I have "Microphone +20dB Boost" checked and "Do Not Monitor" unchecked.

d) Levels tab - Use what you want. I have mine set at "100%".

e) Sound Blaster tab - "Disable Sound Blaster Enhancements" box is unchecked.

"Enhancements Description" area is blank.

You can click the "Settings" button for "EAX Effects", etc. Some of these are interesting to play with, such as the "Amphitheater" or "Opera Hall" sound effects. I don't have any of these features currently in use.

f) Advanced tab - Use what you want here, remembering that the higher the quality setting, the larger the file will be when you save your microphone recording, although sometimes not significantly larger.

Just experiment.

I currently use "2 channel, 16-bit, 48000Hz (DVD Quality)"

In the "Exclusive Mode" area, whether you check or uncheck one or both of the boxes is up to you.

After you experiment with some different multimedia apps, such as Nero11 Platinum (which includes Nero SoundTrax, available from Nero.com for about $110.00 USD) you can decide how this feature works for you.

An alternative is to use the totally free Audacity program (at Audacity: Free Audio Editor and Recorder)
which is a very popular and feature-rich audio recording and editing program.



.

__________________
xyxo is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 11:18 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1



Thanks!!!!
My microphone wasn't working with Windows 7 with an Audigy 2 (Sound Blaster) sound card but I followed your steps and now it's working great!!!
Thanks again!
__________________
FreddyTubis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS questions about scavening and VM servers
Hi all, Lets see if I can explain this so that someone can understand me. Alittle background. I have 2 windows 2003 servers. Both have AD and DNS running. They have been up for a couple years no with no problems. I have all static IP's in my domain. Alaska01 Win 2003 server Nyeserver ...
joeny0706 Windows Servers 5 03-05-2012 02:26 PM
Problems with RAM or Graphics
Hello. I'm pretty new to this forum and I really hope I can get some help here. I'm sure I can help someone too. I'm working as a support technician here in Sweden. I'v got a problem with my computer wich I can't get a hold of. Problem 1 The computer can restart 2-3 times when booting up...
pemil Motherboards, Bios & CPU 10 03-03-2012 02:12 PM
printer not communicating with computer
After an electrical outage, my wireless hp photosmart C6100 does not receive print commands from my hp laptop/notebook. I have turned off both devices and restarted. I have deleted old printer driver and added new (i think?) Computer print command does work with my Epson Artisan 810, also...
libertybelle2 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 03-03-2012 06:40 AM
Need help with ECS Elitegroup mobo. K7S5A
I bought an older Motherboard ECS Elitegroup K7S5a. It came missing: video card hard drive (the 2 drives it had were 2.1gb each caviar 32100,caviar22100(not sure whats on them if anything0 cd roM ram (2 slots for ddr and 2 for sdr I bought a pci video card (matrox) MGA 64bit graphics) 2...
Planner2012 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 03-02-2012 09:55 PM
INSTALL FTP SERVER USING IIS IN WINDOWS 7
Hi ALL, I WANT TO INSTALL FTP SERVER USING IIS IN WINDOWS 7 I FOLLOW :- On the Start menu, click Control Panel. Click Programs, and then click Turn Windows features on or off. In the Windows Features dialog box, expand the Internet Information Services node. Expand the FTP Publishing...
mokshabhi Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 2 03-02-2012 04:26 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts