Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support


OS loader missing

This is a discussion on OS loader missing within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi to all.. I got an ACER Aspire 5935G laptop .. After doing a spyware scan and deleting entries, next


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2012, 02:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7



Hi to all.. I got an ACER Aspire 5935G laptop .. After doing a spyware scan and deleting entries, next time I turned laptop on gave me an error code 0x490 and boot configuration data store repair.. I got the window7 disc.. Can you help me please..
Abster40 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 37,162
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Plug in the Windows 7 Repair Disk and it should do a startup repair then it will automatically try to boot.

or look here:

How to use the Bootrec.exe tool in the Windows Recovery Environment to troubleshoot and repair startup issues in Windows
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 02:28 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


I did try and it worked to begin with then it went back to the start up check.. I used the windows instillation disc .. Can I download a repair disc in a memory card.. I can not access pc or laptop at moment.
Abster40 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 02:29 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 37,162
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Try one or two more times to do the repair. If you cannot repair then use the same disk to do a recovery to an older date before this happened.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 02:35 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


I won't read the disc .. It goes straight to the startup repair
Abster40 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 02:36 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 37,162
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Try one or two more times to do the repair.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 02:37 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


Ok.. Back in a sec
Abster40 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:00 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


Repair details
System disk=\Device\harddisk0
Windows directory = D:\Windows
AutoChk Run = 0
Number of root causes = 1

Then further

Boot manager failed to find OS loader
Error code 0x490
Boot configuration data store repair = failed
Abster40 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:03 PM   #9
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 37,162
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Is anything inportant on the laptop that you can not live with? If yes then try to boot Windows into safe mode:

Getting into Windows Safe Mode

If you can boot into safe mode then try to also do this:

How to use the Bootrec.exe tool in the Windows Recovery Environment to troubleshoot and repair startup issues in Windows

If not I recommend restoring Windows to factory settings. For some reason the boot image for Windows has moved or disappeared.

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...gs-637464.html
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:22 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


I can not get into the safe mode...
Abster40 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:22 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


I can not do anything .. It starts with the startup repair
Abster40 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:32 PM   #12
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 37,162
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Alright you'l have to follow this then:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post

If not I recommend restoring Windows to factory settings. For some reason the boot image for Windows has moved or disappeared.

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...gs-637464.html
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:37 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


I can not go to MY COMPUTER(COMPUTER) it won't let me
Abster40 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:41 PM   #14
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 37,162
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


1. Power on the computer
2. At the white ACER BIOS screen, hold the Alt key and press the F10 key simultaneously to start Acer eRecovery.
3. Once eRecovery has loaded, click Restore to Factory Default Settings
4. Click OK to continue
5. From here, the eRecovery process will update all the data on the C: drive and restore a fully functional factory image (approximately 10 minutes).
6. Once eRecovery has run, press OK to reboot unit

Note: that all data will be lost during this process and your computer will be brought back to it's original factory state and settings!
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:56 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


Alt f10, nor f8 nor f11 nor f12 works ... When I switch laptop on, it say windows is loading files then it scan showing Microsoft corporation then goes to startup repair
Abster40 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 04:06 PM   #16
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 37,162
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Ok well I am confused on your problem now. I have made a post in the Windows Back room for extra help. Another tech should reply soon.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 04:14 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


Thank you..
Now I got memory diagnostic tools on my screen
Abster40 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 04:27 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


Thanks for your help.. I got windows memory diagnostic tool in my screen .. Running its test . Am not sure if this wi help
Abster40 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 04:43 PM   #19
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 37,162
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Ok good! Keep me updated!
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 04:49 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
OS: Window7


It switched laptop off then started the same
Abster40 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Os X Internet Disconnecting and reconnecting multiple times
Hi, I am having trouble with my internet, and it's a very bizarre situation and it's also hard to describe but I will try to do so as best as I can. btw- I don't know all the correct technical terms, so I will try to describe them as best as I can. My internet at home keeps disconnecting. It...
mattszo Networking Support 9 04-08-2012 09:34 AM
[SOLVED] Missing browser...
My mom's Aser Aspire One running Windows 7 suddenly has now browsers. She had Google Chrome and now nothing. How would I get a browser back on her device?
thebubbled1 Other Browsers 14 04-07-2012 04:10 PM
how do i undo changes i made to win7 os
Help, ive just replaced my mobo & hard drives and one is a ssd, then i did a fresh instal of win7 64. i (stupidly) followed a guide to set up a ssd for windows os and blindly changed things in regedit and various other things. ive now found that most of this stuff was important and want to...
catthing Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 04-07-2012 03:41 AM
"Tablet" word shows up in IE for Windows 7 32 bit OS
Hi, My operating system is Windows 7 32 bit. I am using Laptop not Tablet, but when i look for navigator.userAgent, it says "Tablet PC" word in it. I am thinking it is a bug. I am not looking for a solution where i need to stop the "Tablet PC Input Service" windows service to not to show...
Madhura Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 1 04-06-2012 06:19 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com