Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Only able to go into startup repair?!

This is a discussion on Only able to go into startup repair?! within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, hopefully someone can help me again. I'm running Windows 7. I was browsing Facebook and computer froze. Had to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2012, 05:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7



Hi, hopefully someone can help me again. I'm running Windows 7.

I was browsing Facebook and computer froze. Had to manually turn off upon start up I was given the option to start up normally or go into start up repair. I choose startup normally. It ended up automatically going into start up repair. It really isn't appearing to be doing anything. I tried powering down then back on, trying to get into safe mode or something but it directs right back into start up repair with the screen with blue bars going by and it says "attempting repairs... Repairing disk errors. This might take over an hour to complete." gone over an hour and not getting anything and it won't allow me to cancel. I don't know what to do. Please help!

__________________
HiJynX23 is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 06:03 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,238
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
Repairing disk errors
Your HDD has errors or it might have failed. On another computer download the ISO image for either Seatools, Drive Fitness, or WD DataLifeGuard in my signature and burn the image to CD with IMGBurn also in my signature. Boot off of the newly created CD and run the Short and the Long tests on the drive (this will probably take a long time, so be patient) If either test fails or there are too errors, the drive will need to be replaced.

spunk.funk is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 06:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Your HDD has errors or it might have failed. On another computer download the ISO image for either Seatools, Drive Fitness, or WD DataLifeGuard in my signature and burn the image to CD with IMGBurn also in my signature. Boot off of the newly created CD and run the Short and the Long tests on the drive (this will probably take a long time, so be patient) If either test fails or there are too errors, the drive will need to be replaced.
And if this is the case I'm screwed and should just buy a new PC basically?


Judging by this, and the issue described in the thread below, is that more evidence pointing towards the fact that my drive is shot? If so what about all the data on it?

My Pictures subfolder showing as empty when its full.
__________________
HiJynX23 is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 06:19 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,238
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Whoa there cowboy!! If your HDD is shot you don't need a new computer, unless your Mit Romneys kid and can afford it. You just need to replace the HDD and reinstall Windows. But to find out if your HDD is indeed shot, then follow the suggestions in the quote and test the drive. If that fails, then take further steps.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 06:37 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Whoa there cowboy!! If your HDD is shot you don't need a new computer, unless your Mit Romneys kid and can afford it. You just need to replace the HDD and reinstall Windows. But to find out if your HDD is indeed shot, then follow the suggestions in the quote and test the drive. If that fails, then take further steps.

Well, with a new HDD how do I install windows? I bought a pre-built from Best Buy. I'm fed up to the point of tears already with the last two months with this and my sisters computer. Perhaps you can give me some assistance with that also.


We have the same exact computer. Bought at the same time. Hes has recently been having freezing issues to the point where it is unresponsive. I ran Norton, I ran Norton Power Eraser and I ran Malwarebytes. There is no virus. I even went so far as to restore it to factory this past weekend. Things SEEMED to have been working ok. Apparently not. It is back to its unresponsive ways. I went to use it to do the things you have suggested but I cant do ANYTHING. :(
__________________
HiJynX23 is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 06:44 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7



My sisters seems to be running smoothly in Safe Mode though. I dont know how to fix it.
__________________
HiJynX23 is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 06:59 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7



I just updated a driver on her PC and restarted trying to go into normal mode. After typing in user password it loads then I get a black screen. (THIS TIME after a while the black screen went away and finally things started to load very slowly)

I know you guys are swamped with people asking for your help but I am at my wits end with this stuff and literally sick to my stomach.

As for my computer I was able to get Drive Fitness burned to a disk and I am going to go do that now.

I VERY MUCH appreciate and thank you for your time, help and patience!
__________________
HiJynX23 is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 07:17 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Whoa there cowboy!! If your HDD is shot you don't need a new computer, unless your Mit Romneys kid and can afford it. You just need to replace the HDD and reinstall Windows. But to find out if your HDD is indeed shot, then follow the suggestions in the quote and test the drive. If that fails, then take further steps.


Not even finding a drive. Safe to say its done for?


Also can you please help me with the issues on the other PC described above?
__________________
HiJynX23 is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 01:39 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,238
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
Not even finding a drive. Safe to say its done for?
\
If Drive Fitness cannot find the drive, then the HDD has failed. What is the make and model # of your computer? You can get a new HDD for your laptop from Besto Buy or Newegg.com - Notebook Hard Drives, Laptop Hard Drives and replace it. Then contact your computer manufacturer at their web site and see if they will sell you a Recovery Disc for your computer. If not, you can purchase a Windows 7 DVD and boot up off the recovery Disc or the Windows DVD and install Windows.
As for your sisters machine, run the Drive Fitness CD on her laptop and run the short and the long tests on the HDD.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 03:33 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
\
If Drive Fitness cannot find the drive, then the HDD has failed. What is the make and model # of your computer? You can get a new HDD for your laptop from Besto Buy or Newegg.com - Notebook Hard Drives, Laptop Hard Drives and replace it. Then contact your computer manufacturer at their web site and see if they will sell you a Recovery Disc for your computer. If not, you can purchase a Windows 7 DVD and boot up off the recovery Disc or the Windows DVD and install Windows.
As for your sisters machine, run the Drive Fitness CD on her laptop and run the short and the long tests on the HDD.

Ok new development, hers apparently can't find the HD either. But I am still able to get into Windows and even work it (decently) in safe mode. So that can't be right! Also, just a few minutes ago, this is the first time I've ever seen it but it said in the bottom right corner that he copy of Windows 7 is not genuine.


So frustrating!
__________________
HiJynX23 is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 02:01 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,238
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


If you didn't activate your Windows 7 it would give you a black screen.
If you know the manufacturer of the HDD then use that companies diagnostic (ex) ST (seagate) use Seatools. If Hitachi/IBM use Drive Fitness, if Western Digital use Data Life Guard.

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup repair infinite loop
My laptop had been running fine until recently my browser stopped loading just google.com. Fearing a virus, I ran microsoft security essentials, which then prompted me to run a second Microsoft virus removal tool. Having (successfully) cleared the computer, when I went to restart it keeps going...
Christopherlyma Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 02-11-2012 02:37 PM
Startup repair failure
Yesterday i walked away from my computer for 10 minutes, i came back and it was conducting a Startup repair. This was obviously unsucessful and since then it wont start. I tried to restart in safe mode and all of teh other startup options but it wont work. This only way i could get windows to open...
dunbarnicus Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 0 09-27-2011 01:50 AM
System won't boot: startup repair offline?
I am running windows 7 on my desktop and I can't get it to start. When I try startup repair on the "windows error recovery" screen it will go to a windows loading files screen, load the bar, and back to the windows error recovery screen. If I try to choose starting normally it will go to the...
Amber1011 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 06-29-2011 09:40 AM
STARTUP repair out of nowhere
okay i'm running windows 7 64 bit software on my desktop. the PC is 100% clean of malware and/or viruses, there's no junk laying around on the computer and i'm pretty sure of this because i have 24/7 protection with MSE and i keep my computer clean (ccleaner and such). basically, my pc was running...
kRieg. Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 17 06-17-2011 09:33 PM
Startup Repair?
Hey, guys, sorry if this is in the wrong place. So, i came back from China and my sister said my computer was on the blink. Naturally i point the finger of blame (before this, it worked for a good year). I had no idea what was wrong with it, but everytime it was started up it says something...
thrill_killa BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 05-14-2011 05:18 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts