Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Norton and Windows Defender do they conflict?

This is a discussion on Norton and Windows Defender do they conflict? within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Windows Vista Home premium 32 bit with Norton Internet Security 2008 installed......Will my having windows defender turned on conflict with


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-27-2009, 08:06 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 278
OS: Windows XP


Razz

Windows Vista Home premium 32 bit with Norton Internet Security 2008 installed......Will my having windows defender turned on conflict with Norton?

__________________
RobbyJK is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 09:41 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Deroche BC. Canada
Posts: 573
OS: XP Pro sp 3

My System


I won't have ether of them on my computer.

__________________
Net Jockey is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 01:00 AM   #3
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 30,748
OS: Windows 10, 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



NIS 2008 will turn Windows Defender OFF.

I do not recommend using NIS, KIS, McAfee or any other product w/ 3rd party firewall under Vista. NIS firewall will block internal Vista ports and cause disruptions in vital system services.

I have no issues with any of their anti-virus products.

I use Win Firewall, Win Defender and usually ESET NOD32 anti-virus.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2


.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 11:24 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 278
OS: Windows XP



Oh ok well i bought it already and it is good for another 50 days so i just wont renew it after that and i will use windows as my security? Thanks
__________________
RobbyJK is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 12:16 PM   #5
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 30,748
OS: Windows 10, 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Hi -

For anti-virus you can of course purchase another product. I recommend ESET NOD32 - 30 day trial if you would like to try (I have no ffiliation with ESET, but did beta-test version 4)

http://www.eset.com/download/free_trial_download.php

A good free anti-virus used by some at this forum - I have on 2 systems here -

AVE Free Edition - http://free.avg.com/download-avg-ant...s-free-edition

Another free a/v that I recently tested - Avira -
http://www.avira.com/en/download/

For info - go into services.msc and look at the number of system services by Symentec/ Norton. Look under Symantec, Norton and you'll also find one for Live Update. At one time, I had counted 12 along with 101 drivers. Another place to look - msconfig.exe - services & start-up tabs. Look for Symantec Corp.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 12:45 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Deroche BC. Canada
Posts: 573
OS: XP Pro sp 3

My System


I had AVG for years...but started having problems with it...So I switched to Avira and I like it.

In place of Bit defender...I use Spyware Blaster...with good results.
http://majorgeeks.com/downloadget.ph...7615f4682b4cef
__________________
Net Jockey is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 01:32 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 278
OS: Windows XP



I dont understand why norton is bad though??? Is it going to ruin my pc cuz....i just had to replace my hard drive after a year of use on my dell inpiron 530s desktop?? If i use the remaining 50 some days left on my subscription on norton is it going to harm my pc? Cuz that is the impression i got....And i will be useing AVG and windows firewall with spyware blaster when my subscription is up... is that a good combo ofd security? Sorry that was more than one question,....
__________________
RobbyJK is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 01:59 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Deroche BC. Canada
Posts: 573
OS: XP Pro sp 3

My System


No Noton will not hurt your PC...Norton is a resource hog...and does not do the job any better than AVG or Avira.

Edit: The only way Norton will hurt your computer is...because of the huge amount of memory it uses...It could slow your computer down.
__________________
Net Jockey is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 02:02 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 278
OS: Windows XP



oh okay that is better and makes more sense.
__________________
RobbyJK is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 02:03 PM   #10
Obama I's my father
 
nonamedsomebody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 426
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


well said norton isn't all to great they had that firewall hole a few years back thats been patched but still I don't trust norton I run AVG Free 8.5 and Subelt Kerio on my Xp and Vista Machines.
__________________
Intel E8400
Evga 8800GT OC Edition
2GB G-skill DDR2
nonamedsomebody is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 02:28 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Deroche BC. Canada
Posts: 573
OS: XP Pro sp 3

My System


I own a 50.00 Dollar router that is also is a firewall...I use the windows firewall along with that and have never had a problem.
__________________
Net Jockey is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 03:27 PM   #12
Obama I's my father
 
nonamedsomebody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 426
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Yeah hardware firewalls are damn good. My dsl modem has one and I have it setup so I basically don't show up if somebody where to sniff my ports.
__________________
Intel E8400
Evga 8800GT OC Edition
2GB G-skill DDR2
nonamedsomebody is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 02:10 AM   #13
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 30,748
OS: Windows 10, 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Thank you guys.

Norton will not cause hardware damage. Its firewall interferes with Vista system services by blocking local ports and also tends to interfere with Windows Updates.

As was said, AVG or Avira damn good a/v products - and free.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 07:30 AM   #14
Awesom-O 4000
 
l_b_rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,241
OS: Vista Home Premium 32 bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgriff2 View Post
NIS 2008 will turn Windows Defender OFF.

I do not recommend using NIS, KIS, McAfee or any other product w/ 3rd party firewall under Vista. NIS firewall will block internal Vista ports and cause disruptions in vital system services.

I have no issues with any of their anti-virus products.

I use Win Firewall, Win Defender and usually ESET NOD32 anti-virus.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2


.
I hope you don't use WIN Anitvirus, lol... It is malware.

__________________
If my avatar piques your interest, go to google and search Dr.Tran video and have a look.
l_b_rex is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts