Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

No Sound On Windows Vista Home Premium

This is a discussion on No Sound On Windows Vista Home Premium within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have installed Windows Vista Home Premium some hours ago. After that, I installed my driver. However, I am not


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2012, 12:25 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



I have installed Windows Vista Home Premium some hours ago. After that, I installed my driver. However, I am not getting sound. So I did the following procedures:

1/ Checked if mute or not, but nothing was mute.
2/ Checked if volume is down, but volume was up.
3/ Checked if the jack has been plugged properly, again, everything was set properly.
4. I updated the driver, again, no sound.
5/ Tried Microsoft Fix It, again no problem detected.
6/ Went on device manager, no problem, the sound card is being detected correctly.

My motherboard is ASUS P5KPL-CM with onboard VIA sound card.

The back panels on my motherboard are, lime, black, pink, blue, black and violet in colors. I had Windows XP before, and I used the lime color one for my speaker cable. On Vista also I am doing the same. It should work, but why I am not having sound?

IM TIRED....HELP!

View some screenshots attached....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	30
Size:	136.7 KB
ID:	111414   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	28
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	111415   Click image for larger version

Name:	5.png
Views:	22
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	111416  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6.png
Views:	18
Size:	66.6 KB
ID:	111417  

__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 01:14 AM   #2
TSF Articles Team
 
SkyStormKuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 743
OS: Windows 7 SP 1

My System


When you play music or sounds, and you have the Volume Mixer open, do you see it play (with the green bar)

__________________

USEFUL DRIVER TOOLS
Guide to Tracking Down Drivers
3DP Drivers - Detects and Installs Drivers
Driver Sweeper - Completely removes Drivers for Clean Driver Installs
SkyStormKuja is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 01:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



Yes I see it, the green bar does moves....
__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 01:39 AM   #4
TSF Articles Team
 
SkyStormKuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 743
OS: Windows 7 SP 1

My System


Have you tried different speakers?
__________________

USEFUL DRIVER TOOLS
Guide to Tracking Down Drivers
3DP Drivers - Detects and Installs Drivers
Driver Sweeper - Completely removes Drivers for Clean Driver Installs
SkyStormKuja is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 01:44 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



yes the same... no sound... i did have sound before, but only for 5 minutes... notice also the ports in the backpanel are all grey when i connect to the lime color, but when i connect to the black, it detected, even no sound is coming.
__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 01:54 AM   #6
TSF Articles Team
 
SkyStormKuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 743
OS: Windows 7 SP 1

My System


Just to confirm, did you try the front panel port? Also, try plugging it into the blue port (line-out) and see if any sound comes out?
__________________

USEFUL DRIVER TOOLS
Guide to Tracking Down Drivers
3DP Drivers - Detects and Installs Drivers
Driver Sweeper - Completely removes Drivers for Clean Driver Installs
SkyStormKuja is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 02:01 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



no sound on all ports... all ports are not grey when I connect, only the lime one remains grey.. the lime one i used to plug the speaker jack and it worked well on windows xp.
__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 02:27 AM   #8
TSF Articles Team
 
SkyStormKuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 743
OS: Windows 7 SP 1

My System


Okay. Let's try a few things. First thing.

- Open Device Manager.
- Uninstall the VIA HD Audio Driver.
- Restart the computer, and let Windows reinstall it. If it doesn't, manually choose Update Driver.
If you already done this, then lemme know.
__________________

USEFUL DRIVER TOOLS
Guide to Tracking Down Drivers
3DP Drivers - Detects and Installs Drivers
Driver Sweeper - Completely removes Drivers for Clean Driver Installs
SkyStormKuja is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 02:29 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



I have just uninstalled it on device manager, and let windows install it, still does not work. The update also I did... Im fed up you know! On windows 7 also im seeing many persons have this problem...
__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 02:39 AM   #10
TSF Articles Team
 
SkyStormKuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 743
OS: Windows 7 SP 1

My System


Next try, go back to Device Manager, and Right-click on the device, then choose Properties. On the Details tab, choose Hardware Ids in the Drop-down list. Then, give me the VEN_#### and DEV_####numbers.

While you give me that, you can try installing the Sound Driver by using 3DP Chip. Click on the detected Audio device in the utility.
__________________

USEFUL DRIVER TOOLS
Guide to Tracking Down Drivers
3DP Drivers - Detects and Installs Drivers
Driver Sweeper - Completely removes Drivers for Clean Driver Installs
SkyStormKuja is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 02:43 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



Here the ids:

HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_1106&DEV_E721&SUBSYS_104382EA&REV_1001
HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_1106&DEV_E721&SUBSYS_104382EA
__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 02:54 AM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,349
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


If you go to your first picture in post # 1 all of the jacks, Front and Back panel, are Greyed out (not enabled)
Go back to Sound/Playback tab highlight Speaker and press Properties. Under the General Tab your jack information should be listed. go down to Device Usage and make sure it is Enabled. Apply and OK, Click the Configure button Set it up for your speaker configuration and test.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 03:01 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



it is enabled, and tested it, no sound coming out...
__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 03:15 AM   #14
TSF Articles Team
 
SkyStormKuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 743
OS: Windows 7 SP 1

My System


Try this driver : http://www.viaarena.com/Driver/HDA_V500b.zip
__________________

USEFUL DRIVER TOOLS
Guide to Tracking Down Drivers
3DP Drivers - Detects and Installs Drivers
Driver Sweeper - Completely removes Drivers for Clean Driver Installs
SkyStormKuja is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 05:21 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



I am downloading another driver version, it seems to be the latest on VIA website but my motherboard manufacturer does not have it. Once I installed it, I will let you know... If possible also, can suggest me other methods to get sound in case my problem is not solved? I mean like a virtual system or whatever...
__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 05:51 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



No it does not work... Damn, the sound green bar is moving etc...so why the HELL ON EARTH I AM NOT GETTING SOUND? :(
__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 06:00 AM   #17
TSF Articles Team
 
SkyStormKuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 743
OS: Windows 7 SP 1

My System


Pluh. Lemme see. Maybe the driver isn't uninstalled well enough. Follow these steps :

- Download Driver Sweeper, use the link in my sig.
- Before running it, uninstall the driver again. Also check Programs and Features in the Control Panel to confirm it is completely removed.
- Reboot the computer into Safemode.
- While in Safemode, run Driver Sweeper and completely remove the Via driver and all traces of it.
- Reboot back into normal Windows
- Try installing the newest driver, specifically the one you downloaded from the VIA website.
__________________

USEFUL DRIVER TOOLS
Guide to Tracking Down Drivers
3DP Drivers - Detects and Installs Drivers
Driver Sweeper - Completely removes Drivers for Clean Driver Installs
SkyStormKuja is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 06:05 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



Ok I will do that...wait for me in some minutes... I think I will hang myself if this does not work. Who to blame microsoft or ASUS or VIA, I dont know...
__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 06:37 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
OS: vista sp2



Nope, no sound.... Im fed up... im grabbing my jet pack, nothing to do here in this world... :/ Any other solution? Like a virtual system to get sound or whatever?
__________________
angelali2012 is offline  
Old 06-22-2012, 03:22 PM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,349
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Boot into Setup (Bios) to Peripherals and find onboard Sound or some such and Enable it. If that still doesn't work then consider a sound card. Amazon.com: PCI Sound card: Electronics

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Happili Virus Redirect
Hello: I've been hit with the Happili virus where it redirects me when I conduct a google search. Attached is the GMER and TDSS files. Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you. -ttvr4
ttvr4 Resolved HJT Threads 14 05-15-2012 11:47 AM
Slow Computer - Cannot find a problem.
Hey guys, My computer has been running slow for quite a while now, and I can't find a reason at all. I cleaned the inside of my tower and went through most of the cleaning steps you all recommend in that post except for the one step that required me to have a Xp Sp3 startup disk. Like I said I...
cschluter Resolved HJT Threads 13 04-16-2012 03:21 AM
Rootkit TR/Sirefef.BP.1 and Rootkit.Gen2
Hi Everybody, I have this issue with my computer: Rootkit TR/Sirefef.BP.1 and Rootkit.Gen2 have been detected by Antivir and, though removed, reappear at the PC reboot. Avira RealTime Protection keeps sending alerts, detecting unspecified viruses with access denied. Several of the directories...
beppe1968 Resolved HJT Threads 81 03-15-2012 11:19 AM
Internet Explorer & Dr.Watson has encountered...
Hello, I can't open most of my folders without my computer freezing up and my computer telling me that "Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close" and "Dr. Watson Postmortem Debugger has encountered a problem and needs to close". Now, I've been using Google...
JCVerkler Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 3 11-18-2011 12:27 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts