Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

My computer won't open any ISO files!

This is a discussion on My computer won't open any ISO files! within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys. Recently my computer has stopped opening or mounting ISO or "CD/DVD image" files. I've noticed this ever since


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2009, 04:45 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Vista x86 (32) SP1


Exclamation

Hey guys. Recently my computer has stopped opening or mounting ISO or "CD/DVD image" files. I've noticed this ever since I reformatted my computer. I am running Vista x86, SP1.

I have attempted to mount or open the ISO files with WinRAR, WinISO, PowerISO, MagicISO, and 7-Zip. All of these programs give me similar errors.

PowerISO Error: "Name of file".Iso, The file format is invalid or unsupported.

MagicISO Error: Can't find the file or file isn't CD image file!

WinRAR error: The archive is either in unknown format or damaged

WinISO error: Cannot open file: it appears to be a invalid format image!

7-Zip error: Can not open file "FILE LOCATION/NAME.ISO" as archive

I have tried opening older ISO files that I know worked and opened previously, and they all give me this error! I know that these older ones are not corrupted.

Any help on this issue is greatly appreciated!

__________________
tdunlavey is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 05:17 AM   #2
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 5,768
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

Hi,

Welcome to TSF!!

Can you tell us what iso file you are looking to burn, and also where you are downloading it from? I want to make sure that it is a good iso and that the md5 checksum is good when you download it.

Cheers!

__________________



Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 05:57 AM   #3
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,195
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



hi it could be a codec problem you may need to install them ie klite but do the check of iso first no point installing anything if the file is at fault
__________________
joeten is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 06:06 AM   #4
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 5,768
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

Quote:
hi it could be a codec problem you may need to install them ie klite
I don't follow your logic on that one. What would a codec have to do with an iso burning program? If you could flesh out that answer it would be great.

Cheers!
__________________



Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 06:15 AM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,195
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



hi invalid format etc can be a codec missing for prog to utilise
__________________
joeten is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 08:10 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Dracia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 526
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to Dracia Send a message via MSN to Dracia

Hi Joeten, if I'm not mistaken codecs are to do with video and not iso.
__________________
I will only offer help in the forum, not through personal methods of contact.
Dracia is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 08:37 AM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



burn the iso to disk with this

http://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=download
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 08:49 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 33
OS: xp x64, opensuse,BSD,win7,server2003,Kbuntu,freeBSD,



if you were downloading the ISO is it finished ( complete) and is it an actual ISO or was it made by a program. I had this free program ( I don't remember the name of it) but it was supposed to be able to make a folder into an ISO file I tried it and when it made a ISO out of a folder I could never open it up with any programs like Power ISO even imgburn ( which is a great free program) wouldn't let me Burn the ISO's that I made with this program so i ended up just loading Power ISO and drag and dropping the Files into it and remaking all of the Images. So I Check and make sure that it is an actual ISO file.
__________________
Shadowmeph is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 08:03 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Vista x86 (32) SP1



Thanks for all the help guys!

@ Wmorri - These are ripped pc games from my personal collection. Just incase my original games stop working. A lot of them are getting real old!

@Shadowmeph - These are actual ISO files, not ones that I've personally compiled or made. I've burnt them to DVD-R's before in the past, so I'm just unsure about why they're not working now.

@joeten - Sorry but I have to agree with Wmorri. I'm not sure that a codec could cause this problem. I think you may have been referring to a missing .dll file or something within the application used to open ISOs. (like a corrupt install of powerISO or something).

@Dai - Thanks, I'll try this when I get home tonight. I actually think you could be right on this one. I can't remember if I ever really opened these ISO files, or if I simply burned them to a blank disc using NERO. I no longer have nero, so I'll go ahead and try imgburn (which sounds really familiar, and I'm sure I've used this before somewhere)... But isn't powerISO, magicISO, and winRAR supposed to burn ISO or image files to discs? I could've sworn that I've done that before...

Thanks for all the suggestions guys. I really appreciate it! I'll let you know if I can find a fix, and after I try Imgburn.
__________________
tdunlavey is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 10:21 AM   #10
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,195
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



hi yeah my bad on that one should have read the post better

__________________
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts