Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Mobile Video file MP4/3GP Wont Play, Help?

This is a discussion on Mobile Video file MP4/3GP Wont Play, Help? within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys sup, Im new to the forum :D anyways the other day me and my mates recorded a video


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2009, 05:35 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Genaldinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Windows Vista


Confused

Hey guys sup, Im new to the forum :D

anyways the other day me and my mates recorded a video on my mates samsung g600 phone, after recording the video I began to transfer the file from the phone to my acer laptop, anyways as I was transferring the file I just remembered the harddrive was full, the problem was I had already cut and pasted the file from the phone to the laptop so since the harddrive was full the whole file didnt transfer to my laptop, the file was around 42 mb or so in size but only 32mb transffered to my laptop, I tried to play the file but it wouldnt play, I tried many programs, like "All Media Fixer" << absolute garbage doesnt fix videos at all, vlc player plays like 5 seconds of blank video and no audio, I need help, I heard about headers and researched into them but am still confused and lost, I really need help and would be so greatful if someone could fix the file, I recieved 32mb of it so naturally Im thinking I should be able to watch some of it,

I've uploaded the file and hope someone can help, here's the file;

http://www.zshare.net/download/59985868d9617da0/

__________________
Genaldinho is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 06:59 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Codecs - You need them.

free-codecs.com

__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 06:11 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 171
OS: Win 7 Ultimate (32&64), Win Vista Ultimate SP2 (32&64)



I've tried playing itwith MpcStar. It has all codecs to play everything. It usually plays partially downloaded video files where other media players can't.
It will not play. The video file is probably corrupted.
__________________
pofolks is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 07:03 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 171
OS: Win 7 Ultimate (32&64), Win Vista Ultimate SP2 (32&64)



I also ran it through Mediainfo. Here is what I got:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	46.2 KB
ID:	49429

Here is what I should have got:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture1.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	81.4 KB
ID:	49430

As you can see there are no video and audio streams. In general information
there is no bit rate and it shows no duration. This means that the header information for the file is corrupted. Excluding anything short of a miracle this video file will never play.
__________________
pofolks is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 09:58 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 53
OS: Vista Basic Sp1/XP Pro SP3



Your video is mostly corrupted. I doubt there are workarounds on that.

I'm downloading it right now on 20%. It doesn't play on my media player classic although that could be because its still incompete. I'll try to download the whole file and see if it works.
__________________
Alter-Divide is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 01:12 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Genaldinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by pofolks View Post
I've tried playing itwith MpcStar. It has all codecs to play everything. It usually plays partially downloaded video files where other media players can't.
It will not play. The video file is probably corrupted.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pofolks View Post
I also ran it through Mediainfo. Here is what I got:

Attachment 49429

Here is what I should have got:

Attachment 49430

As you can see there are no video and audio streams. In general information
there is no bit rate and it shows no duration. This means that the header information for the file is corrupted. Excluding anything short of a miracle this video file will never play.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alter-Divide View Post
Your video is mostly corrupted. I doubt there are workarounds on that.

I'm downloading it right now on 20%. It doesn't play on my media player classic although that could be because its still incompete. I'll try to download the whole file and see if it works.
@pofolks, thanks a ton for your effort mate!.

@Alter-Divide, did it work or are you still downloading mate?, also pofolks if I give you a working mp4 file of the same type cant you make a new header or use a good header from a working similar file to fix it?

thanks a ton for your time guys, really appreciate it
__________________
Genaldinho is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 01:26 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Just out of curiosity, WHERE did you get this mysterious broken video? You said your camera.. are you sure?
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 01:58 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Genaldinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Undocked Windy View Post
Just out of curiosity, WHERE did you get this mysterious broken video? You said your camera.. are you sure?
From my mates Samsung g600 mobile phone, why?
__________________
Genaldinho is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:07 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Just curious because usually videos directly from a video camera/camera don't get corrupt, you should ask him if his memory card might be corrupted or some settings have been tweaked - This might explain the corruption on your file.
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:08 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 53
OS: Vista Basic Sp1/XP Pro SP3



Sorry I wasn't able to finish downloading since I was charging my laptop and was doing something else. I'll finish downloading it now.
__________________
Alter-Divide is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:27 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Genaldinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Undocked Windy View Post
Just curious because usually videos directly from a video camera/camera don't get corrupt, you should ask him if his memory card might be corrupted or some settings have been tweaked - This might explain the corruption on your file.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alter-Divide View Post
Sorry I wasn't able to finish downloading since I was charging my laptop and was doing something else. I'll finish downloading it now.
@Undocked Windy, are you sure you read my first post of this topic correctly, the whole of the file didnt transfer, there was 42mb but because of my harddrive being full only 32 mb ended up transferring so that means I didnt get all of the video file, naturally this must've caused a corrupt header, and I was hoping someone could fix it for me, his memory card is fine since I emptied my new harddrive and bluetoothed a file to my pc and that one worked fine.

@Alter-Divide, thanks a ton mate your a legend!
__________________
Genaldinho is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:45 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 53
OS: Vista Basic Sp1/XP Pro SP3



sorry double posted
__________________
Alter-Divide is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:49 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 53
OS: Vista Basic Sp1/XP Pro SP3



Sorry it didn't work for me. However, since you used a memory card, there is a chance that the file is still somewhere in it.

Try plugging his cellphone to your computer I believe it would have a USB mode for the memory card.

Try to look from there. Also try using Recuva. It is a program for restoring deleted files.

I'm not sure if this will work but there is nothing to lose.
__________________
Alter-Divide is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 04:42 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Genaldinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Alter-Divide View Post
Sorry it didn't work for me. However, since you used a memory card, there is a chance that the file is still somewhere in it.

Try plugging his cellphone to your computer I believe it would have a USB mode for the memory card.

Try to look from there. Also try using Recuva. It is a program for restoring deleted files.

I'm not sure if this will work but there is nothing to lose.
Again Alter-Divide you've been a angel man, thanks for your effort and I'll take into account the memory card tip, thanks again everyone, if anyone does fix it please post in this topic, thanks :D
__________________
Genaldinho is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 07:02 PM   #15
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


You should have at least 15% free space on your hard drive for it function at full speed

Do a defrag with Auslogics Defrag
http://download.cnet.com/Auslogics-D...dlPid=11000862

Clean up old restore points too
right click on C: drive
properties
disk cleanup
go to the second tab and delete old restore points
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 10:30 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,439
OS: Windows 2000 SP4 and Windows XP SP3



I asked on doom9 if anyone knew anything about this. Read my links to understand more about this.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=147078
__________________
blah789 is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 04:11 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Genaldinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcninjaguy View Post
You should have at least 15% free space on your hard drive for it function at full speed

Do a defrag with Auslogics Defrag
http://download.cnet.com/Auslogics-D...dlPid=11000862

Clean up old restore points too
right click on C: drive
properties
disk cleanup
go to the second tab and delete old restore points
Quote:
Originally Posted by blah789 View Post
I asked on doom9 if anyone knew anything about this. Read my links to understand more about this.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=147078
@Mcninjaguy, yh thanks for the tip man.

@blah789, I've checked the thread no ones replied, if you can fix headers I'll be amazed, I can give you a good working file similar to my truncated one if that would be of any help?

__________________
Genaldinho is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts