Missing Z drive

This is a discussion on Missing Z drive within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Sorry if I have posted this in the wrong section, but i need help. I recently have a problem on


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2012, 09:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
OS: Vista Home Premium



Sorry if I have posted this in the wrong section, but i need help.

I recently have a problem on my main home computer (I am posting this on my daughters laptop).

I recently lost or deleted by mistake my "Z" drive after trying to clear out a malware virus.

During the course of the problem i also got the blue screen of death, which i haved discovered is being caused by a conflict between "Secure Socket Tunneling Protocol Service" and "Telephony" (services loaded at startup/logon). If i leave one of them disabled (either one) then the coputer logs on ok. However one or the other may be required for internet to work.

Despite this conflict I cannot find/recover re-enable the Z drive.

So the computer works, but the printers are not connected, internet is not connected. Other computers/mobile devices can still connect to the internet throught my Orange Live Box as they did before so network problem is definately only on main computer.

I hope someone can help.

__________________
Vasporran is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 09:44 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


We will help you with one at a time.
First lets start with the Z drive. Go to Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Computer Management>Disk Management does the drive show up there?

__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:00 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
OS: Vista Home Premium



It does not show up, only drives shown are C (OS), D (Recovery) and an unnamed drive which is shown as EISA Configuration?

The other temprary drives for the removable staorage and the dvd drive are shown but definately no network drive z
__________________
Vasporran is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:23 AM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


You mean Mapped Network Drive. You may need to recreate it. The network drive comes from a pre-existing partition shared hard drive or partition or folder mapped as a network drive from F: or D:
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:27 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
OS: Vista Home Premium



yes, the mapped network drive, but i dont know how to recreate it
__________________
Vasporran is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:32 AM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Which drive did it aim to originally? C: or D: for security reasons I would not share your C: drive in a mapped drive array unless you only share a folder like the Documents, Music, Picture, or Videos folder. The D: drive is for Reinstalling Windows to Factory Defaults which should not be shared.

Is there other drives showing up in Disk Managment? Any Unallocated drives or any without a drive letter assigned to it? Can you process a screen shot of the Disk Management window open?
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:55 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
OS: Vista Home Premium



it originally pointed to Z, the drives shown in the main top window are

DISK 0 containing the following partitions

C (OS) 455 GB NTFS
D (RECOVERY) 10 GB NTFS

and an unamed drive described as EISA Configuration. this is 63mb in size and along with C and D is shown as a Primary partition

the other drives shown are

DISK 1 - Removable H:
DISK 2 - Removable I:
DISK 3 - Removable J:
DISK 4 - Removable K:
DISK 5 - Removable F:

CD ROM 0 - DVD E:

These are all shown as "No Media", i believe they are all related to the multi media card reader intalled on the computer and the CD ROM/DVD is what it is.

If i am in network and sharing centre it shows an unidentified network, asking to show the computers and devices on this brings up a blank screen whereas before it would show who and what was connected to the network, including other computers and printers etc.

asking it to map this brings up a screen which defaults to drive Z: on the folders option the default is \\IAN-PC\public. IAN-PC is the main computer.

It tries to connect to this and then fails.
__________________
Vasporran is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 01:54 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,666
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


To Re-map your network drive. Right click Computer/Map Network Drive/ Browse the network to the Computer/Drive and the Folder that was your Z: drive.
If you are not sure, you can press the Windows Key+R in the run box type the computer name (ex) \\computername and press enter. This will open up the network drive and show you all of it's contents. Here browse till you get to the folder which was your previous Z: drive. Once you know where it is, then follow the steps above.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 03:41 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
OS: Vista Home Premium



thanks for the post, i tried Computer/Map Network Drive/ Browse but it only gave me one option which was to select a shared network folder, there was oner shown but it just said network and when i highlight it, the options in the pop up window change "make a new folder" does nothing and the other button is cancel.


I also tried the windows key + R, put in \\ian-pc which is the computer name and pressed enter. I get an outline of Windows Explorer as if it is trying to open, but then it is stopped by the following message:-


\\ian-pc is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions.


The Server service is not started.
__________________
Vasporran is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 04:57 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,666
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Go to Start/Search and type services.msc Right click the services icon in the search results and Run As Administrator. In the Services window, scroll down to Server. Double click it, make sure the Startup type is set to Automatic and the service is Started. If that fails, go to the Dependency tab, and make sure those services are started.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 08:11 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
OS: Vista Home Premium



ok, the server start up type is set to automatic, but it is not started. I tried starting it and got the following message:-

Windows could not start the Server service on Local Computer

Error 1068: The dependency service or group failed to start

I clicked on the dependenct tab noted which services were required.

one of them was currently not started. i started this one. then went back to try and start the Server service again.

same error message as before.

of note the two services that were conflicting with each other and causing bsod

secure socket tunneling protocol service

and

telephony

are not both switched on, i need to leave one of them off or the computer crashes.

so at the moment "Telephony" is enabled and started and the other one the tunneling one is not. Not sure if this makes any difference.

I have just looked at the dependency for both of these services and the fact that they are conflicting is a major problem.
__________________
Vasporran is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 09:17 PM   #12
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,904
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, we would get a much better understanding of your problem if you used event viewer. Go to start search and type:- eventvwr.msc press enter, expand windows logs "application".

See what errors show up, highlight an "error" and right click select "properties". we need event ID and source. Also check under "application and services log".

Now very often after a virus is removed the repository for WMI is left in a corrupt state (important service). Open a cmd prompt as admin and at the prompt type(copy paste):-

Code:
net stop winmgmt&cd %systemroot%\system32\WBEM&Ren Repository Repository.old&winmgmt /resetRepository&shutdown -r
press enter
Agree to stopping dependencies Y N say Y your computer will restart.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 04-02-2012, 09:12 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
OS: Vista Home Premium



Theres like 42 thousand events listed the most common error that keeps showing up is

source = CVHSVC, event id = 100
__________________
Vasporran is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 11:13 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
OS: Vista Home Premium



Everything on the computer works except for the ingternet, printer and anything else which was on the network. Drive Z is physically missing (even though it is virtual). Yes there are other problems caused by a virus problem and conflicts between start up services, but i really need to try and get the internet fixed. without the log in details for the orang liverbox or being able to find the original set up disc (it was over 6 years ago) i am at a bit of a loss.
__________________
Vasporran is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 11:17 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
OS: Vista Home Premium



Jenae i tried copying your string and entering it at a command prompt. it did exactlty what it was meant to do. but the problem with the z drive and the virtual network is still there.

__________________
Vasporran is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New hard drive, system powers down in minutes
Having just replaced a hard drive and re-installed the software with the original recovery disc supplied with the PC (OS is XP Pro), the system appearred fine and stable after re-installing the drivers. When switched on again later to sort out the connection to the internet it sshut down again...
teltez Hard Drive Support 2 03-21-2012 01:46 PM
Copy files from old hard drive via USB
Hi, wondering if anyone can help out with this. I have a hard drive taken out of my old desktop PC that I need to get files off. It was the main drive on my desktop and has Windows Vista installed on it. I only have a laptop now, so purchased a SATA/IDE>USB cable to connect. When I plug this into...
frasefrase Hard Drive Support 2 03-21-2012 12:58 PM
[SOLVED] Laptop Hard Drive Connection Help
Hello, first post. I have a question... My old laptop finally died and I removed the hard drive, and pretty much everything else just for fun, and as an educational venture. I'm wanting to know what type of connection the hard drive from my laptop has, because it isn't the same as another hard...
FxTrader Hard Drive Support 4 03-19-2012 07:39 PM
installing laptop hard drive
I have a toshiba satellite L455 and need to know each step for installing a the new hard drive
thigdon Hard Drive Support 1 03-19-2012 06:54 PM
Dell Precision M6600 Disc Drive
Hi, Im looking at purchasing a Dell Precision M6600 but would rather not have to drop $400 for a Blu-Ray Drive. The drive it uses is a standard 9.5mm, Where can i find a Blu-Ray reader, 9.5mm drive???
nat45928 Laptop Support 2 03-19-2012 05:32 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts