Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support


Missing partition

This is a discussion on Missing partition within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone, Recently I made an extra partition out of my HD using Computer Management in Vista. Then I move


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2008, 12:44 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 99
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Hi everyone,

Recently I made an extra partition out of my HD using Computer Management in Vista. Then I move tons of files into the new partition for backup purpose until it was about 90% full. After I restart my computer the new drive disappeared. This is how it looks like right now in the attachment. Could anyone help me solve this problem? or are there anyway that I can bring those file out from the hidden partition?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CM.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	25125  
kokoli84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-17-2008, 06:10 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 99
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Can anyone please help?

Thanks
kokoli84 is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:59 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 99
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Am I in the right forum or no one knows?
kokoli84 is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 10:29 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
OS: xp



You sed that you've done another partition right ?
And now how many partitions you can see ?
did you check your group policy if it not hidden the HD?
thec0o0lest is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 11:05 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 32
OS: Vista/XP



It looks like you had one partition that was around 465gb then you split it into two partitions 347gb, the one that you want to wipe and 117gb partition that has all the files you want to keep. It detects the secondary partiton but hasn't assigned it a letter. I know there is a way( maybe by right clicking or through the actions menu) to assign that a driver letter. Try that
paintballkev812 is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 03:30 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
bhahar84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,383
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista Ultimate

My System


Hi kokoli84!


It seems like your partition is not uninitialized yet. Try refer to this site on how to initialized and use the new partition:

Create a New Partition in Windows Vista
__________________
<<Please post a forum on the issue instead of pm me, since I am not really active here for quite some time>>.:CPU-Z::Power Supply::Recuva::Unlocker::SensorsView::PSU Calculator::Everest:.
bhahar84 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 01:05 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 99
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Sorry I didn't make myself clear, actually i've done all those before the problem came up, I've assigned the drive as D: and did a complete format with NTFS. Then the drive became active and that's how I move those files into the new partition. Everything seems to be fine before I restart, I also tried to open the those files in the new drive/partition and everything works great. The problem is after I restart my computer the drive just disappear!! Right now when I try to right click on it and click on "Change Drive Letter and Path", it pops up a error message saying,

"The operation failed to complete because the Disk Management console view is not up-to-date. Refresh the view by using the refresh task. If the problem persists close the Disk Management console, then restart Disk Management or restart the computer."

and of course, I tried to restart Disk Management and even restarting the computer for few times but still doesn't work.

Hopefully there are another solution for this problem. Thank you guys for answering and sorry about the confussion.
kokoli84 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 10:15 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
bhahar84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,383
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista Ultimate

My System


So, it means that you have lost the partition suddenly? You cannot see the partition on the My Computer too?

Try referring to this article here:

Lost partition or hard disk
__________________
<<Please post a forum on the issue instead of pm me, since I am not really active here for quite some time>>.:CPU-Z::Power Supply::Recuva::Unlocker::SensorsView::PSU Calculator::Everest:.
bhahar84 is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 01:38 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 99
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Tried to use TestDisk... did everything until part G... then it said no partition was found tried with deeply search... still nothing happen... anything else i can do ?
kokoli84 is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 11:28 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
bhahar84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,383
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista Ultimate

My System


Its still not working? I think I'll get someone expert on this to assist you then
__________________
<<Please post a forum on the issue instead of pm me, since I am not really active here for quite some time>>.:CPU-Z::Power Supply::Recuva::Unlocker::SensorsView::PSU Calculator::Everest:.
bhahar84 is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 11:46 AM   #11
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS: Xp



Hi,

Run TestDisk again, but follow the steps below:

A. At the first window, select “No Log” and press the <Enter> key.
B. Select which drive to analyse, choose “Proceed” and <Enter>.
C. Select partition type – Intel if it’s a PC then <Enter>.
D. Choose Advanced > press <Enter>.
E. Choose Boot > press <Enter>.
New screen - please post back with a screenshot.



How to post a screenshot.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:24 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 99
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



So after i got into <Advanced> I got this screen saying No partition available. and for some reason I can only pick this E: which is not exist on the system
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nopart.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	27.8 KB
ID:	25602   Click image for larger version

Name:	e.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	25603  
kokoli84 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:39 AM   #13
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS: Xp



What is E:? The drive size is reported as 4.44GB.

Remove any external drive and eject CDs.

Then:

A. At the first window, select “No Log” and press the <Enter> key.
B. Select which drive to analyse, choose “Proceed” and <Enter>.
C. Select partition type – Intel if it’s a PC then <Enter>.
D. Select “Analyse” then <Enter>. The drive will be analysed.
E. Select “Backup” at the next screen, then <Enter>.
F. Press “Y” if the partitions were created under Vista – “N” if not.
G. Select which partition to analyse and press <P> to list any files in the partition.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:28 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 99
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



thx alot everyone for helping.. i've been such a dumbass for analysing the dvd for the whole time... though it would automatically detect the HD instead it detech the DVD first and didnt show C: until i eject the disc.

THANK YOU ALL SO VERY VERY MUCH !!!!!
kokoli84 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:49 AM   #15
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS: Xp



So - it's fixed?
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:00 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 99
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Yes it's working fine now, all I needed to do is to eject the CD from the internal DVD drive. It wouldn't show my C: until there is no disc on E:.
kokoli84 is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:41 AM   #17
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS: Xp



I'm glad you got it fixed.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com