Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

minimum Ram requirement for win 7

This is a discussion on minimum Ram requirement for win 7 within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. 30.11.2009 Hi, I have Acer 5611 WLMI Laptop, Intel Core Duo, T2050, 1.66GHz (FSB: 533MHz), 15.4TFT, WXGA Crystal Brite, 1024MB


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-30-2009, 02:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 66
OS: vista home premium


Confused

30.11.2009

Hi,

I have Acer 5611 WLMI Laptop, Intel Core Duo, T2050, 1.66GHz (FSB: 533MHz), 15.4TFT, WXGA Crystal Brite, 1024MB DDR II RAM (2x 512), 80GB (5400rpm) HDD, Super Multi DVD-RW Double Layer, 6-cell Lion, 56K modem, Wired & Wireless Lan 802.11a/b/g, 128MB shared Grafics.

I want to know, can my laptop run window 7 after upgrade to 2gb / 4gb RAM. To run window 7, which one is recommended 2GB or 4GB RAM?

Thanks for your all the help in the regard.

DS Negi

__________________
DS Negi is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 03:46 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: beavercreek Ohio
Posts: 962
OS: vista sp2



hello

theres a free download to see if your pc is ready for win7.. http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...uirements.aspx

good luck

__________________
Have A Great Day
.......Kenny........
kenny111111 is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 07:03 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit



You need a minimum of 2GB for Win 7, however 4GB would be even better. I'm running 2GB myself. But this is a new HP MS214. It would be best to follow Kenny's advice regarding this. Make sure that you have ALL accessories plugged in during the test. This is the only way to determine if your system is ready. The large majority of Win 7 users who are having problems are those who are upgrading an older system. In many cases (mine as well), it cost less to buy a new PC with Win 7 preinstalled. There are many new laptops in the $350-$475 range with lots of memory, large hard drive, and other accessories with Win 7 installed. The lowest cost Win 7 is Home Premium for $179 to $199. Pro and Ultimate are a lot higher. So look at all of your options before deciding what to do. It may save you a lot of headaches if you do. Good Luck, and whatever you do, enjoy Windows 7
__________________
catilley is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 11:38 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 66
OS: vista home premium


Thumbs Up

Tech support forum,
Kenny111111,
Catilley,

Thanks you very much for all the information you have provided in the matter.
I have clearer picture now for my requirements and things to be done.

DS Negi
__________________
DS Negi is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 01:42 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 140
OS: Win XP Home SP2



Microsoft says Windows 7 uses 512MB RAM for the O/S and recommends having an additional 512MB RAM for the user (general purpose). So, Microsoft says the minimum RAM requirement is 1GB. However, with RAM, more is better...

(Get these facts right off Microsoft.com)
__________________
systemErr is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 04:21 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i run 2g on a laptop with win 7
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 04:52 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Riskyone101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 4,410
OS: XP Pro SP3, MCE 2005 sp3, Vista Ultimate SP2, Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


I run 512MB on Windows 7 Ultimate just fine, but yes 1 gig of ram I would recommend for windows 7.
__________________
Riskyone101 is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 11:41 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 66
OS: vista home premium


Thumbs Up

Hi,

system Err,
dai,
Riskyone101,

Thanks for the information.

DS Negi

__________________
DS Negi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts