Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Message "CD-ROM Boot Priority ..No Medium" [Moved from Virus/Trojan Help]

This is a discussion on Message "CD-ROM Boot Priority ..No Medium" [Moved from Virus/Trojan Help] within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My computer was working fine yesterday and I had been working on a video when I needed to leave to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2010, 01:58 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
OtakuGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via AIM to OtakuGirl

My computer was working fine yesterday and I had been working on a video when I needed to leave to go shopping, so I shut it down as I normally do when I leave the house. When I came home later, I turned it on to see the message "CD-ROM Boot Priority ..No Medium. Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key". When I press a key, it repeats the same message, and I tried restarting it and it said the same thing. Someone I talked to said that it might be because the computer doesn't recognize the hard drive, and I'm wondering if it could be caused by some sort of virus due to something I downloaded, but I'm hoping that it's just a lose wire or something fixable. I had a lot of important documents on it and I was almost finished with that video, which I had spent countless hours on, and it would be terrible if I lost it all. If someone could help me fix this problem, I would be forever grateful.

__________________
OtakuGirl is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 11:53 AM   #2
Administrator
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
Ried's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 42,338
OS: WinXP Home, Vista, Windows 7 64bit



Hello OtakuGirl,

By any chance did you leave a disk in the CD ROM drive? If so, remove it.

__________________
Member of UNITE since 2006

Microsoft MVP - 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

"It is one life whether we spend it laughing or weeping." "Take the time to laugh--it is the music of the soul."
Ried is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 02:18 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
OtakuGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via AIM to OtakuGirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ried View Post
Hello OtakuGirl,

By any chance did you leave a disk in the CD ROM drive? If so, remove it.
No, there isn't a disk in the computer. Hm.
__________________
OtakuGirl is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 09:05 PM   #4
Administrator
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
Ried's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 42,338
OS: WinXP Home, Vista, Windows 7 64bit



I was going for the 'simple' reason for sometimes seeing that message. As I have no reason to suspect malware to be the cause of this, I'd be happy to move this thread to the proper support section, but you have not mentioned if this is Vista, Windows 7, or XP.
__________________
Member of UNITE since 2006

Microsoft MVP - 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

"It is one life whether we spend it laughing or weeping." "Take the time to laugh--it is the music of the soul."
Ried is offline  
Old 07-27-2010, 06:37 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
OtakuGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via AIM to OtakuGirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ried View Post
I was going for the 'simple' reason for sometimes seeing that message. As I have no reason to suspect malware to be the cause of this, I'd be happy to move this thread to the proper support section, but you have not mentioned if this is Vista, Windows 7, or XP.
Oh, sorry, I have Vista. It does say that under my name, but I guess that's hard to notice.
__________________
OtakuGirl is offline  
Old 07-27-2010, 06:45 AM   #6
Administrator
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
Ried's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 42,338
OS: WinXP Home, Vista, Windows 7 64bit



I've found what it says under a user's name, isn't always the case.

Moving this thread to Vista Support for you, momentarily.
__________________
Member of UNITE since 2006

Microsoft MVP - 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

"It is one life whether we spend it laughing or weeping." "Take the time to laugh--it is the music of the soul."
Ried is offline  
Old 07-27-2010, 07:31 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


This is before Windows starts, correct. If so one thing to try is go to your BIOS (the splash screen when you turn your computer will tell you how to get there. It will say something like: "BIOS/ BIOS setup/ setup") then go to the "boot" tab and place the HDD as the first boot device.
__________________
i MaRk i is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 01:17 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
OtakuGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via AIM to OtakuGirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by i MaRk i View Post
This is before Windows starts, correct. If so one thing to try is go to your BIOS (the splash screen when you turn your computer will tell you how to get there. It will say something like: "BIOS/ BIOS setup/ setup") then go to the "boot" tab and place the HDD as the first boot device.
Yeah, it is. And I have tried going to the BIOS setup, but the hard drive is already listed as the first boot device.
__________________
OtakuGirl is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 04:08 PM   #9
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,495
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Hi -

Boot the system using your Vista DVD or using the HDD recovery partition. Once in recovery, select "Windows System Restore" - select a restore point prior to the incident.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.

jcgriff2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts