Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Media Disconnected win 7 HELP!!!

This is a discussion on Media Disconnected win 7 HELP!!! within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. It says this: Windows IP Configureation No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection 2 while it has its


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2011, 02:47 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



It says this:

Windows IP Configureation

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection 2 while it has its media disconnected.
No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media disconnected.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State. . . . . . . :Media Disconnected
Connection-Specific DNS Suffix:

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS suffix:
Link-local IPv6 Address. . . . . : fe80::8cfc:cad7:68f8:137e%12
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.1.6
Subnet Mask. . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway. . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.1.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State. . . . . . . . . . . . . : Media Disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix.:

Tunnel adapter isatap. {4FFF1AE2-67E0-4D79-AEC7-9E88FF8CA27C0}:

Media State. . . . . . . . . . . . . : Media Disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix:


(Id type out the rest but you get the point. My Media is disconnected and my wireless is connected to my router and says its online but it wont pull up any web pages. I need lots of help please!! BTW it was working fine yesterday!)

__________________
joelskeke is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:56 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,677
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


If your not using your Ethernet cable to your router, then it will read that the Media (Ethernet cable) is disconnected, this shouldn't affect your wireless connection.
Go to Control Panel/Internet Options/Connections/LAN Settings. Make sure all of the boxes are unchecked. Now go to Control Panel/Network Connections Right click the Local Area Connection and make sure it is Enabled. Now choose Properties Scroll down to Internet Protocol IPv4 and IPv6/Properties. make sure Obtain an IP Address and DNS server address Automatically are both checked. Now go back to the command prompt and type ipconfig /release and hit enter. The ip address should now read 0.0.0.0 now type ipconfig /flushdns and hit enter. now type ipconfig /renew. You may get the message that Local Area Connection is disabled. Now search for wireless networks and choose your router, and connect.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] MEDIA DISCONNECTED: Windows 7, desktop, wireless
Hi there, I'm new here. :) I've got the same 'media disconnected' problem as a whole host of others on this forum, however after following pretty much all the given solutions (plus some others elsewhere on the 'net), I'm still having trouble. Please see below for details. ...
Infaile Networking Support 6 05-09-2011 02:16 PM
can connect dir 615 with adsl modem
hi guys, recently i got a dlink dir 615 router from a friend. i'm using adsl modem now. i want to connect the modem to the router so that i have a wireless at home for my laptop and iphone. i have follow the step in the router manual but it did not work. i just cannot conect to the router page...
agni115 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 15 02-08-2011 10:36 AM
[SOLVED] Internet (Browsing) only works in safe mode
Hi all, Yesterday I picked up a laptop of a friend of mine which had some problems with the Internet connectivity. Turns out, Internet only works when booted in Safe Mode, however, it does ping in Normal Mode so there is connectivity. Tried IE and Firefox, both do not work in Normal Mode and do...
swriezebos Networking Support 2 01-25-2011 07:49 AM
[SOLVED] Can't connect to internet at home
I have a Dell Inspiron 14 with a Dell wireless1397 WLAN mini-card. I can't connect to the wireless internet at home but my roomates are all able to. Additionally, I went to campus as well as a local McDonalds and was able to connect at those places just fine. Our network is showing up and my...
sloshedstud Networking Support 30 01-12-2011 02:48 PM
A quick question...
First. I am running three routers at home, one as the gateway/router one as an access point and the third as a bridge/repeater. The Gateway/router and the bridge have matching SSIDs and security settings. The WAP has a different SSID and security settings. I want to be able to seamelessly switch...
GZ Networking Support 12 01-11-2011 04:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts