Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Media center won't record!

This is a discussion on Media center won't record! within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ive got media center working fine except that when I try and record anything, it just doesnt start, when I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-31-2007, 03:00 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



Ive got media center working fine except that when I try and record anything, it just doesnt start, when I look in the history in recorded tv it says a tuner failure occured. My TV card is K-world DVB-T Hybrid TV, Ive downloaded the latest drivers and its a new PC.

Any help is much appreciated

Cheers

__________________
osutton is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 06:43 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



If its Media Center in Vista, try delete C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\Recording\Recordings.xml file.

If its MCE 2005 you have plenty of troubleshooting resources available to you on the net.
Visit http://thegreenbutton.com and do a search on site.

__________________
Elexorien is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 11:17 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



I do have Vista media center, and I couldnt locate the file you suggested, infact I couldnt find program data on c:/ only program files, the media center files seem to be under C:/Windows/ehome
__________________
osutton is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 06:43 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by osutton View Post
I do have Vista media center, and I couldnt locate the file you suggested, infact I couldnt find program data on c:/ only program files, the media center files seem to be under C:/Windows/ehome
No that is only program files.

eHome directories are found elsewhere allso, just do a search.

__________________
Elexorien is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 08:04 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



Hi thanks, I found the files, dont understand why programdata doesnt appear in my C: directory though.
Anyway deleted the file and still no joy. Any more ideas? Also it seems that media center won't play anything from the recorded tv file, i.e. the sample vids.
__________________
osutton is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 08:51 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



Ow download: http://www.cccp-project.net/download.php?type=cccp

Its a codec pack that has all the essentials you need for media center (I use this).
Aditionally you need Haali codec for HD content MKV files to play at their optimal speed and quality: http://haali.cs.msu.ru/mkv/MatroskaSplitter.exe

Hope it helps your problem.
__________________
Elexorien is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:21 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



Still no luck! I had a codec pack installed already with Haali splitter and ffdshow etc so i think im alright for codecs. I can play any videos through the video library, just wont play from the recorded tv or start recording, says the error was there was no tuner available.
__________________
osutton is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:20 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



Right had some slight progress, found a hotfix through trying to get new drivers for my tv card KB933262, which solved playing media from the recorded tv folder problem, however live tv still won't record.
__________________
osutton is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:01 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



Im pretty sure its not a problem with my tv card because I can record with the brand software HyperMediaCenter
__________________
osutton is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:07 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



Unfortunatelly, this is only help I found regarding your issue.
http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Win...5626e1033.mspx

Hope it helps.
__________________
Elexorien is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:14 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



Yeah ive already been through that, its the general idiot problem solver, doesnt actually help with any real problems, spose I'll have to wait until Vista gets a bit more support development. Thanks for the help though
__________________
osutton is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:37 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



Well the problem is Vista media center is very and throughly insistant on standards.
Concerning drivers and when TV is involved in media center. It exclusively wants/needs TV tuners that have hardware MPEG2 encoders onboard. Some manufacturers have made special WORKAROUND drivers to combat this limit. Some implemented it better than others I might add.
There are still conflicts in many occasions when this is the case. If you have a TV tuner of the OLD age, or atleast a cheaper one (sub $150) chances are you have a pile of junk without a hardware encoder on it and quite possibly a dodgy driver support claiming Vista COMPATIBILITY at best.
I too have a TV tuner without hardware encoder (Pinnacle) but it says its a Vista version. Works like a charm, but I had problems allso.

Regarding recording issue I really have no experience on the matter as I havent had such problems myself.

__________________
Elexorien is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you check my log
can you please check my log i think i have gotten rid of the constant pop ups and i followed the steps but i think i may need a check to make sure i did some things right here is the hijack this log. Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2 Scan saved at 12:23:34 AM, on 7/8/2007 Platform:...
sbui91 Inactive Malware Help Topics 9 07-11-2007 08:43 PM
Pop ups, horev43855.dll and more
Recently used your help to clean up my computer, but still having problems. Here are my logs: Deckard's System Scanner v20070611.50 Run by Randy Maddox on 2007-06-20 at 10:56:47 Computer is in Normal Mode. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --...
maddog2018 Resolved HJT Threads 18 06-21-2007 01:36 PM
Windows media sounds crackly
Hey guys I'm having some issues with all my my wma/wmv music files, as well as msn messenger sounds. When I play any sound of this format in most of my media player programs, they make a god-awful crackling noise. Regular mp3's, waves, and any other format will play flawlessly however. I have...
TheWaste Sound Cards 8 04-06-2007 06:22 PM
HJT checkup
Hello, I have been getting connections problems on my PC game, not sure if its the game or my computer (getting wierd since Bitdefender was installed) so heres the log: Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 11:45:11 PM, on 2/14/2007 Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE:...
Sledesma1 Resolved HJT Threads 9 02-21-2007 01:02 PM
New computer, seems to be running something in background
Have a new computer and it seems to be running something in background Would apprceciate your taking a look at the logs and letting me know if something is amiss. Thanks Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 7:50:51 PM, on 2/19/2007 Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE:...
Zanmax Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 02-19-2007 06:10 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts