Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Madden 2008 mouse wont work with windows 7

This is a discussion on Madden 2008 mouse wont work with windows 7 within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have just about that latest computer hardware out, I just updated to windows 7. Now when I try


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2009, 08:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Hello,

I have just about that latest computer hardware out, I just updated to windows 7.

Now when I try and play madden 2008 the mouse is not seen but I can tell when I courser over something. I have googled and googled for solutions to this problem but to no prevail.

What I have tried:
latest mouse drivers- still doesn't work
2 different mice and the correct drivers for them - still doesn't work
Windows 7 settings for the mouse - still doesn't work

Does anyone have a solution to this problem

Thanks,
Brian

__________________
bingles is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 04:18 AM   #2
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 30,688
OS: Windows 10, 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Run the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor --> http://www.microsoft.com/Windows/win...e-advisor.aspx

What does Device Manager show - any red/ yellow flags?
START | devmgmt.msc

What is the name, date & version of the drivers?

jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 11:40 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Thanks for responding! Its been crazy and I am not always able to get on the computer.
I did as you said:

I am using a Microsoft Optical Blue Mouse
and
Running Microsoft USB Optical mouse (intellipoint) Drivers

Date is 5/8/09
Ver 7.0.0258.0

I have tried everything I can think of to fix this issue, several differnt mice and there drivers for them. If I press the cntrl key really fast I can see a big round circle which helps place my mouse (inside the game) on appropriate selections.
Just so you know this is a fresh windows 7 64bit Professional install on a Intel 3.33Ghz I7 extreme Processor, with X58 mother board (Intel Chipset), and 6 Gig of coursair memory. Oh and a ATI 4890 video card (500MB).
Everything is brand new and all of it worked great on windows xp service pack 3. I try to run compatibility mode and no luck with that. I tried to run WIndows XP mode but the graphics card doesn't work in that mode. I only bought windows 7 because it said Madden 08 was compatible.

Please help
Brian
__________________
bingles is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 02:39 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Does anybody know of a forum that can help me figure out whats the issue here.

Thanks
Brian
__________________
bingles is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 03:14 PM   #5
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Generally when using a MS mouse there are no drivers needed.

I would suggest uninstalling them and reboot.
Windows will give the correct drivers for the mouse.
Then see if it works.
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 09:20 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by pat mcgroin View Post
Generally when using a MS mouse there are no drivers needed.

I would suggest uninstalling them and reboot.
Windows will give the correct drivers for the mouse.
Then see if it works.
I will give that a try, I orginally let windows install its own drivers for the mouse. But then was told to get the latest drivers so thats why I installed newer ones. I also have tried several mice I think 3 or 4 different one's know... I also reinstalled windows 7 (repair type install) just to see if something got messed up. But still same thing.
I wish someone had a answer. Microsoft is reporting Madden 08 as compatible yet several people are having simular issues, but a few say they have no problems.

Hope someone has a solution, I will try as you suggested.
Brian
__________________
bingles is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 09:05 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



I removed the driver and allowed it to install its own driver yet still can not see the mouse unless I hit the cntrl button really fast.

Somebody out there has to be a windows 7 expert..

How do I get in touch with Microsoft to discuss this issue?

Brian
__________________
bingles is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 08:33 AM   #8
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


It may be Madden 08 that is having the issue.
Try to find the Madden08.exe file and right click it.
Then click properties|compatibility and try to run it in compatibility mode select Vista.
I think that it should work with that since it is 08.
If not give it a try with the XP setting.

As per this site that I just looked at it would seem that it may need to have the DX9c runtime components installed for W7.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1358616

Apparently these runtime files are not included with W7 and are needed.

You can get them from here.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...1-442d8712d553
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 09:02 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Thanks for your help, I tried all that stuff and it didn't work... However I started thinking and did find what the problem is... Well my little Brother doesnt have good sight so I made everything 150% size. For some reason if you put it back to Normal the mouse works in MADDEN 08... But if you use Large FOnts in windows 7 64 bits it willl make the mouse not able to be seen. Also if you use large font in windows 7 google earth says that your screen resolution is below 1024x 768 which was not true I had it set to 1900xI fogot but it was max high. With top of the line flat screen and video card.

Anyways there seems to be a windows 7 bug with font size and madden 08.. If you have it set on high mouse will not work, anything lower then 150% works fine..

Thanks
Brian
__________________
bingles is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 09:10 PM   #10
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Good detective work.

Did you happen to try it in compatibility mode and see if that made a difference?
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 01-09-2010, 11:07 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by pat mcgroin View Post
Good detective work.

Did you happen to try it in compatibility mode and see if that made a difference?
Yes I tried COmpatibility mode, I found the .Exe file ran it in XP service pack 3 mode and Vista Service pack 2 mode, both did same thing. I can now easily reproduce the issue by increasing the font to 150% or make the Madden 08 windows 7 64bit invisible mouse pointer work again just by going back to normal font mode or the next one up, but highest one does not work. I also tried a bunch of different resolution settings to see if I could make it work that way, no success. Must be some windows 7 error, Does anyone know how to report a error like this to microsoft?

oh I even installed windows XP mode only to find out video card drivers dont work....***!! LOL I am just glad this issue is done and over with.

Brian
__________________
bingles is offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 07:49 AM   #12
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


That is odd.
I dont know if changing the pointer opitions in the control panel would
make any difference or not.

Usually if Windows detect an error it will offer to send a report.
Since Widows isnt seeing this as a problem that wont be an option.
Look in the start|help and support section and see if there is a way to contact them
or you could try the support number.

__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts