Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Invalid or damaged bootable partition

This is a discussion on Invalid or damaged bootable partition within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have just completed the makeup of a newsletter - a month's solid work Logged off to take a break


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2012, 12:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



I have just completed the makeup of a newsletter - a month's solid work Logged off to take a break - try to logon again and got the above message ' 'invalid or damaged bootable partition' - I feel sick. I hadn't backed it up yet!
I guess it's pretty serious Windows 7 Dell Studio 10 monts old.

__________________
Anonymousse is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 12:47 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,315
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


What is the model number of your machine?

__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 01:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



The only info I have is the following: Dell Studio 17 1745 Dual Core 3GB ATI 17" WRT willl this do?
__________________
Anonymousse is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 01:17 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 51,454
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Do you have a install or recovery disc from which you can try to repair it Windows Recovery Environment: When Computer Won't Boot
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 01:43 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,276
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


You can backup your files by using an Ubuntu Live CD. to a USB Flash Drive. Once you're safely backed up, press F12 at bootup and run the Dell Diagnostics.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 03-19-2012, 02:33 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



The Dell came in a proper Dell box and packed as new but I don't remember seeing any disks. I remember wondering where they were, but then it went completely out of my mind. I have searched around including looking in the Dell box which I still have, but no luck. I am not too computer literate when it comes to the technical side of things, so if someone could steer in the right direction, tell me exactly where to go and what to do, I woud really be so grateful. Thanks. Nancy
__________________
Anonymousse is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 02:41 PM   #7
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 16,547
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

before doing anything, as previously suggested download the ubuntu live cd and boot to it. You will be able to see your drive and navigate so you can backup your important files. You do not want to lose them while trying to repair your boot.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is online now  
Old 03-19-2012, 02:47 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,276
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
You can backup your files by using an Ubuntu Live CD. to a USB Flash Drive. Once you're safely backed up, press F12 at bootup and run the Dell Diagnostics.
As Sobeit and I both suggested.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 03-19-2012, 03:01 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Thanks for your good advice - unbelievably I have run out of clean disks, so it will have to wait until tomorrow. I have also just come across the disks that came with the Dell - can I make use of these or am I better off waiting to download the file suggested? Thank you again, you are really great!
__________________
Anonymousse is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 05:23 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,276
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
I have just completed the makeup of a newsletter - a month's solid work
Since your newsletter and your files are very important to you, its best to backup your files first before attempting to repair your computer, as repairing may not allow you to recover your old data If you don't have any blank CD's, you can create a bootable Ubuntu Live USB Flash Drive as well. You still need another drive to back the files up to (ex) USB HDD/Flash Drive.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 03-20-2012, 03:31 AM   #11
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 16,547
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

if you have access to any windows 7 disk (version does not matter), you can try doing a startup repair. It may even be included on your dell disks. Someone who knows about dell will have to help with that. However, as with any fix, there is always the possibility of losing your data. That is why it is recommended to back up your important data first.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is online now  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:21 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



My thanks to everyone for all the help given. I was going to tackle the problem today (after I purchased a blank disc).

However, I thought I would try to logon again this morning to see if anything would happen -- and it did!! Everything was back to normal - so I quickly backed up my current work.

So why did the corruption happen and how can I be sure it will not happen again? What can I do to prevent it recurring?

Again my thanks

Anonymousse (Nancy)
__________________
Anonymousse is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 11:07 AM   #13
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 51,454
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Recovery disc link for dell here Tech Support Forum - Announcements in Forum : Microsoft Support
it will cost you a small fee
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 02:07 PM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,276
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Computers are a dark science. There is always a mystery to some of it. Electronic parts fail all the time. Always keep a current backup of your most important files. As Joeten suggested get a Recovery Disk from Dell. Come back if you have future problems and we will assist you.
Please mark this thread Solved in the Thread Tools at the top.

spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with HDD or RAM.
Hi. A week ago my everyday PC got some problems, I was working with GIMP and some 3D apps for a few hours so I was looking for a short break and went for a snack, it took me 15 min or so, when I came back everything seemed normal until I tried to start firefox, nothing happened so I tried again...
Avalanch Windows XP Support 16 04-01-2012 05:59 AM
Win7 Ralink RT3090 detects network but cannot connect either lan or wireless
Hello, I hope you guys can help me out. I am not very computer savvy and have basically tried everything I could google. At this point I am starting to suspect it shorted out or something, if that's even possible.. Earlier today, my laptop (an HP Probook 4520s) crashed while I was browsing the...
imany Cabling and Network Cards 6 03-31-2012 09:40 PM
BSOD and random TDR problems after PC gaming or Editing
This is my first post and my first time trying to seek help about BSOD's so please bear with me. I've had a recent past (about a month to 6 weeks) of BSOD's that really frustrate me. On the 4th of Feb 2012 I'd purchased an Asus Radeon HD 6770 which gave me dxgkrnl.sys, memory_management BSOD's...
Kellster123 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 03-24-2012 12:34 PM
Memtest Errors: Not sure Power supply or Mobo settings
Hello, I have recently had a ram failure (2 gigs ocz CL5). So I replaced it with a new set of 8 gigs of ram (Patriot CL6) and upgraded to windows 7 x64. I installed the rams fine. Windows runs good and its detectable in the system bios and windows 7 recognizes all of them. So having new...
briax999 RAM and Power Supply Support 9 03-21-2012 05:27 AM
Upgrading RAM unsure if its gunna make a difference or worth the coin
Hey guys im playing Aion , here are my specs... Graphics Card :ASUS 1GB ATI RADEON HD6770 PSU : Corsair 550W 41A on +12V Proccessor: AMD Phenom 9650 Quad Core 2.3GHz x 4 (overclocked to 2.65ghz) OS: Windows Vista 32 bit RAM:Kingston 4 Gig ddr2 (PC2-6400) (SPEED-400MHZ) Motherboard :...
Reece12sky PC Gaming Support 9 03-20-2012 04:43 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts