Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

I want to completely reboot my computer but keep my network

This is a discussion on I want to completely reboot my computer but keep my network within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My computer has been running horribly recently so i want to reboot it. However i use it for school and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2009, 05:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista Business



My computer has been running horribly recently so i want to reboot it. However i use it for school and it has already been configured to the schools network. Is there somehow restore my computer and then reapply the network config without taking it to spend $150 at tech?

__________________
stewen12 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:26 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



When you say "Reboot" do you just mean Restart the computer, as that's what Reboot means, or do you mean Reinstall Windows? If you want to Reinstall Windows you are probably going to have your Schools IT dept to do it for you as they have certain files, and network protocols installed on your computer.

As for running horribly here is a few things you can do:
1.Go to Add Remove Programs and remove any programs you do not use.
2. Download CCleaner and delete temp files, run registry cleaner too.
3. Turn Off System Restore
4. Update Virus Definitions for your AV software and run full scan.
5.Download Malwarebytes and run full scan
6. Defrag computer.
7. go to Crucial.com and run the free scan. This will tell you how much RAM you have and your update options.

__________________
deleted010511 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:33 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista Business



Well i would like to reinstall windows. Before when i was using firefox, i would get random popups and when using google, i would click a link and it would sometimes take me to a random web page. Now firefox or internet explorer do not work at all. I open them but the program does not open but is shown as a process in task manager. Then i tried to do a system restore and as its rebooting it gets blue screen and when i load windows it says "System restore is incomplete" disk failure (or something along those lines) i really dont know what to do. All i need to do is connect to internet at school.
__________________
stewen12 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:38 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



Your hard drive may be failing (Disk Failure) Download and create a boot disc for your HDD manufacturer and run the diagnostic tools.
__________________
deleted010511 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:42 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista Business



sorry im kinda new at this. how do i do it?
__________________
stewen12 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:48 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



First find out what make of HDD you have (open the case) once you know, download the ISO file for your particular brand from the link I provided you in my last post. Burn the Image with your burning software or use Imgburn to burn the image to a blank CD. Start the computer with the Boot CD in the drive, it should say "Press Any Key to boot from CD" follow the prompts and run the diagnostic tests. You may have to make the CD drive the first boot device in the Bios.
__________________
deleted010511 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:11 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista Business



I looked at the HDD and it was toshiba so i went to the Hitachi link. Then from Hitachi i was not sure what to download but i download the feature tool CD Image then i burnt it to the disk and i put it in my computer. my computer isnt letting go on and its saying unauthorized changes have been made to windows (this is after i log on)

__________________
stewen12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts