Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

HP Laserjet 1012 & Windows 7

This is a discussion on HP Laserjet 1012 & Windows 7 within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I really need some help someone. I have been trying to solve this issue for almost a year and I'm


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2012, 07:29 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



I really need some help someone. I have been trying to solve this issue for almost a year and I'm no closer to a solution. I have an HP Laserjet 1012 printer that I can't live without, to put it bluntly. It's well known at this point that this printer is incompatible with Windows 7 as HP has clearly stated on their site but like every other tech guy that's an unacceptable answer. I have a HP desktop computer running Windows 7 Ultimate and this printer installed and works flawlessly on it. I then installed this printer on my Toshiba Satellite also running Windows 7 Ultimate and again the printer works perfect both as a local printer and through the desktop as a network printer. Shortly after that I tried to install the printer and drivers on my HP Elitebook running the same Windows 7 Ultimate and NO GO! one error after another stating compatibility issues. Then I tried to install it on my Dell Inspiron netbook also running Windows 7 and same errors occur. All of the research I have done confirms the compatibility issue but this does not explain why I currently have this printer fully operational on 2 windows 7 machines without issue and can't get it to install on the other 2. What am I missing? I have been working on this for over a year and now it's more a matter of principle then anything else. ANY SUGGESTIONS???

__________________
SRPERRAULT is offline  
Old 04-03-2012, 07:31 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
CriticalPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 907
OS: Windows 7 Ent x64

My System


HP use a multi driver PCL5 and PCL 6 if I'm not mistaken - Which are you using? I would look at the known good driver on one of your other machines that works and use the same driver. And test.

Do let us know, cheers.

/ CRIT

__________________
MEMTest ¦ Drive Fitness ¦ IMGBurn
Malware & Virus help ¦ Slow PC?

Looking for support with something else?
Microsoft ¦ Security ¦ Hardware ¦ Networking

Got an SSD?
Disable Defrag, SuperFetch and Prefetch!



*I do not always subscribe to threads*
If you're awaiting a reply after 24 hours, please PM me
CriticalPoint is offline  
Old 04-03-2012, 01:50 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Thank you for the reply but unfortunitly not only have I used the same driver pack I actually dragged it across the network straight out of the working machine and all the specs matched each other. Like I said it makes no sence how 2 windows machines run this printer and yet no others will. You can imagine how mind numbing this is. I enjoy problem solving but the problem has to at least make sence.
__________________
SRPERRAULT is offline  
Old 04-03-2012, 05:14 PM   #4
Networking Team |Tech
 
IT-Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Posts: 1,029
OS: XP, Win7



Having sniffed via google.
Quote:
Oh my my !!!
I just made it work also. I just got Windows 7 and my HP Laserjet 1012 (love this one ... it's my work horse) would not work.
This is how I made it work.
Install it at a "HP 1015" in Windows. You will see that it does not print.
After it has been installed .... go to your ---> Devices and Printers. Right Click on "HP LaserJet 1015" ---> Click on "Printer Properties ---> Choose the "Ports" Tab. From the list of Ports .... Choose "Dot4_001" with the Description: Generic IEEE 1284.4 printing support.
Then click on "Apply"
Then Choose the Tab "General" in the same window ... and Click on "Print Test Page".
__________________

MCP | MCDST | MCSA
IT-Barry is offline  
Old 04-03-2012, 05:20 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Well now thank you my friend. I will give that a try as this I have not done before. Being that you too own a HP 1012 you can understand the importance of getting this to work. Like you said "work horse". I replace the toner cartridge about once every year and a half. I would be quite sad if I had to give that up. I will try your advice and post my results. Again thank you!
__________________
SRPERRAULT is offline  
Old 04-04-2012, 06:51 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



My friend IT-Berry thank you very much! Thanks to your sound advice I now have 4 Windows 7 machines printing to my HP 1012. This was something I had almost given up on. Thank you again for your help.
__________________
SRPERRAULT is offline  
Old 04-04-2012, 07:07 AM   #7
Networking Team |Tech
 
IT-Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Posts: 1,029
OS: XP, Win7



No problem at all friend.

Glad its working for you.
__________________

MCP | MCDST | MCSA
IT-Barry is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 04:08 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
OS: XP



I have a LaserJet P1102 (assuming we are talking about the same printer). I tried your suggestion but LaserJet 1105 does not show up as one of the options in Windows 7. How did you install the drivers?

__________________
moshiachnow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Wireless Windows Domain access
I need a bit of help. I have setup a domain in the office and it works fine when using a wired connection, the problem I have occurs when trying to access the domain using a wireless connection. The client machine is Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 and the Server is running Windows Server 2008 RC2. ...
smuglar Networking Support 15 04-13-2012 12:30 AM
[SOLVED] Windows Installer Clean Up
Hi, I am trying to remove an old version of itunes and came across older posts which seemed to be helpful. The main thing seemed to be to run the above mentioned software. I have looked at it but am reluctant to run it as it warns about permanent changes to my system and that I may have to...
Erna C Windows XP Support 7 04-05-2012 10:29 AM
Anti Virus Software for Windows XP Compaq
Hi everyone, this is for Jack Bauer. Hi Jack you helped me before and it was great advice. This time I would like to know what is the best totally free antivirus software that uses the least MB or Ram? I am trying to free up Memory, I now have Panda Cloud and it just uses so much Memory so would...
JoJo62 Windows XP Support 3 04-03-2012 09:16 PM
Windows Vista will not connect to internet
So my Dad got a new Windows 7 computer, and gave me his old windows vista. When we got his computer all hooked up, and hooked up the windows Vista next to it. My mom wanted to use it to check her email. she didnt download anything, but after she turned it off, and i turned it back on, the computer...
jdnj1156 Networking Support 3 04-02-2012 05:38 PM
Booting problems in Vista and Windows 7
I am using a multi-boot manager ( Acronis OSS ) to boot into Windows Vista. When I choose the boot option which makes my Windows 7 partition the Active partition, the boot lands me in Windows Vista. When I try BCDEdit from Windows Vista the default BCD store is pointing to my Windows 7...
eldiener Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 04-02-2012 04:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts