Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

how to check computer cache memory in windows 7

This is a discussion on how to check computer cache memory in windows 7 within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, In my windows 7, I tried to find cache memory in system information but I could not find there.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2011, 12:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 468
OS: xp/vista/windows 7



Hi,

In my windows 7, I tried to find cache memory in system information but I could not find there. I wonder then how to find it.

__________________
comonforall is offline  
Old 12-02-2011, 01:16 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,111
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Are you speaking of Internet Cache? You can delete your temporary internet files (cache) in IE by going to Tools/Internet Options/Browsing History/Delete. Other then that RAM cache is refreshed after each reboot of the computer.

spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-02-2011, 02:03 PM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,819
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, I assume you refer to large cache available in XP under sysdm.cpl, not so in Vista Seven. It was removed since memory management is different in Vista and Seven and available for Server use only.. so what are you trying to achieve there is Programs and Background services, the latter being a popular mod for gamers.

It also exists in the registry as "Large System Cache" value data 0 by default.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 12-02-2011, 04:24 PM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 9,856
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Quote:
Originally Posted by comonforall View Post
Hi,

In my windows 7, I tried to find cache memory in system information but I could not find there. I wonder then how to find it.
If you're referring to Virtual Memory: Control Panel>System & Maintenance>Performance Information and Tools>Advanced Tools (left side)>Adjust the Performance and Appearance of Windows>Performance Options>Advanced>Change. You've arrived at the VM dialog box. Good luck!
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redirect Virus
Hi, Since about a month I've noticed that whenever I run google search after clicking at link in results page I'm being redirected to some random pages. I've ignored it at first as I thought It's harmless, however after making some research I notice it's a serious problem and after failing...
Asator616 Resolved HJT Threads 17 11-17-2011 04:21 PM
Browser/s Problem.
Hi, My browsers are acting a little strange. For some reason I can't download IE, Firefox or Chrome when using the same. Visiting the browsers download website crashes them.. The only browser that I don't seem to have any problems with is Safari. I've tried to follow the before posting guide...
radio1979 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 19 11-05-2011 02:11 PM
new issues with an old XP machine. Is it a virus McAfee can't find and clean?
For the past 2 months something is not right with our home computer, and I don’t know what. I run McAfee, but the scan does not seem to run, takes days to finish and sometimes only says 1200 files scanned with no virus detected. When I run task manager says CPU usage is 100%. IE hangs up or...
tony_g Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 20 05-26-2011 08:01 AM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 06:01 AM
virus ends all programs, help please
Hello there, the other day whilst not really paying attention I allowed a fishy program to bypass my firewall, and it basically just shuts down any prgrm I open, and opens some fake virus software stuff. Anyways help please, I don't want to buy a new computer yet :grin:
redphase Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-25-2011 11:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts