Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Host process for windows services stopped working and was closed

This is a discussion on Host process for windows services stopped working and was closed within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I use Windows Vista Home Premium and the "Host Process..." window has been appearing for weeks (months?) now. Every now


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-18-2011, 06:09 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
OS: vista



I use Windows Vista Home Premium and the "Host Process..." window has been appearing for weeks (months?) now. Every now and then I've googled the problem, tried Microsoft's guide, and various other forum threads but I either get stuck on an instruction or stop out of fear I'm going to make the problem worse.

The problems I've been having are:
1. The pop-up window itself is an annoyance and obviously there is something wrong with Windows.
2. The task bar turns white and is almost impossible to read.
3. Alt-tab stops working (sometimes, tho a reboot usually fixes this)
4. The Aero effect stops working, the title bar at the top of the window crashes and becomes unreadable.

I have seen a fix here: Solved: How to fix : Host process for windows services stopped working and was closed - Tech Support Guy Forums BUT I can't install any of the ATI software under control panel / add remove software, there just is no uninstall option - and there are plenty of ATI / CCC entries in the list, just not the ATI - Software Uninstall Utility.

I've also considered biting the bullet and upgrading to Windows 7 (not to mention Ubuntu after googling for cheaper W7 prices!!!)

Anyway I'm fed up of putting up with a really glitchy windows interface, so I'd be really grateful if anyone can help me to get to the bottom of this.

Many thanks

__________________
dangermole is offline  
Old 07-18-2011, 06:41 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
TheGift73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lewes UK
Posts: 1,539
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and x86 SP1 & Windows XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to TheGift73

Hi dangermole,

Can you run a sfc /scannow via an elevated level.

Start>All Programs>Accessories>and Right Click on Command Prompt and select 'Run as Administrator'. Click 'Yes' when prompted.
The Command Prompt window will now open up. Now type sfc /scannow and hit Enter. Let the System File checker run. This will look for any damaged system files and attempt to fix them.

Note: If you have any themes running on your system, then this process will remove them.

__________________
TheGift73 is offline  
Old 07-18-2011, 08:09 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
OS: vista



I've run sfc /scannow as administrator and the outcome was "Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations." Hmmmm
__________________
dangermole is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts