Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Google doesn't work on my laptop.

This is a discussion on Google doesn't work on my laptop. within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. On my laptop (inspiron 1521) Google does not work I do not know why but i went to the CMD


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2011, 10:38 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Window7



On my laptop (inspiron 1521) Google does not work I do not know why but i went to the CMD on my laptop typed in Ping www.google.com and here is what i got:

Pinging www.google.com [64.34.212.70] with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 64.34.212.70:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 <100% loss>

__________________
Ruben13 is offline  
Old 08-28-2011, 12:49 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 44
OS: Windows 7 SP1



If you Google the IP, 64.34.212.70, you'll see tonnes of results where people have had viruses.

There is a file called "HOSTS" on your computer, and a virus has posted that IP there.

You need to Notepad, right-click and choose "Run as Administrator". Go to File > open and enter "C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts".

It should look like the below. If there are any UNHASHED entries then remove the whole line. Then close notepad, and be sure to save. Restart your PC and Google should work.

I would run Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware when you have finished and ensure you have an updated anti-virus program to ensure that there are no nasties on your computer!

Code:
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#	127.0.0.1       localhost
#	::1             localhost
__________________
harryboyne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hp dv4270ca i refomarted laptop and installed xp and number pad does not work instead
I get !"#$% when using number keys on the laptop and noticed that !"#$% are the upper case symbols on the number keys. This causes me a problem i can not type the windows xp key password as some it is in numbers. Ive number lock but i dont get nothing then. I cant do anything else as this is at...
Gabaru Laptop Support 1 08-09-2011 06:33 PM
Trying to recover files from laptop Drive, (USB didnt work)
Been having a nightmarish time trying to get my data from my old laptop hard drive. Its a 120mb western digital from a gateway laptop. Laptop was working fine other than an awful DC/Battery/Connectivity issue as it stands i have a completely dead battery, and after taking it in to get the dc jack...
Jeffrey_ Hard Drive Support 1 04-26-2011 02:29 AM
CD-ROM/DVD Disk drive will not work on my Packard Bell Easynote Laptop MX-37-S-200‏
:4-dontkno I'm having a problem with my CD-ROM/DVD Disk drive on my Packard Bell, Easynote Laptop MX-37-S-200, My laptop cannot recognise it at all as it is not displaying as a drive or is it present in device manager, when I insert a disc it tries to load but my media player will not respond...
PleaseHelpp Laptop Support 5 02-22-2011 02:03 AM
My Java won't work on my laptop.
When ever I try to install Java on my laptop, I get an error message. The same thing happens when I try to uninstall an old version of it. I have a Java on my laptop, but it DOES NOT work. Its like it doesn't exist. This happens when I try to install Java from the site....
geckotooth Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 5 01-20-2011 12:52 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts